This is the "Interior Design Main Page" page of the "Interior Design" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Interior Design  

Last Updated: Nov 19, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/interiordesign Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Interior Design Main Page Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Good Reads

Dohr, J. H., & Portillo, M. (2011). Design thinking for interiors: Inquiry + experience + impact.  Hoboken N.J.: J. Wiley. (eBook)

Take a holistic approach to contemporary interior design.

The interior design process is changing. In order to create truly engaging work, designers are developing a deeper and broader understanding of how design theory, research, and existing practice can help them make better decisions. This inquiry provides answers on how design is experienced, and its impact over time.

At the same time, the profession is becoming increasingly collaborative. Designers today work closely with other professionals—such as architects, landscape designers, product designers, anthropologists, and business consultants—in new ways, engaging an expanding network of experts in the design process more than ever before.

Written by renowned scholars Joy Dohr and Margaret Portillo, the book brings interior design theory and research to life utilizing a narrative inquiry approach that offers highly accessible coverage of the interior design world as it exists today. By looking at real-life stories that demonstrate what makes a memorable design, coupled with photographs and drawings to further illustrate these concepts, this book is a must-read for anyone interested in keeping abreast of interior design in the twenty-first century. (publisher's website)

 

Libraries' Interfaces Are Changing

The WSU LIbraries is in the process of simplifying its webpages and changing its core software in preparation for a move to shared integrated library system (SILS) at the end of 2013.  Because recent LibQual+ results revealed that library users found the present Libraries' web interfaces difficult to use and wanted easier, more intuitive access tools, the new changes should resonate with many who are reading this.  Shared with the other  37-members of the ORBIS Cascade Alliance (our Summit partners), the new system promises to provide students and faculty with more resources easily, resulting in more efficient research and better results.  

Stay tuned for further details..... 

WSU WorldCat

WSU WorldCat, the online discovery engine for the WSU Libraries, allows users to search local, regional, and faraway collections for books, journals, and other media wherever they may be housed.  It includes items housed at the "Washington State University Libraries," the "Summit Libraries" (our regional consortium of Washington and Oregon libraries), and the "WorldCat Libraries."  Because users can search for these items all at one time, WSU WorldCat is truly one-stop shopping! Simply follow the record down the page and click on the appropriate buttons!

Because WSU WorldCat contains several article databases that may or may be useful in a particular search, WSU WorldCat may be used as an article-level discovery tool. However, a search of WSU WorldCat should never be viewed as a substitute for the architecture databases identified in this guide as key resources. When using WSU WorldCat, users should pay particular attention to the limiting options available down the left-hand sidebar each item records where search results may be limited by Databases or Format, or further Refined by Author, Year, Language, Content, Audience, or Topic.  These options help users explore the many types of items available through WorldCat.   

WSU WorldCat originates from a central generic search box on the Libraries' homepage. Please note however that there is a link below the search box labelled "Advanced Search" for patrons who want a more tailored version of the article indexes in the database.  

Here is a link to the WSU Libraries' homepage: 

GRIFFIN Catalog

The Libraries' old catalog, GRIFFIN, is still being updated and available for searching.  GRIFFIN offers users a few notable advantages including easy known-item searching (either we have something or we don't), keyword searching that may be limited to location (e.g., WSU Owen Reference), course reserve searching including online course reserves, and an embedded stack chart for the Holland and Terrell Libraries.  

Here is a link directly to the GRIFFIN catalog:

 

Patricia Gray, Erickson Project

 

Welcome!

I hope everyone finds these resources to be valuable in the exploration of this topic.  This semester I am spending the from lunch hour from 11am-1pm each Wednesday helping students at the Owen Science Library.  Otherwise, I am available for classes and private research consultations. My contact information is below. Feel free to contact me for further assistance. 

Subject Profile

Profile Image
Christy Zlatos
Contact Info
Terrell Library, Room 120L
Pullman, WA 99164-5610

Office Phone: (509) 335-4536
Send Email
 

Librarian Song

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip