This is the "Home" page of the "Social Sciences Search It" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Sciences Search It  

Last Updated: Jul 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/socscisearchit Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search It @ the WSU Libraries

6/19/2014: IMPORTANT! At the end of June, the Find it @ WSU service (used to link to full text and more in library databases such as Academic Search Complete) will go away, to be replaced by the system used in the WSU Libraries catalog, Search It. See the Change from Find It tab on this guide for more information.

5/2014: See the"Find Stuff in Search It" tab for detailed information on using Search It. There is some *extremely* important information on using the drop-down scope options to expand your search results.

1/24/2014: shorter Search It link: http://searchit.libraries.wsu.edu

1/30/14: Every so often you may see a "Your session has been inactive for a long period of time and it has been reset" message  - ignore it, and refresh or click on your link again and it should show up properly.

Linking to a Search It Record:

  • email the item to yourself/someone else via the Send To dropdown menu - when you open the sent email, it will include a shorter durable link. If you save items to your eShelf you will be able to send multiple links at once.
  • right-click on whichever tab you want (Details, View It, Get It, etc.) and open it in a new tab, then copy and paste that new link (you can also use the 'bump out" link, shown at the far upper right on the image below (to the right of the Send To menu), to open your record in its own tab and capture the link.
  • At some point later this year, the Search It database will be de-duped (after all Summit libraries have been added in) so its possible you may be linking to a source that will be de-duped in the future - so don't just save a link, save the title/author as well! {(5/2014 update: Some de-duping has occured, but more may happen in the future.)

 

 

Send To Options (I'll post more on these later; Zotero users, don't worry - instructions will be up on the libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/zotero page soon!):

 

Catalog Accounts

If you have a WSU WorldCat account you will still be able to see your saved items if you log in to Open WorldCat (www.worldcat.org) but those saved lists and saved searches will not transfer to Search It. 

Temporary WSU WorldCat cheatcode: links to worldcat.org can be changed to WSU WorldCat by changing the URL from www.worldcat.org to washingtonstate.worldcat.org . (wsu worldcat is no longer as useful, however, and will be goiong away eventually. If you *must* use a Worldcat, try Summit (http://summit.worldcat.org ) . Summit will stay around for some time yet since that is how we are making Summit requests, but when all the Summit libraries have been integrated into Primo (the vendor name for Search It) Summit requests will happen within the Search Interface. 

More information:

Introduction and FAQ http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/search_it

Overview article:http://libraries.wsu.edu/content/search-it-coming-end-december

Most Recent article:http://news.wsu.edu/2013/11/18/libraries-on-target-for-december-search-it-launch/#.UovtDMSsh8E

Lorena O'English

Lorena O'English
 

The Migration to Search It...

Griffin and WSU WorldCat are both going away in mid-December, to be replaced by a new system we call Search It. You will notice when you access Search It that you will be prompted for your Net ID – there is a guest option, but it provides limited access.  Search It includes access to WSU Libraries resources, Summit, and WorldCat; like WSU WorldCat it includes articles (from specific databases) as well as books and other resources.  Search It integrates the old “Find it @WSU” options, so you will be able to easily access full text or make an interlibrary loan request for any item within your result list.  Like Griffin, you will be able to browse WSU Libraries-owned books by call number, author, title, or subject heading. It also provides options to as filter results by format, author, and more as well as providing the ability to save records and search/alert queries on your personal e-Shelf.

This is a big change for us, significant in many ways. Soon all Orbis-Cascade Consortium (Summit) libraries will share the same catalog. Data will be shared and managed in the cloud, which will increase efficiency and allow for new opportunities for collaborative projects that will provide a better experience for all our users. The start will probably be a little rocky (anyone who was at WSU for our transitions from and to CougaLog, Griffin, and WSU WorldCat will remember this from past migrations ;-) but you will shortly see some true benefits.

 

 

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip