This is the "Home" page of the "Maps and Atlases in Holland & Terrell Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Maps and Atlases in Holland & Terrell Libraries   Tags: atlases, gazetteers, maps  

A guide to the maps, atlases, gazetteers, and map indexes in Holland and Terrell Libraries at Washington State University.
Last Updated: Dec 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/mapsandatlases Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General information

Map and atlas resources in the Holland and Terrell Libraries consist of atlases, map collections, miscellaneous maps in the vertical file, and gazetteers. Most but not all of the map/atlas resources in the Holland and Terrell Libraries are entered in the WSU Libraries' catalog, Search It.  Questions about the Holland and Terrell Libraries map/atlas collection should be directed to Marilyn Von Seggern.

The Owen Science & Engineering Library has an extensive map room on the 3rd floor.  In it you will find USGS topographic maps for 9 western states, other geologic maps by federal and state agencies, US Forest Service maps, recreational maps, and other collections.

 

Indexes to maps


Search It, WSU Libraries' catalog

Catalog of Government Publications (CGP), is an index of U.S. federal government publications

U.S. Congressional Serial Set (WSU only) Thousands of maps have been published and distributed by the U.S. government in the Serial Set (Senate and House Documents and Senate and House Reports) since 1789. Included are such topics as the exploration of lands west of the Appalachian Mountains, U.S. General Land Office surveys, foreign maps resulting from conflicts abroad or exploration, soil survey maps, and social and economic development maps such as energy sources, water resources, and transportation. 

A searchable subset, Serial Set Maps are those published in the Congressional Serial Set from 1872 - 1972, Serial Set Volumes 1544 - 12991.   The collection includes more than 60,300 maps.   The print counterpart to the database is CIS Serial Set Index, pt. 14, Index and Carto-bibliography of Maps, 1789-1969.  Holland and Terrell Reference Z1223.Z7 U5

 

Maps

Map Collections

Map collections are located in cabinets 209-219 at the north end of the Microforms Room, 1st floor of Holland Library. The following collections are there:

  • Army Map Service (AMS) 1945-  ; cabinets 210-214
  • Navigation Charts   cabinet 214, lower 4 drawers
  • AMS Captured Maps    cabinet 215-216
  • British Maps (GSGS)    cabinets 216-217

AMS maps, British maps, and navigation charts are filed by map number. To find this number use the Army Map Service Index or GSGS Map Index in Holland and Terrell Reference, located on the top of the stack 5. Note the number and request assistance in finding the map at the Reference Desk.

The AMS Captured maps are not indexed.

  • U.S. Government Maps (SuDoc classification):  small maps in cabinet 209; large flat maps in cabinets 218-219

This collection includes maps received through the federal depository library program and published by agencies such as the Census Bureau, National Park Service, Bureau of Land Management, and the Central Intelligence Agency. Maps published since 1976 can be searched in Griffin. To find pre-1976 maps search the print GPO Monthly Catalog (Holland Reference Docs GP 3.8) or ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.

  • Maps in Library of Congress classification    cabinet 219, lower drawers

All maps except for the AMS Captured Maps may be checked out for 7 days.

Map Vertical File

Individual maps of the world, world regions, countries, U.S. states, and cities are located in a vertical file cabinet in the Holland and Terrell Libraries reference area. Also in this collection are Metsker and Big Sky county maps as well as a collection of thematic maps (e.g., time zones, historical, environmental). They may be checked out for 7 days.

 

Atlases

Holland and Terrell Libraries atlases are in several locations: library stacks, the reference collection, and the atlas case in the reference area. Some of the larger format atlases and current editions of world, U.S., and regional atlases are kept in the atlas case near the Terrell reference desk and additional atlases are in the reference collection. Atlases in library stacks can be checked out while atlas case and reference collection atlases are for use in the library only.

 

Gazetteers

A gazetteer is a geographical dictionary or index. Many general and specialized gazetteers are located in the Holland and Terrell Reference collection, for example Columbia Gazetteer of the World, Cambridge Gazetteer of the United States and Canada, Washington Atlas and Gazetteer, and Omni Gazetteer of the United States of America. Many other gazetteers are in the Holland and Terrell Libraries and Owen Library book and online collections. Use Search It to locate them.

For Defense Mapping Agency gazetteers of foreign countries search one of the catalogs to locate exact title, location, and call number.  AMS (Army Map Service) Gazetteers  (uncatalogued) are in the Holland and Terrell Libraries reference area on the top of stack 5. The National Gazetteer of the United States of America is located in Holland Documents (3rd fl. West) at I 19.16:1200-US.

The following online gazetteers are also official government sources:
Geographic Names Information System (GNIS) is the United States' official repository of domestic geographic names information.
U.S. Gazetteer (U.S. Census Bureau)
NGA GEOnet Names Server (GNS) is the official repository of foreign place-name decisions approved by the US Board on Geographic Names.It is sponsored by the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA).

Government Information Librarian

Profile Image
Marilyn Von Seggern
Contact Info
office: Terrell Library 120M
phone: 509 335-8859
email: m_vonseggern@wsu.edu
Send Email
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip