This is the "April 2013" page of the "WSU Libraries Reference Item of the Month" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

WSU Libraries Reference Item of the Month   Tags: atlases, encyclopedias, reference_item_of_the_month  

Each month the librarians from the WSU Pullman Libraries pick an item to be featured as the item of the month.
Last Updated: Apr 2, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/refitemofthemonth Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

April 2013 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

March Reference Item of the Month

April is National Poetry Month! We hope you will consider checking out a book of poetry from the libraries. If you need some inspiration, have a look at these Poetry Reference Selections.

Cover Art
American Nature Poets - J. Scott Bryson; Roger Thompson
Call Number: Holland & Terrell Reference PN451 .D52x v.342
ISBN: 0787681601
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
The Facts on File Companion to 20th-Century American Poetry - Burt Kimmelman
Call Number: Holland & Terrell Reference PS323.5 .F33 2005
ISBN: 0816046980
Publication Date: 2005
In the 20th century many American poets—Allen Ginsberg, Langston Hughes, T.S. Eliot, Robert Lowell, Anne Sexton, William Carlos Williams, e. e. cummings, and Sylvia Plath, among others—produced memorable works that continue to resonate today. Some of these poems deal with distinctly American themes, use experimental syntax, or address personal issues in a new or important way, while others are more traditional. The Facts On File Companion to 20th-Century American Poetry is an accessible reference to all aspects of American poetry. This encyclopedic guide includes approximately 500 clearly written A-to-Z entries, ranging in length from 500 to 2,000 words. Entries provide concise, authoritative information on particular poems, poets, and subjects, many of which are studied in high school and college courses. Completely comprehensive, The Facts On File Companion to 20th-Century American Poetry is an indispensable guide to the rich contributions made by American poets to this literary form.

Cover Art
Contemporary Gay American Poets and Playwrights - Emmanuel S. Nelson (Editor)
Call Number: Holland & Terrell Reference PS325 .C656 2003
ISBN: 0313322325
Publication Date: 2003
With a few notable exceptions, gay artists of earlier generations felt compelled to avoid sexual candor in their writings. Conversely, most contemporary gay poets and playwrights are free from such constraints and have created a remarkable body of work. This reference is a guide to their creative achievements. Alphabetically arranged entries present 62 contemporary gay American poets and dramatists. A number of these writers are well known, including Edward Albee, Harvey Fierstein, and Allen Ginsberg. Others, such as Alan Bowne, Timothy Liu, and Robert O'Hara, merit wider recognition. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and includes a biography, a discussion of major works and themes, an overview of the author's critical reception, and primary and secondary bibliographies.

Cover Art
Contemporary American Women Poets - Catherine Cucinella (Editor)
Call Number: Holland & Terrell Reference PS151 .C665 2002
ISBN: 0313317836
Publication Date: 2002
In mapping the achievements of contemporary American women poets, this reference helps liberate them from restrictive conventional views and illustrates the tremendous diversity of their works. Included are alphabetically arranged entries on nearly 70 American women poets who published significant works after 1945.

 

Past Reference Items of the Month

Survey of Historic Costume: A History of Western Dress - Phyllis G Tortora; Keith Eubank
Call Number: REF GT580 .T67 2010
ISBN: 1563678063
Publication Date: 2010
February 2010 Reference Item of the Month!

Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Greece and Rome - Michael Gagarin; Elaine Fantham
Call Number: REF DE5 .O95 2010
ISBN: 0195170725
March 2010 Reference Item of the Month!


Historical atlas of the ancient world - Anne-Maria Wittke; Eckart Olshausen; Richard Szydlak; Christine F Salazar
Call Number: REFERENCE ATLAS: G1033 .H5713 2010
ISBN: 9004171568
May 2010 Reference Item of the Month!

Encyclopedia of Archaeology - Deborah M. Pearsall
Call Number: CC70 .E53 2008
ISBN: 012548030X
June 2010 Reference Item of the Month!

The African American National Biography - Henry Louis Gates; Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham
Call Number: E185.96 .A4466 2008
ISBN: 0195160193
August 2010 Reference Item of the Month!

Landmark decisions of the United States Supreme Court - Paul Finkelman; Melvin I Urofsky
Call Number: REF KF4550 .F54 2008
ISBN: 9780872894099
Publication Date: 2008
September 2010 Reference Item of the Month!

Encyclopedia of sustainability
Call Number: Owen Reference GE10 .C65 2010
ISBN: 0313352631
October 2010 Reference Item of the Month!

The Halloween Encyclopedia - Lisa Morton
Call Number: Hol Ref GT4965 .M673 2003
ISBN: 078641524X
October 2010 Reference Item of the Month!

Berg encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion - Joanne Bubolz Eicher; et. al.
Call Number: Hol Ref GT525 .B47 2010
ISBN: 9781847881045
Publication Date: 2010
November 2010 Reference Item of the Month!

Encyclopedia of the Arctic - Mark Nuttall
Call Number: Owen Reference G606 .E49 2005
ISBN: 1579584365
Publication Date: 2005
December 2010 Reference Item of the Month!

Antarctica and the Arctic: the complete encyclopedia - David McGonigal, Lynn Woodworth ; foreword by Sir Edmund Hillary
Call Number: Owen Reference G587 .A58 2001
ISBN: 1552975452
Publication Date: 2001
December 2010 Reference Item of the Month!

Ice: the nature, the history, and the uses of an astonishing substance - Mariana Gosnell
Call Number: Owen QC926.32 .G67 2005
ISBN: 0679426086
Publication Date: 2005
December 2010 Reference Item of the Month!

Comics, between the panels - Steve Duin; Mike Richardson
Call Number: Holland & Terrell Reference PN6707 .D85 1998
ISBN: 1569713448
Publication Date: 1998
January 2011 Reference Item of the Month!

The African American Experience
Call Number: Online resource
Publication Date: 2006-
February 2011 Reference Item of the Month!

Oxford Reference Online
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2002-
April 2011 Reference Item of the Month!

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2002-
April 2011 Reference Item of the Month!

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide - Walter, Lynn
Call Number: Hol Ref HQ1115 .G74 2003 v.1-6
ISBN: 0313327874
March 2011 Reference Item of the Month!

Encyclopedia of the interwar years: from 1919 to 1939 - Mark Grossman
Call Number: Hol Ref D727 .G745 2000
ISBN: 0816035768
Summer 2011 Reference Item of the Month!

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip