Guide to the Literature of Art History 2
Call Number: Hol Ref N380 .M37 2005
A supplement to the 1980 title of the same name, this reference contains bibliographic information for a selection of titles in art history. The entries include annotation, which is often taken from the preface or introduction of the book described, along with an additional brief description by the authors and a list of the table of contents. Sections are included on bibliography, directories, sales records, visual resources, dictionaries and encyclopedias, iconography, sources and documents, histories and handbooks, and architecture. There are also sections for each artistic media. New chapters have been added that cover patronage, collecting, preservation law, and other issues of cultural heritage. Monographs on artists are not included, as these are the subject of other reference works. Works are included up to 1998 and feature titles in languages other than English.
Dictionary of Art
Call Number: Hol Ref N31 .D5 1996
With over 6,000 contributors from 12 countries, this work provides authoritative and comprehensive global coverage of both art and cultural studies, and is a unique guide to all the visual arts, including painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts. Features unparalleled coverage of Africa, Southeast Asia, Central Asia and Mongolia, China, India, the Islamic world, Japan, Korea, Native North America, Pacific and Aboriginal Australia, Pre-Columbian America, Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece, the Ancient Near East, and Ancient Rome. Also examines important art forms and key issues of design, taste, function, and patronage. See Grove Art Online, above.
Dictionary of Artists
Call Number: Hol Ref N40 .B4713 2006
Provides both the amateur and the professional with important factual information about almost any painter, sculptor, engraver or draughtsman of all countries and schools, from Antiquity to the present day. Gives not only biographical data, but also a general presentation of an artist's work, as well as a selection of bibliographical references, museum listings, graphics (including artist signatures, monograms and stamps of sale) and auction records. Includes over 170,000 entries, comprising over 20,000 pages in 14 volumes. Older entries have been updated and expanded, over 3,000 entries have been completely rewritten, and over 2,000 new entries have been added.
The Sculpture Reference Illustrated: Contemporary Techniques, Terms, Tools, Materials, and Sculpture
Call Number: Hol Ref NB1170 .W55 2005
With 1,187 color images representing 288 contemporary sculptors, this is the most comprehensive and up-to-date single volume sculpture reference available. All aspects of sculpture are alphabetically arranged, visually demonstrated, and easily readable. The design and multitude of color images make this book easily understood and enjoyed by all levels of readers. Measurements are in English and metric terms.
The Book of Symbols: Reflections on Archetypal Images
Call Number: Hol Ref AZ108 .B66 2010
Includes almost 800 full-color images along with roughly 350 essays that examine a given symbol's psychic background and how it evokes psychic processes and dynamics. Etymological roots, the play of opposites, paradox and shadow, the ways in which diverse cultures have engaged a symbolic image—all these aspects are treated in a variety of cultural contexts.
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
Call Number: Hol Ref N5610 .G76 2007
Includes all subject areas in the classical arts, including philosophers, rulers, writers and artists, architecture, ceramics, sculpture, and more. Arranged alphabetically, this two-volume set contains over 800 entries tracing the development of the art forms in classical civilizations such as ancient Greece and Rome. Illustrated with 400 halftones, maps and line drawings, and 32 color plates.
The Encyclopedia of Italian Renaissance and Mannerist Art
Call Number: Hol Ref N6370 .E53 1999
Beginning with transitional Late Gothic artists such as Giotto, this two-volume set traces the evolution of the new modes of artistic expression, from scientific naturalism and the development of linear perspective to the exploration of new secular themes derived from Classical literature and mythology. Besides biographies on all types of artists -- including painters, illuminators, sculptors, and architects to printmakers and maiolica designers, patrons, and collectors -- the set also has entries on styles, important art forms, and cities as well in-depth surveys of all the fine and decorative art forms in Italy during the Renaissance and Mannerist periods.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art
Call Number: Hol Ref N6370 .G76 2009
Deals with all aspects of Northern Renaissance art ranging from artists, architecture, and patrons to the cities and centers of production vital to the flourishing of art in this period. Has more than 500 illustrations, maps, drawings, diagrams, and color plates. Nearly 1,700 entries on all aspects of Renaissance art across Northern Europe, including dozens of new entries and revised articles well as a fully updated bibliography. Features art historical and cultural information about Northern Renaissance artists, artisans, architects, craftsmen, philosophers, rulers, countries, cities, centers of production, painting, sculpture, jewelry, theory, criticism, historiography, collecting, and patronage.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture (3 vols.)
Call Number: Hol Ref N6260 .G75 2009
Comprehensive reference work with over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spanning over a thousand years of history. Entries provide in-depth art historical and cultural information about dynasties, art forms, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. In addition, over 500 illustrations of sculpture, mosaic, painting, ceramics, architecture, metalwork and calligraphy illuminate the rich artistic tradition of the Islamic world.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
Call Number: Hol Ref NK28 .G76 2006
Includes more than 600 illustrations and dozens of color photographs, with extensive cross-references and an up-to-date bibliography.
Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art
Call Number: Hol Ref N8510 .G76 2008
Comprehensive, up-to-date information on all aspects of this fundamental area of the visual arts. In a convenient one-volume format, this encyclopedia provides fascinating historical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art.
Thesaurus Cultus et Rituum Antiquorum (ThesCRA)
Call Number: Hol Ref BL727 .T44 2004
Comprehensive multi-volume reference set on all known aspects of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman cults and rituals. from the period from Homeric times (1000 B.C.) to late Roman times (A.D. 400). Includes the dynamic elements of cult: divination; prayer, gestures, and acts of prayer; gestures and acts of veneration; oaths; maledictions; profanation; magic; and consecration and foundation rites. Also describes the static elements of cult—cult places and their depictions in antiquity and the personnel of cults. Entries list the epigraphical and literary sources cited and reference ancient iconographical documents related to the topic.
Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC)
Call Number: Hol Ref N7760 .L49 1981
Comprehensive study of the iconographic representations of ancient myths and legends from Classical Mythology. Articles in English, French, German, or Italian.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
Call Number: Hol Ref DE5 .O9 2003
In over 6,200 entries, provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world. Written by the very best of classical scholars from all over the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity. See eBook version above.
Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Independents and Underground Classics (3 Vols.)
Call Number: Hol Ref PN6725 .C754 2012
Provides in-depth coverage for over 215 of the most popular and studied graphic novels. These short essays look beyond the "pop culture" aspects of the medium to show the wide range of literary themes and artistic styles that are used to convey beliefs and conflicts that are as old as the stories told in ancient civilization. Entries arranged alphabetically, and begin with full ready reference top matter, including the title or subtitle, the primary author or authors, the illustrators who contributed to the work, the first serial and book publication, the publisher, the number of pages, the ISBN, and the genre and/or subgenre.
Encyclopedia of World Art
Call Number: Hol Ref N31 .E533
Comprehensive treatment of fines arts throughout history and across geographical regions. Includes biographical information, indexes, and references to supplementary reading.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Call Number: Hol Ref BH56 .E53 1998
Surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society--from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. Featuring 600 original articles by distinguished scholars from many fields and countries, it is a comprehensive survey of majorconcepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts--from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.
The Oxford Handbook of Aesthetics
Call Number: Hol Ref BH56 .O94 2003
A comprehensive guide on the theory, application, history, and future of aesthetics in philosophical and artistic contexts.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Call Number: Hol Ref CB9 .N49 2005
A six-volume survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. See eBook above.
Call Number: Hol Ref N7740 .S54
Thematic dictionary of symbolic images, or symbols, defined as "something that a particular culture considers to mean something else." Each entry features a blue line drawing of the symbol in a generalized pictographic style, with global coverage.
Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern and Western Art
Call Number: Hol Ref N7740 .H34x 1994
Examines the symbolism of everyday objects among various ancient, classical, eastern, and western civilizations. Divided into six broad subject categories, including abstract signs, animals, artifacts, earth and sky, human body and dress, and plants. Another section focuses on collective symbols that have multiple attributes and meanings. Entries tie specific symbols to various beliefs and social customs or religious worship.
Book Review Index (1965-2003)
Call Number: Hol Ref Z1035.A1 B6
Provides quick access to reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic and professional interests. Coverage and citations for both newly published and older materials
Book Review Digest (1905 - 2004)
Call Number: Hol Ref Z1219 .C96
Cites and provides excerpts of reviews of current English-language fiction and nonfiction books for children and adults. An abstract of each book is also provided. Periodical coverage includes leading magazines from the United States, Canada, and Great Britain.
Art Index (1929 - 2004)
Call Number: N1 .A5x*
Indexes articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Subjects include: Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Computers in Art, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, and Video. *Note: these indexes are available in circulating collection.