Library Research Techniques
Tips on choosing search terms for the best search results:
Using search commands to focus your search to exactly what you want:
- Help Searching: Expanding Your Search Using the OR Command Podcast
- Help Searching: Narrowing Your Search Using the AND Command Podcast
- Help Searching: Combining AND OR Commands Podcast
- Searching for Phrases audio file
Finding indexes that are most likely to contain articles that suit your topic:
Use LibGuides @ WSU Libraries to find other search techniques.
The Owen Library contains resources for students and faculty interested in Molecular Biosciences. If you have any questions not answered on the WSU Libraries website, please contact Eileen Brady or Betty Galbraith. If you would like to request a book or journal on any subject related to Molecular Biosciences, please contact Joel Cummings. For questions about the programs in Molecular Biosciences at WSU, please see the School of Molecular Biosciences. In addition, the Animal Health Library holds a number of resources related to molecular medicine.
- Find a book from here at WSU
- Find/borrow a book from WSU, nearby schools and the world using WorldCat
- Borrow a book from anywhere in the world using InterLibray Loan
- Request that we buy a book for the WSU library (don't forget your WSU contact info!).
- Come by and browse the shelves! Here are the call numbers where you can find most biology topics on the 5th floor of the Owen Science and Engineering Library. Look at QH, QK, QL, QM, QP, and QR.
- For known items, look for the journal title in our Library Catalog to see if we own the issue that you need.
- If you need to find articles on a subject, but don't know where to begin, there are a large number of places to search. WSU pays for some resources to help:
- Go to the WSU Libraries' databases of Molecular Biosciences journal articles
- To search within any one of these databases, click on the name and it'll take you to that database.
- When you find an article, watch for the button:
- Click on this button and the computer will open a new window where you can see if we have an article electronically, check the catalog for it, or borrow it from another library.
- For articles published prior to our online indexes, check the library for our print indexes. Examples:
- Biological Abstracts:
- 1926-1995 (Owen A&I South Alcove)
- 1969-present (BIOSIS online)
- Biological Abstracts/RRM: This is the major indexing source in biology for reviews, reports and meetings.
- 1965-1995 (Owen A&I South Alcove)
- 1969-present (BIOSIS online)
- Science Ciatation Index:
- 1955-1991 (Owen A&I East Alcove)
- 1980-present (Web of Science online)
- SciFinder Scholar:
- Full text access to: Chemical Abstracts since 1907, Chemical Abstracts Registry CASREACT since 1974, Medline since 1985.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
- Open Access Journals Search Engine (OAJSE)
- BioOne: A collection of high impact journals produced by scholarly societies.
- An international database of dissertations.
- An up-to-date list of WSU dissertations housed in the WSU Libraries.
- Search for WSU dissertations.
- Helpful information on finding standards.
- ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL)
- National Institute of Standards and Technology
- NIST Standards
- Finding protocols in the library
- Handbooks - Protocols (Qiagen)
- Protocol Online
- National Guideline Clearinghouse
- Springer Protocol
- Helpful information on patent searching.
- Search for a U.S. Patent.
- Google Patents if you need full text patent searching before 1975.
- Search for a European patent
- Finding Patents with the World Intellectual Property Office (WIPO)
- Think U.S. Government documents:
- NTIS: the National Technical Information Service
- SciTech Connect
- Science Accelerator: Searches science, including R&D results, project descriptions, and more, via resources made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy.
- USA.gov: U.S. government's official web portal
- Or even science.gov: Technical reports, journal citations, databases, Federal web sites from 14 scientific and technical information organizations
- Follow these links to find information compiled by Marilyn Von Seggern on gathering statistical data:
- BISON USGS
- Genetics Virtual Library: Established by the Oak Ridge National Laboratory. Contains many sites on Genome projects.
- Genome: Searchable database of elements of the human genome, including genome regions, variations, and genome maps. Note that the database does not include human sequence data or raw mapping data.
- Google scholar - advanced search
- GrainGenes: A compilation of molecular and phenotypic information on wheat, barley, oats, rye, and sugarcane. The project is supported by the USDA/NAL Plant Genome Research Program.
- The Human Genome Project: Sponsored by the National Human Genome Research Institute, this site includes information about the goals, staff, funding, and recent developments in regards to the Human Genome Project.
- PCR Protocols
- Protein Data Bank (PDB): Education Resources
- National Center for Biotechnology Information
- World Wide Science Portal
- Yahoo: Biology
- Yahoo: Life Sciences
- Try biology portals on the internet
Owen Science & Engineering Library; 509-335-4080.
Science Librarian and Instruction Coordinator
Office: Owen Library 119
Phone: (509) 335-7930
Fax: (509) 335-2534
Owen Library 119
Washington State University
Pullman WA 99164-3200.