Zoology
The Owen library contains many resources for students and faculty interested in zoology. If you have any questions not answered on the WSU Libraries website, or would like to request a book or journal on any subject related to zoology, please contact Betty Galbraith. For questions concerning academic programs at Washington State University, please see the School of Biological Sciences
Library Catalog
The GRIFFIN library catalog contains the holdings for all of the WSU Libraries across the state, including: books, e-books, e-journals and print journals, government documents, movies, and more.WSU Libraries are a members of Summit. Summit is a catalog of books, journals, and other items owned by 38 libraries in Oregon and Washington. Students and faculty at WSU can search for and borrow books for no charge.
Indexes, Abstracts, and Other Databases.
- AGRICOLA (17th century-present): Covers publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including: animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture, economics, education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. AGRICOLA is produced by the National Agricultural Library. This database includes selected materials dating back to the 17th century but complete coverage starts in 1970.
- BIOSIS Previews (1969-present): Covers literature in all areas of biology and related disciplines. To review biological literature published before 1969 consult Biological Abstracts located on the first floor of Owen Library from 1927 to 1995.
- BioOne (2000-present): A collection of high impact journals produced by scholarly societies.
- Dissertations & Theses (coverage varies): Database of more than two million dissertations and selected theses. More recent dissertations and theses (published from the 1980s to the present) include abstracts. A select few titles include free, twenty-four page previews. Complete dissertations and theses are not available, and must be purchased.To order documents, please see Dissertations Express Guide
- Fish & Fisheries WorldWide (1971-present): Citations to the world literature dealing with all aspects of ichtyology and fisheries.
- Web of Science (1980-present): The web version of the Science Citation Index, Web of Science covers journals in Science, Engineering, Agriculture and Medicine. Web of Sciences allows users to see how often an article was cited and view those citations, view the citations the author used, and search by citation. To review scientific literature published before 1980 consult the Science Citation Index located on the first floor of the Owen Library.
- Water Resources Abstracts (1967-2002): Available in the Owen Library only.
- Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide: Citations to the world research literature dealing with wild mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians. 1935 to the present.
- Zoological Record (1978-present): An index to the world's zoological and animal science literature. It covers all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine.
ELECTRONIC JOURNALS: The WSU Libraries list their electronic journal holdings in the library catalog (known as Griffin). References to an electronic journal in the catalog should have hypertext links either to the electronic journal itself or to the database that contains the electronic journal. If you cannot find a journal that you have reason to believe should be available at WSU, or you would like to have electronic access to a journal, please contact Joel Cummings
Connecting to electronic and paper journals via the FindIt icon---
This software dynamically links indexes, like Web of Science or
Agricola, to full-text electronic documents, the library catalog, or
interlibrary loan services. If you see a button like the one to the
right, you should be able to click on it and find the WSU libraries'
holdings for the item -- in print or electronic form.In addition, the
Libraries have created a guide to selecting journals for submitting your manuscripts.
Internet Links
- American Fisheries Society
- American Society of Limnology and Oceanography
- Early Classics in Biogeography, Distribution, and Diversity Studies: To 1950 A bibliography and full-text archive of classic resources, and primary sources of value for the study of geographical distribution and diversity of plants and animals, that were published in 1950 or before.
- National Audubon Society
- Redlist Provides taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on taxa that have been evaluated as in risk of extinction.
- Scholarly Societies Project Zoology
- Wildlife Conservation Society
Science Librarian and Instruction Coordinator |
Contact Info Office: Owen Library 119 Phone: (509) 335-7930 Fax: (509) 335-2534 Mailing Address: Owen Library 119 Washington State University Pullman WA 99164-3200. Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
