This is the "Home" page of the "International Business " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Business   Tags: international business  

Last Updated: Oct 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/internationalbusiness Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Internet Links

Country Profile

World Factbook

BBC News.  World Edition: Country Profiles

U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets.  U.S. Department of State

Political Situation

Country Indicators of Foreign Policy

Country Culture/Social Conditions

Country Studies.  Library of Congress

Crime and Safety Reports.  U.S. State Department.

Hofstede Centre. Country culture information.

Happiest Countries in the World

Human Development Index. United Nations Development Programme

World Development Indicators.  World Bank

Regulatory/Legal/Taxation

Doing Business: Measuring Business Regulations.  World Bank

Doing Business in ... Country Commercial Guides.  U.S. Commercial Service. Select Country Commercial Guides at Report Type pull-down.

Basic Guide to Exporting

Business Culture/Practices/Environment

Doing Business in ... Country Commercial Guides.  U.S. Commercial Service

World Economic Forum

Website of the Economic Freedom Network.  Fraser Institute

Market

International Market Research.  U.S. Commercial Service.  Select Market Research Reports at Report Type pull-down.

Market Potential Index (MPI) for Emerging Markets.  globalEDGE

Technology

The Global Information Techology Report 2013.  World Economic Forum.

Starting a Business in Washington State

Business Organizations. University of Washington Law School.

Corporate Social Responsibility

CSRwire.  Corporate Social Responsibility Newswire.  Includes full-text CSR reports from companies.

Universal Giving

GlobalGiving

BSR. The Business of a Better World.  Sustainability, Corporate Social Responsibility Network and Consultancy

United Nations Global Compact

Global Reporting Initiative (GRI)

Institute of Business Ethics

World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD)

International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD)

AccountAbility

Ceres.  Coalition for Sustainable Prosperity.

Business & Human Rights Resource Centre.

 

Databases, Indexes, Specialized Resources

Business Source Complete.  A definitive scholarly business database, providing an extensive collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts are provided for the most important scholarly business journals back to the early 20th Century.

Economist Intelligence Unit.  Country Information.  Provides some free historical, political, infrastructural and economic information for 126 countries.

Lexis Nexis Academic.  Provides access to full text information from newspapers, magazines, company annual reports, and more, as well as legal  and country information.

Passport GMID.  Provides key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers. Covers over 350 markets and 207 countries.  Consumer Lifestyles country reports provide detailed information on consumers and their behavior. Mouse over Countries & Consumers and select Consumer Trends and Lifestyles.  At the next display, select Consumer Lifestyles on the Analysis puldown and a country on the Geography pulldown and click Go.

STAT-USA. (WSU Holland and Terrell Libraries - in-library access only; ask at the Reference Desk.) Provides access to National Trade Data Bank (NTDB) which contains country commercial guides, market research reports, import/export statistics, etc.

International Monetary Fund International Financial Statistics. (In-library access only, CD-ROM, Holland and Terrell Reference Area.) This database is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. Many of the time series are available from the 1940s forward.

 

Electronic Reference Books

Cover Art
A Guide to Countries of the World - Peter Stalker
ISBN: 9780199202713
Publication Date: 2007-04-16
This global handbook contains separate entries for every country in the world. Each entry gives a succinct overview covering the contemporary social, economic, religious and political issues that shape the country. It also contains maps (including two color world maps on the inside covers), and vital statistics such as GDP, life expectancy, income distribution, and internet use.

Cover Art
Dictionary of International Business Terms - John J. Capela; Stephen Hartman
ISBN: 9780764180125
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
This 4,200-term dictionary defines words and phrases having special application to international marketing and trade.

Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of International Business - Alan M. Rugman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199234257
Publication Date: 2009-03-15
The Oxford Handbook of International Business synthesises all the relevant literature of the last 40 years in 28 original chapters. The Handbook is divided into six major sections, providing comprehensive coverage of the following areas: History and Theory of the Multinational Enterprise; Political and Regulatory Environment; Strategy and International Management; Managing the MNE; Area Studies; Methodological Issues.

 

Print Reference Books

Cover Art
The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy - Kenneth A. Reinert (Editor); Amy Joycelyn Glass (Editor); Lewis S. Davis (Editor); Ramkishen S. Rajan (Editor)
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HF1373 .P75 2009
ISBN: 9780691128122
Publication Date: 2008-12-22
From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this two-volume encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals.

Cover Art
Managing Cultural Differences - Philip R. Harris; Robert T. Moran; Sarah V. Moran
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HD62.4 .H37 2004
ISBN: 0750677368
Publication Date: 2004-02-25
This new edition has been completely updated to reflect the numerous global changes that have occurred since 1999: globalization, SARS, AIDS, the handover of Hong Kong, and so forth. In particular, the book presents a fuller discussion of global business today. Also, issues of terrorism and state security as they affect culture and business are discussed substantially.

Political Risk Yearbook - Frost & Sullivan
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference D839 .W68x
This set includes eight regional volumes, covering 100 countries around the world.

Travel Guides
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference each guide has a unique call number
Select Advanced Search at the Libraries homepage.
Search:
in subject is (exact) [name of country] guidebooks

Travel guides provide information about the regions of a country, its history, culture, art, architecture, geography, business etiquette and practices, and how to survive in country with practical information.
The most recent edition is in the Reference collection and must be used in library. Older editions may be checked out.

Business and Economics Librarian

Profile Image
Mary Gilles
Fall Reference Desk Hours: Monday 1-3pm, Thursday 3-5pm, Friday 12-1pm. Fall Office Hours: Wednesday 3-5pm, Thursday 1-3pm. Available other times by appointment.
Logo - Skype
Contact Info
Terrell Library 120E
Office Phone: 509-335-8740
Fax: 509-335-6721
Skype Name mary.gilles47
Send Email
 

Library Catalog

WSU Libraries new shared library management service.  With Search IT patrons can now use a single search box to find journals, books, articles, and digitized collections. They can also access some 9 million titles and 26 million resources from 36 other higher education institutions.  Search IT replaces Griffin and WSU WorldCat.

 

What I Can Do for You

For students, I can:

  • Recommend the best business databases to search for your research topic
  • Answer your questions via email, phone or in-person
  • Meet with you individually or in groups to hash out your topic or discuss business research strategies
  • Tell you about library services

For faculty, I can:

  • Track down tricky citations
  • Introduce your students to research tools and strategies via a workshop
  • Create a webpage tailored to your class assignment
  • Discuss ways to best incorporate research skills and library materials into your class assignments
  • Meet with your students individually or in groups
  • Purchase books and other material needed for your research
  • Tell you about new library services
  • Communicate the department's concerns and information needs on to others in the Libraries
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip