Free Databases and Web Sites for VeterinariansLinks to Free E-JournalsLinks to Free Digital Books and NewspapersFee-based Journal Article OrderingFor WSU Preceptors and Adjunct Faculty
Getting journal articlesGetting booksRemote accessCopying, printing, scanning, computer access and morePlaces to studyFor WSU Preceptors and Adjunct FacultyAVMA-Recognized Specialty Board Reading Lists
General Veterinary LinksLinks to Free Digital Books and NewspapersLinks to Free E-JournalsVeterinary Associations and Animal-Specific SitesVeterinary Laws and RegulationsFree Digital Collections
Senior PapersVetMed Course Textbooks and ReservesClasses and HandoutsRequest a Class or PresentationRequest journal indexing in a database
Choosing a Database(s)CAB Abstracts via VetMed ResourcePubMedWeb of ScienceWildlife and Ecology Studies WorldwideIVIS (International Veterinary Information Service)Veterinary Information Network (VIN)Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsWildpro: the electronic encyclopedia and library for wildlife professionalsGoogle ScholarAnimal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC)Vetmed ResourceJournal Citation ReportsSciFinder Scholar
This is the "Home" page of the "Veterinary Medicine/Veterinary Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Veterinary Medicine/Veterinary Science   Tags: veterinary_medicine, veterinary_science  

Last Updated: May 19, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/veterinarymedicine Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

News from the AHL

NEW: AVMA-Recognized Specialty Board Reading List LibGuide: Studying for Boards and looking for a  quick way to locate recommended reading list items  (e-books, e-journals, print books) in WSU Libraries?Try this link: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/specialtyboards It’s still a work in progress but many  board lists are ready. .Questions or comments, contact Vicki Croft


E-books!

The Animal Health Library  has a growing collection of e-books. To  find  what we have, go to the Griffin Catalog change the pull-down tab on the search screen to E-Books, and type in a  title or subject keywords. Follow the title hot-links for online access. Note: in some cases, access is limited to one simultaneous user. Others may ask you to sign in. These are availavle on a  trial basis.

If you have  questions, contact Vicki Croft


 
 
 

New Books - May 2, 2013

Cover Art
Influenza and Other Emerging Zoonotic Diseases at the Human-Animal Interface - Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Staff (Contribution by); International Office of Epizootics Staff (Contribution by); World Health Organization Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: RA639 .F365 2010
ISBN: 9789251067376
Publication Date: 2011-10-01

Cover Art
Modeling Infectious Diseases - Matt J. Keeling; Pejman Rohani
Call Number: RA643 .K395 2008
ISBN: 9780691116174
Publication Date: 2007-10-08

Cover Art
Primer of Biostatistics - Stanton Glantz
Call Number: RA409 .G55 2012
ISBN: 9780071781503
Publication Date: 2011-11-18
Reserve

Annual review of animal biosciences - Palo Alto, CA: Annual Reviews
Call Number: SF105 .A656
Publication Date: 2013-
Issn: 2165-8110, e-Journal

 

Library News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Animal Health Library

Veterinary Medicine / Veterinary Science

The Animal Health Library contains many resources for students and faculty interested in veterinary medicine and veterinary science. If you have any questions not answered on the WSU Libraries website,on any subject related to veterinary medicine or veterinary science, please contact Vicki Croft. For questions about the Veterinary Medicine program, please contact the College of Veterinary Medicine.

The  Animal Health Library

Effective 1/1/2009, the Health Sciences Library was renamed the Animal Health Library (AHL). During the next 18 months, pharmacy books and journals were relocated in the Owen Science and Engineering Library, and the lower floor of AHL was vacated. As of June 1st, 2010, the AHL became a one-floor library, with a core collection of current books and a select journal collection.

A new group study room for veterinary students was created, the computer area reconfigured and equipment replaced, walls were repaired and repainted, shelves were removed and new open spaces created. A Donate-a-Chair funding campaign provided funding for new student-friendly group tables, comfortable seating throughtout the library. In August 2010 the reserve and reference collections were relocated, with the reserve collection

Library Catalogs

WSU has 2 library catalogs: Griffin and WSU WorldCat  Use the tabs at the top of any WSU Libraries' page to search the catalogs.

Use Griffin to find and order books from any WSU Library. Griffin also contains information about all WSU journals and links to online journals accessible to WSU faculty, staff, and students. To limit your search to journals, select Journals, Magazines, Newspapers from the drop-down box before entering words from your journal title.

Use WSU WorldCat to find and order books from other libraries. There is no charge for this service for WSU users. Tips: To begin, select  SUMMIT LIBRARIES from the drop-down box and enter your keyword(s). Then mark BOOKS - next SORT by DATE: Newest First. If you can't find your book in SUMMIT, repeat your search with Libraries Worldwide. There is generally a shorter turn-around time in getting books via SUMMIT>

Journals - Online and Print

If you know what journal you need, use Griffin to find both online and print WSU journals. Use the Journals, Magazine, Newspapers drop-down box to restrict your search to just  journals. Click on the tltle of any journal listed as [electronic resource] to access the electronic content. 

If you need journal articles on a subject, see the Databases section.   

Databases

Use online databases to locate journals articles on a topic. Some databases also index books and book chapters. Use the Databases tab for a list of useful databases and links.

References in most databases will include FindIt!atWSU icons that will link to ejournal articles. Use Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery  to order articles that are not available electronically.To find out how, go to the Library Services tab and select Getting journal articles.

Remote access

Griffin, WSU WorldCat, and all online journals and databases are accessible 24/7 from WSU campus locations or remotely by using your WSU Network ID (ZZusis ID). Just do your search as you would on campus. When you try to access WSU-subscribed resources, you will be asked for your WSU NID. Enter it and you will be allowed access. You may also order articles and books remotely, too.

 

 

Schedule a Research Consultation

Need help in finding articles, searching databases, or using WSU Libraries' resources? Schedule a research consultation with your librarian Vicki Croft

 

Butch Reads, Too!

Social networking


View Complete Tag Cloud on Delicious

Head, Animal Health Library

Profile Image
Vicki Croft
Contact Info
Animal Health Library
170 Wegner Hall
509-335-5544; 509-595-5544 (cell)
Send Email
Library Liaison to:
Veterinary Medicine; Neurosciences

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sandra Weingart
Contact Info
(435) 797-0739

Mail to : 3000 Old Main Hill
Utah State University
Logan, UT 84322-3000

Office: Merrill-Cazier Library Room 115
Send Email
 

AHL Library Hours

Animal Health Library
Wegner Hall, Room 170
(509) 335-9556

Summer 2013 Semester Hours:

Saturday, May 4th – Friday, July 26th

Sat.                              12:00pm – 4:00pm

Mon. & Thurs.             7:30am – 6:00pm

Tues.,Wed., Fri.          7:30am – 5:00 pm

Sun.                             Closed

Closed May 25th – 27th & July 4th

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip