WSU WorldCat Search
EBM Step by Step
- Use PICO to create a clinical question
- Identify keywords to search with
- Search Cochrane, Pubmed, and/or other resources
- How do the results compare?
- Can you answer the question?
Learning about EBM
- EBM OverviewSome definitions of EBM
- Constructing Well-built Clinical Questions Using PICOPatient, Population or Problem
Intervention
Comparison
Outcome - Well-built Clinical QuestionsFrom an EBM Tutorial from Duke & UNC Chapel Hill.
- Clinical Questions, PICO, Study Designs
- Types of Studies
- EBP Tools SummaryA guide to the most important resources for EBP, organized by type of resource. From the UW.
- Literature SearchExample of a search in PubMed
- PubMed Quick StartIncluding:
How do I search PubMed?
Is there anything special for clinical searches?
How do I find systematic reviews?
Can you explain the search results?
How can I get a copy of the article?
How can I save my results?
I retrieved too many citations. How can I focus my search?
I retrieved too few citations. How can I expand my search?
I’m not finding what I need. How does a PubMed search work? - PubMed Online TutorialsTake them all in order, or pick and choose as needed. Worth spending some time here!
- Google Scholar preferencesSet your preferences to have Google Scholar connect with WSU online resources
Library News
Medicine
Medicine
Library and Librarian
Electronic Journals
Databases, Indexes, Abstracts, and Other Electronic Resources
Selected Print Reference and Reserve Books
Internet Links
Professional Development and Licensing Information
WSU WWAMI Basic Medical Sciences Program
| Library and Librarian |
The Owen Science and Engineering Library contains useful resources for students and faculty interested in medicine. If you have any questions not answered on the WSU Libraries website, or would like to request a book, journal, conference proceeding or some other resource on this subject, please contact your subject liaison librarian, Linda Crook. For questions about the WSU WWAMI Basic Medical Sciences Program, please see the WSU WWAMI web site. For information on other health information resources provided by the WSU Libraries, please see the subject guides on Pharmacy, Veterinary Medicine/Veterinary Sciences, or Food Science/Human Nutrition.
| Electronic Journals |
The WSU Libraries list their electronic journal holdings in the library catalog, known as Griffin. References to an electronic journal in the catalog should have links either to the electronic journal itself or to the database that contains the electronic journal. If you cannot find a journal that you have reason to believe should be available at WSU, or you would like to have electronic access to a journal, please contact Linda Crook.
Connecting to electronic and paper journals via the FindIt icon:
This software dynamically links indexes, like Web of Science or others to full-text electronic documents, the library catalog, or interlibrary loan services. If you see a button like the one here, you should be able to click on it and find the WSU libraries' holdings for the item -- in print or electronic form.
| Databases, Indexes, Abstracts, and Other Electronic Resources |
- Cochrane Library: The Cochrane Library contains high-quality independent evidence designed to inform healthcare decision making. It includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
- Lexi-Comp: A series of databases providing drug identification, interaction analysis, news on drugs, PDA recalls, shortages, and alerts.
- Science Direct.
- ISI Highly Cited.
- National Academies Press: Health and Medicine.
- Oxford Companion to the Body.
- ACP Journal Club.
- PubMed: This is the most comprehensive biomedical index in the world. PubMed provides electronic access to more than 12 million citations (and some recent full-text articles) from 1966 to the present.
- STAT!Ref: Provides full text electronic editions of medical and pharmacological textbooks, dictionaries, and indexes. Titles include: AHFS Drug Information, Practitioner's Quick Reference to Nonprescription Drugs, and Trissel's Stability of Compounded Formulations.
- Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database: Peer-reviewed information on herbal products, supplements, vitamins, and complementary therapies. Includes information on mechanisms of action.
- Web of Science: An index of frequently-cited journals in science, engineering, agriculture and medicine. Allows for cited reference searches. Updated weekly.
- Journal Citation Reports -- Science Edition: This database provides impact factors for selected science and engineering journals.
- TOXNET: TOXNET provides access to a suite of databases covering toxicology, environmental health, and hazardous chemicals. TOXNET is provided free from the National Library of Medicine's Specialized Information Services Division.
| Selected Print Reference and Reserve Books |
Many important resources can also be found in the Owen and Animal Health Library print Reference and Reserve collections.
| Internet Links |
American Academy of Family Physicians
American College of Physicians: Guidelines
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: National Guidelines Clearinghouse
Association of Medical Colleges
FREIDA: Fellowship and Residency Electronic Interactive Database, American Medical Association
CME Center, American Academy of Family Physicians
Online CME Programs, American Medical Association
Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine
Evidence Based Medicine Resource Center
ARGH Biomedical Acronym Resolver
Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
EMAP: Edinburgh Mouse Atlas Project
A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia, MedlinePIus
Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary, MedlinePlus
Entrez: The Life Sciences Search Engine, National Library of Medicine
The Joint Commission, Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations
Office of Rural Health and Policy
National Rural Health Association
United States Department of Health and Human Services
Code of Federal Regulations, Title 42 Public Health
United States Code, Title 42 Public Health
| Board and Licensing Information |
Federation of State Medical Boards
USMLE: United States Medical Licensing Examination
Washington State Department of Health
Washington State Medical Quality Assurance Commission
Oregon Board of Medical Examiners
Montana Board of Medical Examiners
Ask me! |
Subjects: agriculture, crop sciences, entomology, human nutrition, landscape architecture, mathematics, medicine, pharmacy, plant pathology, science (general), soil sciences, statistics, viticulture & enology Research Interests: virtual reference services, next-generation discovery tools, library leadership |
Loading...






Loading...
