Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd ed.
Call Number: B51 .E53 2006 (Electronic resource)
Contains more than 2,100 entries -- including more than 450 new articles. Among the many topics covered are African, Islamic, Jewish, Russian, Chinese, and Buddhist philosophies; bioethics and biomedical ethics; art and aesthetics; epistemology; metaphysics; peace and war; social and political philosophy; the Holocaust; feminist thought; and much more. Additionally, the second edition also features 1,000 biographical entries on major figures in philosophical thought throughout history.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Call Number: CB9 .N49 2005 (Electronic resource)
A six-volume survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. Print version in reference.
Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: B51 .C58 2000 (Electronic resource)
Features over 2000 original articles from over 1300 leading international experts across the discipline of philosophy. The articles cover an unparalleled breadth of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy. With a summary providing a rapid orientation at the beginning of every in-depth.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
Call Number: B802 .E53 2005 (Electronic resource)
Covering the “long” Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815, these 700 articles by leading scholars range from discussions of mercantilism and democracy to the battlefield to the dissemination of ideas in salons and coffeehouses. Breaking conventional geographical boundaries, coverage includes not only Western Europe but also North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures.
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Call Number: B51 .O94 1995 (Electronic resource)
Gives clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day.
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
Call Number: B41 .B53 1996 (Electronic resource)
Covers every aspect of philosophy from Aristotle to Zen. Entries include over 500 biographies of famous and influential philosophers, in-depth analysis of philosophical terms and concepts, a chronology of philosophical events stretching from 10,000 BC to the present day, and ...
Dictionary of World Philosophy
Call Number: B41 .I26 2001 (Electronic resource)
Approximately 250 terms from Western and Eastern philosophy are listed alphabetically and defined. Entries describe the history of the concept, crucial debates, and major figures associated with it. Entries are cross-referenced, and other sources are listed.
The Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy
Call Number: B803 .E35x 1999 (Electronic resource)
Covers--in depth and at length-the most important authors and movements of this tradition. Fifty-eight extensive chapters and an internationally recognized team of contributors make this the most comprehensive,single-volume reference tool available on the subject, providing extensive coverage of all the key thinkers, from Kant, Hegel, and Sartre, to Derrida and Baudrillard. Its scope is broad, ranging from Classical Idealism to the present.
Dictionary of Untranslatables: A Philosophical Lexicon (eBook)
This is an encyclopedic dictionary of close to 400 important philosophical, literary, and political terms and concepts that defy easy--or any--translation from one language and culture to another. Drawn from more than a dozen languages spanning the classical, medieval, early modern, modern, and contemporary periods, these are terms that influence thinking across the humanities. The entries, written by more than 150 distinguished scholars, describe the origins and meanings of each term, the history and context of its usage, its translations into other languages, and its use in notable texts.
A Kant Dictionary
Call Number: B2751 .C38 2000 (Electronic resource)
Presents Kantian concepts and terminology in terms that will introduce and clarify his ideas for students and general readers alike. The book illustrates the historical nature of philosophical language, showing the origins of particular terms and ideas, how these were transmitted to Kant, and how he altered them in the course of reception.
A Hegel Dictionary
Call Number: B2901 .I58 1992 (Electronic resource)
The life and work of Hegel are presented in a scholarly yet accessible manner. Entries cover key ideas and thoughts, as well as the main themes of his work. A comprehensive biographical sketch is also included.
Historical Dictionary of Heidegger’s Philosophy
Call Number: B3279.H49 D455 2010 (Electronic resource)
An encyclopedia of the life and work of the influential German philosopher Martin Heidegger (1889-1976) as well as his contemporaries and people who influenced him or were influenced by him. Also offers explanations of his often obscure concepts, abstracts of his most important writings, an extensive list of writings available today, a complete list of English translations, a chronology, and a German-English glossary.
A Hobbes Dictionary
Call Number: B1246 .M37 1995 (Electronic resource)
Provides a comprehensive and cohesive expository account of about one hundred and fifty key concepts covering the entire range of Hobbes's thought, from philosophy, political theory and science, to theology, history and mathematics.
The Oxford Companion to the Mind
Call Number: BF31 .O94 2005 (Electronic resource)
Discusses concepts such as language, memory, and intelligence, consciousness, brain scanning, and artificial intelligence, artificial life, attachment theory, caffeine, cruelty, drama, extra-terrestrial intelligence, genetics of mental illness, imagination, lying, puzzles, and twins, emphasizing cultural and scientific approaches.
Oxford Companion to Consciousness
Call Number: BF311 .O937 2009 (Electronic resource)
An authoritative survey of contemporary research on consciousness. Includes over 250 concise entries written by leaders in the field, covering both fundamental knowledge as well as more recent advances in this rapidly changing area
Arts and Humanities through the Eras
Call Number: NX440 .A787 2005 (Electronic resource)
Offers a multidimensional picture of primarily Western civilization, covering Ancient Egypt (2675-332 B.C.E.), Ancient Greece and Rome (1200 B.C.E.-476 C.E.), Medieval Europe (814-1450 C.E.), Renaissance Europe (1300-1600 C.E.), and The Age of the Baroque and Enlightenment (1600-1800 C.E.). Provides access to each historical period through the study of nine different arts and humanities topics: "Architecture and Design," "Dance," "Fashion," "Literature," "Music," "Philosophy," "Religion," "Theater," and "Visual Arts." Each topic area is treated in a different chapter, but the connections between topics are highlighted both in the text and through cross-referencing. The result is a broader and more inclusive picture of the culture of each period, emphasizing connections between, for example, religion, dance, and literature or between the visual arts and architecture. Chapters contain a chronology; an overview of the development of the field under scrutiny; a "Topics" section, which discusses various movements, schools of thought, and masterworks that characterize the discipline during that era; a handful of biographies of significant people; and a list of documentary sources.
Oxford English Dictionary
Call Number: PE1625 .O87 (Electronic resource)
Provides etymologies and examples of usage for English words. Especially useful for determining what possible meanings an author may have intended in a given work written at a given time. The online OED is updated on a quarterly basis. The OED is the premier historical dictionary of the English language.
Oxford Classical Dictionary
Call Number: DE5 .O9 2005 (Electronic resource)
In over 6,200 entries, provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world. Written by the very best of classical scholars from all over the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.
Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World
Call Number: DE5 .O92 2007 (Electronic resource)
From the first Olympic Games in 776 BC to the death of Marcus Aurelius in AD 180, this accessible and wide-ranging reference work draws on the groundbreaking Oxford Classical Dictionary to present more than 2,500 entries on the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. The dictionary covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion, and contains comprehensive articles on central....
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Call Number: DA28 .O95 2004- (Electronic resource)
55,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2002.
American National Biography
Call Number: CT213 .A68 1999 (Electronic resource)
Short Biographical sketches of over 18,300 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the United States. Contains thousands of illustrations, 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, and links to select web sites. Updated quarterly.
Who's Who in the Classical World
Call Number: DE7 .W48 2003 (Electronic resource)
Holds biographical entries on nearly 500 individuals of central importance from the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome, including writers, thinkers, artists, scientists, statesmen, kings, queens, and other historical figures.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online - Academic ed.
Call Number: AE5 .E363 (Electronic resource)
EBO provides access to over 75,000 articles from the Encyclopædia Britannica; headlines from the New York Times, the BBC, the SBS Australian News Service, and full-text articles from more than 700 magazines and periodicals provided by EBSCO and Proquest; World data; Gateway to the classics; 166,000 Web sites selected by Britannica editors; over 27,000 images and maps, plus 3,300 animations, videos, and audio files; and world atlas. Includes Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary and thesaurus.
Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Call Number: AI3 .R43 (Electronic resource)
Comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, reflecting the history of 20th century America. Access to over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines; many of the articles are peer reviewed. Search Tips
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982
Call Number: Z1219 .C965 (Electronic resource)
Virtually every major idea that shaped the 20th century found expression in books. The reactions to those ideas are reflected in the reviews of those books, and this new database makes it easy to search this vast record of information. Reflecting nearly eight decades of H.W. Wilson’s Book Review Digest, this database provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Reviews of 300,000 books. Search Tips
Book Review Digest Plus (1983- )
Call Number: Electronic resource
Provides access to book reviews on a wide range of topics and from a variety of sources on academic works, fiction and non-fiction, the humanities and social sciences, foreign language reviews, and narrow and specialized subjects. Updated daily. Search Tips
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Call Number: Z6941 .U51 (Electronic resource)
Standard library directory and comprehensive information database on popular magazines, academic journals, and other serial publications like business and trade magazines. Includes ISSNs, title variants and other publishing information, formats, and whether titles are peer-reviewed or available on open access. Multiple access points, including title, subject, and ISSN searching. Continuously updated.