This is the "Home" page of the "Information Systems" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information Systems   Tags: information_systems, management_information_systems, mis  

Last Updated: Jan 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/informationsystems Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What I Can Do for You

For students, I can:

  • Recommend the best business databases to search for your research topic
  • Answer your questions via email, phone or in-person
  • Meet with you individually or in groups to hash out your topic or discuss business research strategies
  • Tell you about library services

For faculty, I can:

  • Track down tricky citations
  • Introduce your students to research tools and strategies via a workshop
  • Create a webpage tailored to your class assignment
  • Discuss ways to best incorporate research skills and library materials into your class assignments
  • Meet with your students individually or in groups
  • Purchase books and other material needed for your research
  • Tell you about new library services
  • Communicate the department's concerns and information needs on to others in the Libraries
 

Databases, Indexes, Specialized Resources

Business Source Complete.  A definitive scholarly business database, providing an extensive collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts are provided for the most important scholarly business journals back to the early 20th Century.

Inspec. Provides abstracts and citations to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing and production engineering from 1898-present.

EI Compendex. The major index to the engineering literature which provides references and abstracts to over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports from 1884-present.

PsycINFO.  Index with summaries of citations to articles in over 1,300 psychology research journals with coverage back to 1900.

ACM Digital Library. Full text of every journal article, conference proceeding and newsletter ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery.

Sociological Abstracts.  Citations with abstracts to articles on all aspects of sociology, social work, and other social sciences since 1963.

Communication & Mass Media Complete.  Comprehensive journal index with full- terxt articles covering the communications and mass media fields.

Education Full Text. This full-text source of education scholarship provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more.

Academic Search Complete.  A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals.

Lexis Nexis Academic.  Provides access to full text information from newspapers, magazines, company annual reports, and more, as well as legal information.

Web of Science.  Includes Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation Indexes.  This multidisciplinary index provides topic, author, and cited reference search functions.  Tracks the number of times a work has been cited since its publication.

Journal Citation Reports.  Resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide.

 

Electronic Reference Books

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Computing - Valerie Illingworth (Editor); Ian Pyle (Editor); John Daintith (Editor)
ISBN: 0198608772
Publication Date: 2005
Now in its fifth edition, this bestselling dictionary has been fully revised by a team of computer specialists, making it the most up-to-date dictionary of computing available. It provides comprehensive coverage of computer applications in industry, the office, science, education, and the home, and is an ideal reference book for students, teachers, professionals, and all computer users.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Communities of Practice in Information and Knowledge Management - Elayne Coakes (Editor); Steve Clarke (Editor)
ISBN: 1591405564
Publication Date: 2005
Numerous research contributions from leading scholars from all over the world on all aspects of communities of practice in information and knowledge management. - Comprehensive coverage of each specific topic, highlighting recent and future trends and describing the latest advances. - A compendium of terms, definitions and explanations of concepts, processes and acronyms written by eminent international experts.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Data Warehousing and Mining - John Wang (Editor)
ISBN: 1591405572
Publication Date: 2005
Provides a comprehensive, critical and descriptive examination of concepts, issues, trends, and challenges in this rapidly expanding field of data warehousing and mining (DWM). This encyclopedia consists of more than 350 contributors from 32 countries, 1,300 terms and definitions, and more than 3,200 references.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Database Technologies and Applications - Laura C. Rivero (Editor); Jorge H. Doorn (Editor); Viviana Ferraggine (Editor)
ISBN: 1591405602
Publication Date: 2005
A wide-ranging collection of diverse coverage of topics related to database concepts, technologies, and applications. This encyclopedia provides an overview of the state-of-the-art of classical subjects and has contributions from over 175 international researchers from 33 countries, more than 970 terms and definitions and over 2,400 references.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Gender and Information Technology - Eileen M. Trauth (Editor)
ISBN: 1591408164
Publication Date: 2006
This two volume set includes 213 entries with over 4,700 references to additional works on gender and information technology.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology - Mehdi Khosrow-Pour (Editor)
ISBN: 9781605660264
Publication Date: 2008
The Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology, Second Edition, is a compendium of 752 authoritative, research-based entries that, together, define the contemporary state of knowledge on technology and its organizational, managerial, behavioral, and social implications.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management - David G. Schwartz
ISBN: 1591405742
Publication Date: 2005
Provides a broad basis for understanding the issues, technologies, theories, applications, opportunities, and challenges being faced by researchers and organizations today in their quest for knowledge management. Over 170 contributors from 23 countries have conferred their expertise to this publication with 940 definitions and more than 3,600 references.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Virtual Communities and Technologies - Subhasish Dasgupta (Editor)
ISBN: 1591405637
Publication Date: 2005
Numerous contributions from known international scholars provide comprehensive coverage of theories and concepts of virtual communities with example of best practices and case studies. Organized by titles and indexed by authors and topics, making it a convenient method of reference for readers.

 

Print Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction - Claude Ghaoui (Editor)
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference QA76.9.H85 E52 2006
ISBN: 1591405629
Publication Date: 2005
This encyclopedia covers a wide range of HCI related topics such as concepts, design, usability, evaluation, innovations, and applications of HCI in organizations around the globe. Over 120 contributors and advisors from around the world have conferred their expertise to this publication with over 830 key terms and definitions as well as more than 2,600 references.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Computers and Computer History - Raul Rojas (Editor)
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference QA76.15 .E51 2001
ISBN: 1579582354
Publication Date: 2001
Provides a complete A-to-Z reference guide to computers, their development, and their usage in today's world. Beginning with "Abacus," this two-volume set provides 600 entries in over 900 pages of facts, definitions, biographies, histories, and explanations of a remarkable variety of computer-related subjects.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Information Ethics and Security - Marian Quigley
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HM851 .E555 2008
ISBN: 9781591409878
Publication Date: 2007
"This book is a comprehensive reference source on ethical and security issues relating to the latest technologies. It covers a wide range of themes, including topics such as computer crime, information warfare, privacy, surveillance, intellectual property and education.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Cyber Behavior - Zheng Yan (Editor)
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference BF637.C45 .E53 2010
ISBN: 9781466603158
Publication Date: 2012
Cyber behavior, such as e-learning, e-voting, e-shopping, e-privacy, and e-therapy, could be broadly considered as any physical, social, or mental activities that humans engage in interacting with the Internet and that can be objectively observed in cyber space. This encyclopedia aims to synthesize the scientific knowledge of cyber behavior, examined in a wide variety of disciplines such as psychology, sociology, economics, education, communications, criminology, political science, information science, technology, medicine, law, and business.

Cover Art
Handbook of Information Security - Hossein Bidgoli
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference TK5105.59 .H35 2006
ISBN: 0471648337
Publication Date: 2005
A 3-volume handbook that offers coverage of both established and cutting-edge theories and developments on information and computer security.The text contains 207 articles from over 200 leading experts, providing the benchmark resource for information security, network security, information privacy, and information warfare.

Business and Economics Librarian

Profile Image
Mary Gilles
Spring Reference Desk Hours: Monday, 10am-12pm; Tuesday, 3:00pm-5:00pm. Spring Office Hours: Tuesday, 1:00pm-3:00pm, Wednesday, 3:00pm-5:00pm, or by appointment.
Logo - Skype
Contact Info
Terrell Library 120E
Office Phone: 509-335-8740
Fax: 509-335-6721
Skype Name mary.gilles47
Send Email
 

Library Catalog

WSU Libraries new shared library management service.  With Search IT patrons can now use a single search box to find journals, books, articles, and digitized collections. They can also access some 9 million titles and 26 million resources from 36 other higher education institutions.  Search IT replaces Griffin and WSU WorldCat.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip