Oxford Music Online (Grove)
Call Number: ML100 .O95 (Electronic resource)
Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online (The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition; The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition; and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th edition) as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Both of these sources are included in subscriptions to Grove Music Online. Updated quarterly.
Grove Music Online
Call Number: Hol Ref ML100 .N48 2001 (Electronic resource)
A compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world. An authoritative, up-to-date resource on all aspects of music. See print version below.
Music Online - Listening
Call Number: M2 .M875 (Electronic resource)
Integrated digital resource of scores, recordings, reference, and video. Access to listening collections include Classical Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound, American Song, Contemporary World Music, and Jazz Music Library. See the reference component of this resource, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, in reference books list below.
Orchestral Music Online
Call Number: ML128.O5 D3 2005 (Electronic resource)
Orchestral Music Online is the most recent iteration of the fourth edition of David Daniels' Orchestral Music: A Handbook (2005), and provides information on more than 7,000 works by roughly 1,000 composers. Features basic and advanced searching. Updated monthly. Search Tips
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music - 4th ed.
Call Number: ML102.P66 G84 2006 (Electronic resource)
Authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop. This A-Z reference also includes entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record lables, venues, and festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system. Print edition in reference.
The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd ed. rev.
Call Number: ML100 .K35 2006 (Electronic resource)
Contains 5,000 entries on composers, most of which include up-to-date worklists, along with entries on conductors, performers, directors, critics, producers and designers of international repute, writers and scholars. Entries also cover individual works, including operas and ballets, orchestras and companies from around the world, famous opera houses, concert-halls, and musical festivals. Musical terms and styles, as well as forms ranging from operatic, vocal, and film scores, to song cycles, chamber, hymns, barbershop, and oratorios are covered, as are general themes such as musicology, acoustics, and absolute pitch, and historical periods such as the Byzantine era. Entries also include a wide range of musical instruments, from the familiar—strings, wind, and brass — to the less familiar — aeolian harp, bamboula and sackbut. See print version below.
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
Call Number: ML105 .B16 2001 (Electronic resource)
Coverage includes over 1,000 new entries on classical music and over 2,000 new entries on jazz and popular music. Reprints Slonimsky's witty introductions to earlier editions and indexes for genre, nationality, and women composers and musicians.
A Dictionary of Opera Characters
Call Number: ML102.O6 B68 2008 (Electronic resource)
A unique and authoritative A-Z reference work that will answer all your questions on who's who in opera. Contains over 2,500 lively entries on operatic characters, with information on the creator of the role and notable performances. From Aeneas to Zaida, A Dictionary of Opera Characters provides extensive coverage of all the characters in operas from around the world and gives synopses for over 200 operas and operettas. It includes feature articles written by well-known personalities from the world of opera, such as Placido Domingo and Dame Janet Baker. Variant title: _Who Married Figaro?: A Book of Opera Characters_.
The Routledge Companion to Research in the Arts
Call Number: Electronic monograph
Publication Date: 2010
A collection of writing on research in the creative and performing arts by leading authorities from around the world. Provides theoretical and practical approaches to identifying, structuring, and resolving some of the key issues in the debate about the nature of research in the arts which have surfaced during the establishment of this subject over the last decade.
Oxford History of Western Music
Call Number: ML160 .T18 2010 (Electronic resource)
Features memorable musical analyses and a panoramic sense of the interaction between history, culture, politics, art, literature, religion, and music in the West, beginning with the invention of musical notation more than a thousand years ago. Print copies are available in the reference and circulating collections.
The Oxford Companion to Music
Call Number: ML100 .S37 2003 (Electronic resource)
Features more than 1,000 new entries than the previous edition; more than 70 percent of the entire text is either new or entirely rewritten. In articles that range from clear, concise definitions of musical ideas and terms to extended surveys of musical forms and styles, is authoritative coverage of virtually every musical subject. Embracing the world of music in all its variety — including jazz, popular music, and dance — the Companion offers a concentrated focus on the Western classic tradition, from the Middle Ages to the present day. More than 8,000 articles sweep across an extraordinary range of subjects: composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres. From the study of music — theory, aesthetics, scholarship — to the way it is performed and disseminated, the Companion provides comprehensive, accessible coverage of music in all its artistic, historical, cultural, and social dimensions.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music
Call Number: ML100 .K35 2007 (Electronic resource)
Coverage of music of all periods and styles. Providing thousands of entries on musical terms, works, composers, librettists, musicians, singers, and orchestras, the dictionary's coverage is exceptional, giving comprehensive work-lists for major composers, detailed entries on living composers and performers, important ballets and operas, as well as descriptions of musical instruments and their histories.
The Encyclopedia of Country Music, 2nd ed.
Call Number: Electronic mono
Includes more than 1,200 A-Z entries covering nine decades of history and artistry, from the Carter Family recordings of the 1920s to the reign of Taylor Swift in the first decade of the twenty-first century. Compiled by a team of experts at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum, the encyclopedia has been brought completely up-to-date, and explores the latest and most critical trends within the industry, shedding light on such topics as the digital revolution, the shifting politics of country music, and the impact of American Idol. Other essays cover the literature of country music, the importance of Nashville as a music center, and the colorful outfits that have long been a staple of the genre. The volume features hundreds of images, including a photo essay of album covers; a foreword by country music superstar Vince Gill (the winner of twenty Grammy Awards); and twelve fascinating appendices, ranging from lists of awards to the best-selling country albums of all time.
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
Call Number: ML102.P66 C66 2003 (Electronic resource)
Guide to popular music from all corners of the globe. Includes extensive bibliographies, discographies, sheet music listings and filmographies.
The Grove Book of Opera Singers
Call Number: ML102.O6 G76 2008 (Electronic resource)
The Grove Book of Opera Singers is an essential reference for opera lovers and an ideal companion to The Grove Book of Operas. Covering over 1500 singers from the origins of opera to the present day, this is the most comprehensive guide to opera singers in the English language. Articles from the The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and Grove Music Online have been fully revised and updated and new entries have been commissioned on contemporary singers such as Angelika Kirchschlager and Sanford Sylvan. Each entry is written by an expert in the field and special attention has been paid to identifying first performances of important roles. The text is enlivened by black and white illustrations and colour plates, including portraits, caricatures, and photographs of contemporary performances.
Women in Music: An Encyclopedic Bio-bibliography
Call Number: ML105 .H68 1993 (Electronic resource)
Historical reference guide listing musicians and composers as described in selected reference sources. Coverage is international and includes discographies.
Women Composers and Songwriters: A Concise Biographical Dictionary
Call Number: ML105 .C593 1996 (Electronic resource)
Presents succinct biographies for female composers in both secular and sacred music. Entries are arranged in alphabetical order and cover a broad spectrum of music, including classical, jazz, blues, rock, and sacred.
Essays on Literature and Music (1967-2004)
Call Number: ML3849 .S347 2004 (Electronic resource)
Covers a wide range of subjects and comprises theoretical, methodological and historical studies, which include discussions of Ferruccio Busoni, Thomas Mann, Bertolt Brecht, Judith Weir, the Talking Heads and many others and which pay special attention to E. T. A. Hoffmann and German Romanticism.
Oxford English Dictionary
Call Number: PE1625 .O87 (Electronic resource)
Provides etymologies and examples of usage for English words. Especially useful for determining what possible meanings an author may have intended in a given work written at a given time. The online OED is updated on a quarterly basis. The OED is the premier historical dictionary of the English language.
Dictionary of Untranslatables: A Philosophical Lexicon (eBook)
This is an encyclopedic dictionary of close to 400 important philosophical, literary, and political terms and concepts that defy easy--or any--translation from one language and culture to another. Drawn from more than a dozen languages spanning the classical, medieval, early modern, modern, and contemporary periods, these are terms that influence thinking across the humanities. The entries, written by more than 150 distinguished scholars, describe the origins and meanings of each term, the history and context of its usage, its translations into other languages, and its use in notable texts.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Call Number: CB9 .N49 2005 (Electronic resource)
A six-volume survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. Includes aesthetics.
Arts and Humanities through the Eras
Call Number: NX440 .A787 2005 (Electronic resource)
Offers a multidimensional picture of primarily Western civilization, covering Ancient Egypt (2675-332 B.C.E.), Ancient Greece and Rome (1200 B.C.E.-476 C.E.), Medieval Europe (814-1450 C.E.), Renaissance Europe (1300-1600 C.E.), and The Age of the Baroque and Enlightenment (1600-1800 C.E.). Provides access to each historical period through the study of nine different arts and humanities topics: "Architecture and Design," "Dance," "Fashion," "Literature," "Music," "Philosophy," "Religion," "Theater," and "Visual Arts." Each topic area is treated in a different chapter, but the connections between topics are highlighted both in the text and through cross-referencing. The result is a broader and more inclusive picture of the culture of each period, emphasizing connections between, for example, religion, dance, and literature or between the visual arts and architecture. Chapters contain a chronology; an overview of the development of the field under scrutiny; a "Topics" section, which discusses various movements, schools of thought, and masterworks that characterize the discipline during that era; a handful of biographies of significant people; and a list of documentary sources.
Oxford Classical Dictionary
Call Number: DE5 .O9 2005 (Electronic resource)
In over 6,200 entries, provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world. Written by the very best of classical scholars from all over the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.
Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World
Call Number: DE5 .O92 2007 (Electronic resource)
From the first Olympic Games in 776 BC to the death of Marcus Aurelius in AD 180, this accessible and wide-ranging reference work draws on the groundbreaking Oxford Classical Dictionary to present more than 2,500 entries on the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. The dictionary covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion, and contains comprehensive articles on central....
American National Biography
Call Number: CT213 .A68 1999 (Electronic resource)
Short Biographical sketches of over 18,300 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the United States. Contains thousands of illustrations, 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, and links to select web sites. Updated quarterly.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Call Number: DA28 .O95 2004- (Electronic resource)
Biographies of noteworthy people, no longer living, who inhabited or were connected with the British Isles. Portraits included for more than 10,000 entries.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online - Academic ed.
Call Number: AE5 .E363 (Electronic resource)
EBO provides access to over 75,000 articles from the Encyclopædia Britannica; headlines from the New York Times, the BBC, the SBS Australian News Service, and full-text articles from more than 700 magazines and periodicals provided by EBSCO and Proquest; World data; Gateway to the classics; 166,000 Web sites selected by Britannica editors; over 27,000 images and maps, plus 3,300 animations, videos, and audio files; and world atlas. Includes Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary and thesaurus.
Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Call Number: AI3 .R43 (Electronic resource)
Comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, reflecting the history of 20th century America. Access to over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines; many of the articles are peer reviewed. Search Tips
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982
Call Number: Z1219 .C965 (Electronic resource)
Virtually every major idea that shaped the 20th century found expression in books. The reactions to those ideas are reflected in the reviews of those books, and this new database makes it easy to search this vast record of information. Reflecting nearly eight decades of H.W. Wilson’s Book Review Digest, this database provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Reviews of 300,000 books. Search Tips
Book Review Digest Plus (1983- )
Call Number: Electronic resource
Provides access to book reviews on a wide range of topics and from a variety of sources on academic works, fiction and non-fiction, the humanities and social sciences, foreign language reviews, and narrow and specialized subjects. Updated daily. Search Tips
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Call Number: Z6941 .U51 (Electronic resource)
Standard library directory and comprehensive information database on popular magazines, academic journals, and other serial publications like business and trade magazines. Includes ISSNs, title variants and other publishing information, formats, and whether titles are peer-reviewed or available on open access. Multiple access points, including title, subject, and ISSN searching. Continuously updated.