The Holland and Terrell Libraries contain many resources for students and faculty interested in Law. If you have any questions not answered on the WSU Libraries website, or need assistance requesting a book or journal related to Law, please contact Mary Gilles. WSU librarians are also available for research assistance. For questions about law courses at WSU, consult the Washington State University Catalog.
WSU Libraries new shared library management service. With Search IT patrons can now use a single search box to find journals, books, articles, and digitized collections. They can also access some 9 million titles and 26 million resources from 36 other higher education institutions. Search IT replaces Griffin and WSU WorldCat.
Indexes, Abstracts and Other Databases
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe: Provides full-text access to federal and State court decisions, federal and state codes and some foreign and international law sources.
- Reference Books
- Black's Law Dictionary KF 156 B53 1990
- West's Encyclopedia of American Law KF 154 W47 1998
- Encyclopedia of the American Constitution KF 4548 E53 1986
- Encyclopedia of the American Judicial System KF 154 E53 1987
- American Jurisprudence KF 154 A42
- Corpus Juris Secundum KF 154 C67x 2d ed.
- Legal Research: How to Find and Understand the Law KF 240 E35 2000
- Landmark Decisions of the United States Supreme Court KF 4549 F56 2003
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe: Provides full-text access to more than 450 law reviews and journals and other legal news sources. Dates of coverage vary.
- Web Guide to U.S. Supreme Court Research: Gail Partin's thorough and up-to-date guide provides annotated links to the most reliable, substantive sites for U.S. Supreme Court research. The focus is predominately on information that is freely or inexpensively available on the Internet.
- American Law Sources Online (ALSO!): describes itself as "a comprehensive, uniform, and useful compilation of links to freely accessible online sources of legal information for the United States and Canada." Also includes a link to the Mexican Instito de Investigaciones Juridicas, which provides links to online legal sources for Mexico.
- European Union Law: An Integrated Guide to Electronic and Print Research. Excellent introduction with links to relevant web sites.
- FindLaw: This is the first-stop, premier law resource on the Web. It features a legal subject index, access to cases and codes, information about law schools, law reviews, and legal associations and organizations.
- lexisONE: This free site from Lexis-Nexis offers U.S. Supreme Court cases from 1790 and selected federal and state cases from January 1,1997; legal forms; links to more than 20,000 law-related Web sites organized into 36 practice areas, such as communications, constitutional, civil rights, education, Indian & tribal, international, international trade law; and much more. This site won the 2002 CODIE Award for “Best Online Professional Reference Product or Service.”
- Legal Information Institute at Cornell University: Find state laws, federal laws, and laws from around the world. This is the research tool of choice to find the text of laws.
- Law.com: In addition to providing legal application solutions to the legal profession, this commercial site provides free information such the day's top legal headlines, a law dictionary, and specialized resources for legal professionals, law students, business and the public.
- Nolo's Plain-English Law Dictionary: Free, online law dictionary.
- TheFreeDictionary's Legal Dictionary: Free, online law dictionary.
- Public Library of Law. (PLoL). Continuously updated free database covering federal law and the laws of all 50 states. Separate portals include Case Law, Statutes, Regulations, Court Rules, Constitutions, and legal forms, which are continuously updated and available by state for a nominal additional fee.
- The Virtual Chase: A Research Site for Legal Professionals: Sponsored by a law firm, this site offers information pertaining to Internet resources and legal research strategies. Functions as a "self-help" resource for anyone interested in doing legal research using the Internet.
- American Bar Association
- Washington State Bar Association
- Washington State Courts: Washington State Law Library: Provides self-help resources for Washington citizens on topics ranging from "Antiharrassment" to "Wills," plus guides, instructions, court forms, full-text of recent court opinions, and more.
- Temple of Justice: A joint effort of the Thomas S. Foley Institute at Washington State University and The Oyez Project to provide highlights of the history and work of the Washington State Supreme Court.
- Nolo: Law for All: This publisher of plain-English books and software on legal matters provides a wealth of free information at their Web site, focusing on topics of interest to consumers.
- LawHelp.org: Built by Pro BonoNet, this site provides basic information about legal rights, self-help information, court information, links to social service agencies, and more for each state.
- Internet Legal Resource Guide: Provides over 1,750 free legal forms as well as a categorized index of more than 4000 web sites in 238 countries.
- Overview of Sources of Canadian Law on the Web, Revised: Louise Tsang's extensive guide assists researchers in locating the current and retrospective text of Canadian law on the Web.
- A Guide to the U.K. Legal System - Updated: Sarah Carter's guide describes the UK legal system and provides links to electronic sources.
- LLRX.com: a unique, free Web journal that provides, among other features, guides to online legal research in over 50 countries.
- Court Rules, Forms and Dockets: This site includes links to over 1,400 sources for state and federal court rules, forms and dockets. Browse or search by keyword.
- DRAGNET (Database retrieval access using Google's new electronic technology): Developed by the New York Law School's Mendik Library, this search tool allows the user to find a topic simultaneously in more than 80 legal web sites and databases. Response is limited to 100 hits; enter specific searches.
- Law Reviews with Online Content: Developed by the New York Law School's Mendik Library, this site provides free online content to 150 law journals. Of interest primarily to non-WSU affiliates since students and faculty have access to full-text articles from almost 1000 law reviews and journals via Lexis Nexis Academic.
- Supreme Court of the United States: Official website of the U.S. Supreme Court, it provides PDF copy of Sumpreme Court decisions from the Court's 1991 term forward, plus latest slip opinions and more.
- The Supreme Court Database: Although the case entry links to the text of the Supreme Court opinion, the strength of this site is the data it provides about Supreme Court decisions from 1953 to the present. It includes and classifies every single vote by a Supreme Court justice as well as providing other information.
- Federal Court Locator: Maintained by the Villanova University School of Law, this site provides links to U.S. Courts of Appeals and U.S. District Courts websites.
- NCSC (National Center for State Courts): Provides links to state court websites as well as state court information.
- FDsys (GPO's Federal Digital System): Provides public access to government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies, including the United States Code, Public and Private laws, the United States Statutes at Large, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the Federal Register.
- e-CFR (Electronic Code of Federal Regulations): Currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations. It is not an official legal edition.
Business and Economics Librarian
Spring Reference Desk Hours: Monday 2-4pm, Tuesday 12-2pm, Wednesday 12-2pm. Spring Office Hours: Tuesday 3-5pm, Wednesday 2-4pm. Available other times by appointment.
Terrell Library 120E
Office Phone: 509-335-8740
Skype Name mary.gilles47