Key Databases
Below are the most useful databases to explore the richness of the journal literature in higher education.
WSU WorldCat
WSU WorldCat, the new online catalog for the WSU Libraries, allows users to search local, regional, and faraway collections for books, journals, and other media wherever they may be housed. It includes items housed at the "Washington State University Libraries," the "Summit Libraries" (our regional consortium of Washington and Oregon libraries), and the "WorldCat Libraries." Because users can search for these items all at one time, WSU WorldCat is truly one-stop shopping! Simply follow the record down the page and click on the appropriate buttons!
Because WSU WorldCat contains several article databases that may or may be useful in a particular search, WSU WorldCat may be used as an article-level discovery tool. However, a search of WSU WorldCat should never be viewed as a substitute for the higher education databases identified in this guide as key resources. When using WSU WorldCat, users should pay particular attention to the limiting options available down the left-hand sidebar each item records where search results may be limited by Databases or Format, or further Refined by Author, Year, Language, Content, Audience, or Topic. These options help users explore the many types of items available through WorldCat.
WSU WorldCat originates from a central generic search box on the Libraries' homepage. Please note however that there is a link below the search box labelled "Advanced Search" for patrons who want a more tailored version of the article indexes in the database.
Here is a link to the WSU Libraries' homepage:
GRIFFIN Catalog
The Libraries' old catalog, GRIFFIN, is still being updated and available for searching. GRIFFIN offers users a few notable advantages including easy known-item searching (either we have something or we don't), keyword searching that may be limited to location (e.g., WSU Holland), course reserve searching including online course reserves, and an embedded stack chart for the Holland and Terrell Libraries.
Here is a link directly to the GRIFFIN catalog:
Welcome!
I hope everyone finds these resources to be valuable in the exploration of this topic. I am available for classes and private research consultations. My contact information is below. Feel free to contact me for further assistance.
Subject Profile
Contact Info Terrell Library, Room 120L Pullman, WA 99164-5610 Office Phone: (509) 335-4536 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
