This is the "Home" page of the "Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies   Tags: gender, gender_studies, sexuality, women, womens_studies  

Last Updated: Feb 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/gendersexualitywomensstudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

New Resources/Services

  • No More Griffin/WSU WorldCat - Now it's Search It
    For more information:
    http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/socscisearchit Note: All Griffin/WSU WorldCat links on this page are now dead; I will update as soon as I can!
  • The Proxy Bookmarklet
    Have you ever found something on the Web that you knew was available through the Libraries, but it was too much of a pain to log into the Libraries site and find it? Now we have a bookmarklet that you can add to your browser button bar so that you can log in via the Libraries and get immediate access (most of the time, at least!)
  • BrowZine ("brow-zeen")
    Do you have an iPad or Android tablet ((Google Nexus, Samsung Galaxy, or Kindle Fire HD running Ice Cream Sandwich)? You might be interested in the Libraries new tablet browsing/discovery service, BrowZine.
 

Featured Books

Cover Art
Mexican Women and the Other Side of Immigration: Engendering Transnational Ties - Luz María Gordillo
Call Number: F574.D49 M514 2010 (Electronic resource)
ISBN: 0292722036

Cover Art
This Land was Mexican Once - Linda Heidenreich
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0292716338
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
In-Between Bodies - Mary K. Bloodsworth-Lugo
Call Number: HQ1075 .B58 2007
ISBN: 0791472213
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
Indiscretions: At the Intersection of Queer and Postcolonial Theory - Murat Ayedemir
Call Number: HQ76.25 .I53 2011 (Electronic resource)
ISBN: 9042031875
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Animating Difference - C. Richard King; Carmen R. Lugo-Lugo; Mary K. Bloodsworth-Lugo
Call Number: HM1091 .K56 2010
ISBN: 0742560813
Publication Date: 2010


Cover Art
A New Kind of Containment - Carmen R. Lugo-Lugo; Mary K. Bloodsworth-Lugo
Call Number: HN65 .N49 2009 (Electronic resource)
ISBN: 9042025239
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Asian American Women - Linda Trinh Vo; Marian Sciachitano
Call Number: E184.A75 A8425
ISBN: 0803296274
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
Asian America.Net - Rachel C. Lee (Editor); Sau-Ling Cynthia Wong (Editor)
Call Number: T173.8 .A815 2003
ISBN: 0415965594
Publication Date: 2003

 

Library News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies

Collection Development Policy

Library Catalog

  • Search It: A catalog that allows users to borrow books owned by all publicly supported colleges and universities in Washington State and Oregon, and worldwide.  WSU WorldCat also provides access to several journal articles.
 

Reference Books

The following list is a sample of specialized encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference books that can be found in Holland/New Library's reference section. The reference collection is on the 1st floor behind the reference desk.

Cover Art
Latinas in the United States - Vicki L. Ruíz (Editor); Virginia Sánchez Korrol (Editor)
Call Number: Ref E184.S75 L35
ISBN: 0253346800
Publication Date: 2006

Cover Art
Black Women in America - Darlene Clark Hine
Call Number: Ref E185.86 .B542 2005
ISBN: 9780195156775
Encyclopedia of African American women

Cover Art
Penguin atlas of women in the world - Joni Seager
Call Number: Ref G1046.E1 S4 2009
ISBN: 0143114514
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American Women in Business: from Colonial Times to the Present - Carol Krismann
Call Number: Ref HD6054.4.U6 K753 2004
ISBN: 0313327572
Publication Date: 2004

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender - Judith Worell (Editor)
Call Number: Ref HQ1115 .E53 2001
ISBN: 0122272455
Publication Date: 2001

Cover Art
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide - Lynn Walter (Editor-In-Chief); Amy Lind; Manisha Desai; Cheryl Toronto Kalny; Bahira Sherif-Trask; Aili Mari Tripp
Call Number: Ref HQ1115 .G74 2003
ISBN: 0313327874
Publication Date: 2003
vol 1: Asia and Oceania
vol 2: Central and South America
vol 3: Europe
vol 4: The Middle East and North Africa
vol 5: North America and the Caribbean
vol 6: Sub-Saharan Africa

Cover Art
Chronology of Women's History - Kirstin Olsen
Call Number: Ref HQ1121 .O47 1994
ISBN: 0313288038

Cover Art
World's women, 2000 : trends and statistics. - United Nations.
Call Number: Ref HQ1154 .W95 2000
ISBN: 9211614287

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures - Suad Joseph
Call Number: Ref HQ1170 .E53
ISBN: 9789004132474

Cover Art
Feminism - Judith Harlan
Call Number: Ref HQ1410 .H365
ISBN: 0874368944
Publication Date: 1998

Cover Art
A History of Women in the United States - Doris Weatherford (Editor)
Call Number: Ref HQ1410 .H58 2004
ISBN: 071725805X
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
Statistical Handbook on Women in America - Cynthia M. Taeuber
Call Number: Ref HQ1420 .T34 1996
ISBN: 1573560057
Publication Date: 1996

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender - Carol R. Ember (Editor); Melvin Ember (Editor)
Call Number: Ref HQ16 .E53 2004
ISBN: 030647770X
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
Lesbian histories and cultures : an encyclopedia - Bonnie Zimmerman
Call Number: Ref HQ75.5 .L4395 2000
ISBN: 0815319207

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society - Jodi A. O'Brien (Editor)
Call Number: Terrell HQ1115 .E54 2009
ISBN: 1412909163
Publication Date: 2009
2 vol. set


Cover Art
A companion to gender history - Teresa A Meade; Merry E Wiesner
Call Number: HQ1075 .C655 2004
ISBN: 0631223932
From WSU WorldCat "Thematic essays on gender issues in world history"

Cover Art
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History - Bonnie G. Smith (Editor)
Call Number: HQ1121 .O93 2008 (Electronic resource)
ISBN: 0195337867
Publication Date: 2008


 

Important Announcement: New Catalog Coming in December

The WSU Libraries are preparing to implement a major change over the Winter Break with the implementation of a new online catalog, which will go by the name of Search It. Hopefully this message will provide you with information about how the change to Search It will affect you as library users, but if you have any questions at any point, I will be happy to respond via email, visit your office, provide group overview sessions, whichever is easiest for you. In addition, all of my library guides (http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/profile/ecnicol) will be updated to include information on searching and using Search It by the end of December.

Our current online catalogs, Griffin and WSU WorldCat, are both going away, and unfortunately there won’t be an overlap period where we have access to both the new Search It and these more familiar tools. There will be several changes to the look and feel of the catalog, but two of the most pertinent are the following:

  • You will notice when you access Search It that you will be prompted for your WSU Net ID – there is a guest option, but it provides limited access.
  • Search It integrates the old “Find it @WSU” options in a more streamlined way, so you will be able to easily access full text or make an interlibrary loan request for any item within your result list with less clicking and fewer pop-up windows.

Many features will stay the same. You will still be able to browse WSU Libraries-owned books by call number, author, title, or subject heading, and there will still be options to save records and create search/alert queries on your personal e-Shelf. You will also still be able to filter results by format, author, type of publication, etc.

Important: Griffin and WSU WorldCat hyperlinks will no longer work in Search It, so if you have any in your syllabi or other documents/webpages, you will need to change them once the new system is active (mid-December).  If you have a WSU WorldCat account you will still be able to see your saved items if you log in to Open WorldCat (www.worldcat.org), but saved lists and saved searches will not transfer to Search It. If you have saved your reading history in Griffin, you may want to export it so that you still have access to it once Griffin goes away. I am happy to help with any of this.

This is a big change for us, and is driven by some important long-term goals. In addition to the advantage of no longer paying for two catalog systems, soon all of the libraries in our Orbis-Cascade Consortium (Summit) will share the same catalog. Data will be shared and stored in ways that will increase back-end efficiency and provide more opportunities for collaborative projects that will make better use of our collections budgets and provide better services to our users. The beginning may be rocky (and once you try the new catalog, please let me know if you find parts of it annoying, confusing, missing, or clunky so I can make sure your feedback is heard and considered as we “tweak” Search It) but we hope that you will soon be seeing some solid benefits from the change.

 

More information:

FAQ http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/search_it

Overview article: http://libraries.wsu.edu/content/search-it-coming-end-december

Questions or book requests? Please ask me!

Profile Image
Erica Carlson Nicol
Contact Info
Terrell Library 120 K
Office Phone: 335-8614
Send Email
 
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip