Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed. (multi-volume)
Call Number: Hol Ref BL31 .E46 2005
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors. See eBook version above.
Religion Past & Present: Encyclopedia of Theology and Religion, 4th ed. (multi-volume)
Call Number: Hol Ref BL31 .R4213 2007
With over 3,000 authors from 88 countries, this multi-volume set offers an unparalleled breadth of subject matter in theological and biblical studies for all levels of users. Interdisciplinary articles cover a wide range of topics from history, archaeology, liturgy, law, bible, music, visual arts, politics, social sciences, natural sciences, ethics, and philosophy, with hundreds of new entries on Eastern religions and other religious subjects. Global scope is conveyed through 15,000 entries and 8 million words, including short definitions and cross-references.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America (multi-volume)
Call Number: Hol Ref BL2520 .E52 2010
Broad, interdisciplinary coverage examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America. This authoritative reference work explains the origins, development, adaptation, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced, including major world religions, new religious sects, cults, and religious movements that originated or had an influence in the United States.
The Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Christianity
Call Number: Hol Ref BX230 .E53 2011
Essay-length and short entries written by a team of leading religious experts, offering the most comprehensive guide to the cultural and intellectual world of Eastern Orthodox Christianity currently available in English. Explores the major traditions of Eastern Orthodoxy in detail, including the Armenian, Byzantine, Coptic, Ethiopic, Slavic, Romanian, and Syriac churches from Late Antiquity to the present, encompassing history, theology, liturgy, monasticism, sacramentology, canon law, philosophy, folk culture, architecture, archaeology, martyrology, hagiography, along with a substantial prosopography.
Coptic Civilization: Two Thousand Years of Christianity in Egypt
Call Number: Hol Ref DT72.C7 C67 2014
Chapters by twenty scholars on monasticism, the Coptic language, Coptic literature, Christian Arabic literature, the objects and documents of daily life, magic, art and architecture, and textiles, as well as the history of the Coptic Church, its liturgy, theology, and music.
The Encyclopaedia of Judaism (multi-volume)
Call Number: Hol Ref BM50 .E63 2005
Provides a full and reliable account of Judaism, beginning in ancient Israelite times and extending to our own day. About Judaism, the religion, its diverse history, literature, beliefs past and present, observances and practices, and place in the context of society and culture, this is what we know. All principal topics required for the systematic description of Judaism as a religion the world view, way of life, theory of the social entity constituted by the faithful are addressed here.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
Call Number: Hol Ref BM50 .O94 1997
Focuses on recent and changing rituals in the Jewish community that have come to the fore since the 1997 publication of the First Edition. Includes the work of nearly 200 internationally renowned scholars with updated bibliographies, biographies of 20th-century individuals who have shaped the recent thought and history of Judaism, and an index with alternate spellings of Hebrew terms. Covers more than three millennia of Jewish religious thought, custom, law, and practice, from traditional approaches to Reform, Conservative, Reconstructionist, and post-denominational Judaism.
Encyclopaedia Judaica (multi-volume)
Call Number: Hol Ref DS102.8 .E496 2007
Includes more than 21,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. Expanding the scope and relevance of this invaluable set are more than 2,600 brand-new entries, many focusing on gender issues and New World geographic areas of the United States, Canada and Latin America. Even more clarity and substance is incorporated through the updating of some 11,000 entries across all topics. Extensive cross-referencing and large subject index augmented with place-name lists, a chronology, a Hasidism chart, lists of newspapers and periodicals, and more than 600 maps, charts, tables, photographs, illustrations and other visuals. eBook version available above.
Encyclopedia of African Religion (2 vols.)
Call Number: Hol Ref BL2400 .E53 2009
A comprehensive collection of essays, discourses, ideas, and concepts in African religion, including almost 500 entries covering a wide range of topics, including African response to the sacred, spirituality, ritual, initiation, taboos and ethics, sacred spaces and objects, and cosmological narratives. It also provides new metaphors, figures of speech, reasoning modes, etymologies, analogies, and cosmogonies.
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'¯an (multi-volume)
Call Number: Holland & Terrell Ref / Reserve BP133 .E53 2001
Combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'ān in an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur'ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history, and exegesis with extended essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'ānic studies. With nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes, the EQ is the first comprehensive, multi-volume reference work on the Qur'ān to appear in a Western language. A separate index to the set is available.
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls
Call Number: Hol Ref BM487 .E53 2000
Features 450 articles by an international community of scholars on the Dead Sea Scrolls--their history, relevance, meaning, and the controversies that surround them. The collection of 800 manuscripts is older than any other collection of manuscripts of the Hebrew Scriptures by almost one thousand years. Includes contributions from 100 distinguished scholars representing diverse traditions and fields of learning on and the historical, archaeological, linguistic, and religious contexts of these texts. Also see eBook version above.
Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature
Call Number: Hol Ref BL31 .E465 2005
An essential reference work covering the fascinating relationship between religion and nature. Critically explores the relationships among human beings, their environments, and the religious dimensions of life. This wide-ranging work — chronologically, geographically, religiously — includes 1,000 entries from 520 international contributors. Also see eBook version above.
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion (2 vols.)
Call Number: Hol Ref BL240.3 .E43 2003
Includes coverage of the human sciences (behaviourism, semiotics), ecology (biological diversity, nuclear energy), genetics (gene patenting, human genome project), philosophy (causation, humanism, teleology), technology (biotechnology, virtual reality), and religious thought (God, sin, spirit). It picks up those areas, like the neurosciences, computer science, and cosmology that lie on the borderlands between science and belief.
The Encyclopedia of Religion and War
Call Number: Hol Ref BL80.3 .E53 2004
Explores the complex relationship between religion and war, including religion as a source of conflict and the role war holds in the development and spread of religion. This interdisciplinary A-Z reference delves into a variety of historical and global issues, including warrior cults, genocides, Northern Ireland, Holy War, assassins, religious feminism and war, Taliban, pacificism, and the Holy Roman Empire. In 130 articles, the volume provides authoritative historical and cross-cultural information that will help readers understand war and other forms of political violence in the major religions of the world. It also covers violent religious conflict in different regions, particular religious movements, and religious wars.
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America (3 vols.)
Call Number: Hol Ref BL458 .E52 2006
The work of 150 scholars, this interreligious, interracial, and multicultural encyclopedia features more than 145 long essays on major themes. Articles focus on institutions, movements, and ideas, with helpful biographical sketches and illustrations.
RoutledgeCurzon Encyclopedia of Confucianism
Call Number: Hol Ref BL1840 .R68 2003
Covers Confucianism as a whole, in 1235 entries on its history, key thinkers, doctrines, schools, rituals, sacred places and terminology, and the modern Confucianism in today's China and other Eastern Asian countries.
Confucian Studies: Critical Concepts in Asian Philosophy (multi-volume)
Call Number: Hol BL1853 .C66 2011
Volume I (‘Reassessing Confucian Traditions’) covers Confucianism in History and the focus of Volume II is on ‘Reinterpreting Confucian Ideas’. Volume III is titled ‘Reconstructing Confucian Ethics’, while the final volume in the collection brings the best scholarship on ‘Reappraising Confucian Ideals'. Note: this set not in reference.
The Cambridge History of Religions in America
Call Number: Hol Ref BL2525 .C354 2012
Traces the historical development of religious traditions in America, following both their transplantation from other parts of the world and the inauguration of new religious movements on the continent of North America.
The Cambridge History of Religions in the Ancient World, 2 vols.
Call Number: Hol Ref BL96 .C363 2012
Provides a comprehensive examination of the history of the religions of the ancient Near East and Mediterranean world. Essay in two volumes have a broad reach, covering the ancient Near East and Mediterranean, extending from the Bronze Age into the late Roman period and incorporating a wide spectrum of textual and material evidence. The regional and historical orientations of the essays will enable readers to see how a religious tradition or movement assumed a distinctive local identity, as well as to understand how each tradition developed within its broader regional context. Supplemented with maps, illustrations, and detailed indexes.
The Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
Call Number: Hol Ref BL31 .O84 1997
Written by an expert team of 80 international and multi-faith contributors, the volume contains over 8,200 entries and an original and in-depth introductory essay. Readers will find information on: Christianity, Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Jainism, Shinto, Sikhism, Taoism, and much more. Includes over 500 entries on everything from Cargo Cults and the New Age movement to Rastafarians and Soka Gakkai along with over 1,000 entries covering the sacred writings of religions worldwide, covering architecture, sacred sites, festivals, etc.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Call Number: Hol Ref BR302.8 .O93 1996
Covers the entire range of religious and social changes associated with the Reformation in sixteenth-century Europe, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature. This broadly cast, interdisciplinary definition allows for a comprehensive social and intellectual history of early modern Europe. See eBook version above.
The Cambridge History of Christianity, Vol. 1: Origins to Constatine
Call Number: BR165 .O66 2006
Multi-volume series offers a comprehensive chronological account of the development of Christianity in all its aspects – theological, intellectual, social, political, regional, and globally – from its beginnings to the present day. Eastern and Coptic Christianity are given full consideration from the early period onwards, and African, Far Eastern, New World, South Asian and other non-European developments in Christianity are covered. Volumes cover popular piety and non-formal expressions of Christian faith and treat the sociology of Christian formation, worship, and devotion in a broad cultural context. Note: this set not in reference.
Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore: Love, Sexuality, and Desire
Call Number: Hol Ref GR460 .C75 2013
Explores the genre of myths, folktales, legends, and other traditional literature written from 5000 B.C.E. to the modern era, including Greek, Mesopotamian, Iraqi, African, Roman, North American, Indian, Afghani, Japanese, European, South American, Serbian, Irish, Chinese, and Egyptian myths and folktales. Articles include a contextual overview, summary, an in-depth analysis, and bibliography. Also available above as an eBook.
The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion
Call Number: Hol Ref BL715 .O84 2003
Offers a fully rounded guide to all aspects of religious life and thought in ancient Greece and Rome, including Greek mythologies and Roman festivals with an emphasis on topics such as Greek and Roman religious places, monuments, authors and texts, religious organization, imagery, divination, astrology, and magic.
The Oxford Handbook of Eschatology
Call Number: BT821.3 .O94 2008
Eschatology is the branch of theology that deals with the final consummation of all things. Through centuries of Christian thought-from the early Church fathers through the Middle Ages and the Reformation-eschatological issues were of the utmost importance. In other religions, too, similar concerns were central to the shaping of the beliefs, practices, and identities of believers. Note: This title in circulating collection.
The Oxford Handbook of Theological Ethics
Call Number: BJ1191 .O94 2005
A guide to ethics within the Christian theological tradition, from which thought and action can never be neatly separated. Four sections explore the sources of Christian moral knowledge (scripture, divine commands, church tradition, reason and natural law, experience); the structure of the Christian life (vocation, virtue, rules, responsibility, death); the spirit of the Christian life (faith, hope, love); and the spheres of the Christian life (government, family, economy, culture, church). Note: This title in circulating collection.
The Book of Symbols: Reflections on Archetypal Images
Call Number: Hol Ref AZ108 .B66 2010
Includes almost 800 full-color images along with roughly 350 essays that examine a given symbol's psychic background and how it evokes psychic processes and dynamics. Etymological roots, the play of opposites, paradox and shadow, the ways in which diverse cultures have engaged a symbolic image—all these aspects are treated in a variety of cultural contexts.
Thesaurus Cultus et Rituum Antiquorum (ThesCRA)
Call Number: Hol Ref BL727 .T44 2004
Comprehensive multi-volume reference set on all known aspects of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman cults and rituals. from the period from Homeric times (1000 B.C.) to late Roman times (A.D. 400). Includes the dynamic elements of cult: divination; prayer, gestures, and acts of prayer; gestures and acts of veneration; oaths; maledictions; profanation; magic; and consecration and foundation rites. Also describes the static elements of cult—cult places and their depictions in antiquity and the personnel of cults. Entries list the epigraphical and literary sources cited and reference ancient iconographical documents related to the topic.