This is the "Home" page of the "Finance, Real Estate, & Insurance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance, Real Estate, & Insurance   Tags: banks_and_banking, finance, insurance, real_estate  

Last Updated: Jan 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/finance Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Internet Links

News/General

Bloomberg. General news and in-depth financial market, company and industry information.

Business Week

CNNfn. General and market-related news.

Financial Times. Domestic and international financial news.

Hoover's Online. Company and industry information. A more complete version of Hoover's is available through Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.

Investopedia. Definitions of financial market terms.

The Standard. News focusing on "the Internet economy."

Museum of American Finance

Yahoo Finance. Free company, industry, stock and personal finance information.

Google Finance.  Get real-time stock quotes & charts, financial news, currency conversions, or track your portfolio.

Markets

Big Charts. Historical stock prices.

New York Stock Exchange

NASDAQ

CME Group. Comprised of five desginated contract markets: CME (Chicago merchantile Exchange), CBOT (Chicago Board of Trade), NYMEX (New York Merchantile Exchange), COMEX (Commodity Exchange), KCBT (Kansas City Board of Trade).

Bonds Online. Credit markets news and information, covering a wide variety of fixed-income securities topics.

Dow Jones Indexes

Mutual Funds

Morningstar. Mutual fund facts and commentary.

ICI Mutual Fund Connection. Published by the Investment Company Institute. Comprehensive source of mutual fund information.

Financial Market Regulatory Agencies

Securities and Exchange Commission

Federal Reserve Board of Governors

Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA). Securities industry self-regulatory organization. In 2007, the National Association of Securities Dealers merged with the New York Stock Exchange's regulation committee to form FINRA.

Commodity Futures Trading Commission : Federal regulatory agency for futures markets.

Banks and Banking (U.S.)

American Bankers' Association. Association for all types of banking institutions.

Bankrate.com. Information about rates for various loan and deposit products.

Office of the Comptroller of the Currency. Primary mission is to charter, regulate, and supervise all national banks and federal savings associations.

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. In addition to insuring deposits, this agency is charged with promoting "sound banking practices."

Cassidi. St. Louis Federal Reserve.  Competitive analysis and structure source instrument for depository institutions.

 

 

 

 

Databases, Indexes, Specialized Resources

Best's Insurance Reports. Life/Health. U.S & Canada.  Holland and Terrell Reference CD-ROM Workstation.  Also available in print; Holland and Terrell Reference HG8941 B482.  Provides in-depth reports on thousands of health/life insurers, reinsurers, and groups, plus information on retired companies.

Best's Insurance Reports.  Property/Casualty. U.S. & Canada. Holland and Terrell Reference CD-ROM Workstation.  Also available in print; Holland and Terrell Reference HG9655 B5.  Provides in-depth reports on thousands of property/casualty insurers, reinsurers, and groups, plus information on retired companies.

Business Source Complete. A definitive scholarly business database, providing an extensive collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts are provided for the most important scholarly business journals back to the early 20th Century.

EconLit. Provides citations and abstracts to journal articles, working papers, and books dealing with financial markets and risk, banks, investment decisions, housing and real estate, insurance, government regulations and much more.

eStatement Studies.  RMA.  Covers approximately 350 U.S. industries.  Nineteen of the most widely used ratios in the financial services industry accompany the balance sheet  and income statement information, including various types of liquidity, coverage, leverage, and operating ratios.  Gives both current and historical data, arranged by NAICS code.

IBISWorld.  Industry research reports for over 700 U.S. industries, at the 5-digit NAICS.

Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides company information and full-text articles from thousands of news, business, and trade publications.

 

Electronic Reference Books

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Finance and Banking - Jonathan Law (Editor); John Smullen (Editor)
ISBN: 0199229740
Publication Date: 2008
With over 5,100 entries on all aspects of finance and banking, the dictionary defines terms from personal and international finance--including money markets, private investments and borrowing, foreign exchanges, and public and government finance--and now offers expanded coverage of central banking, monetary policy, and financial institutions.

Cover Art
Concise Encyclopedia of Investing - Darren W. Oglesby
ISBN: 9780789023438
Publication Date: 2006
Practical information for investing newcomers! Presents not only simple, brief explanations of various investing terms and concepts, but also a short discussion on each as to how it applies in everyday life. The Concise Encyclopedia of Investing clears the mysteries behind the foundations of investing, giving newbies solid information they can use to explore investment possibilities.

 

Print Reference Books

The Value Line Investment Survey.  Holland and Terrell Reference HG4501 V26        Regularly updated resource that evaluates approximately 1,700 of the most actively traded U.S. exchange-listed stocks, drawn from over 90 industry sectors and representing about 95% of total U.S. stock market capitalization.

How the Stock Market Works.  Holland and Terrell Reference HG4551 D29 2001

How the Bond Market Works.  Holland and Terrell Reference HG4651 H68 1997 

Cover Art
Dictionary of Insurance Terms - Harvey W. Rubin
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HG8025 .R83 2000
ISBN: 0764112627
Publication Date: 2000
Defines more than 4,200 insurance terms that should be understood by agents, brokers, actuaries, underwriters, personnel professionals dealing with employee-benefit programs, and consumers who need to understand the insurance policies they plan to buy. Terminology covers life, health, property, and casualty insurance, as well as retirement plans.

Cover Art
Prentice Hall Dictionary of Real Estate - Barbara Cox; Jerry V. Cox; David Silver-Westrick
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HD1365 .C69 2001
ISBN: 0130208353
Publication Date: 2000

The Dictionary of Real Estate Appraisal - Appraisal Institute Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HD1387 .D435 2002
ISBN: 0922154724
Publication Date: 2002

Cover Art
Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms - John Downes; Jordan Elliot Goodman
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HG151 .D69 2006
ISBN: 0764134167
Publication Date: 2006
More than 5,000 terms related to stocks, bonds, mutual funds, banking, tax laws, and transactions in the various financial markets are presented alphabetically with descriptions. Readers will also find a helpful list of financial abbreviations and acronyms, as well as illustrative diagrams and charts.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Banking Terms - Thomas P. Fitch
Call Number: Holland and Terrell HG151 .F57 2006
ISBN: 0764132636
Publication Date: 2006
More than 3,000 terms are defined in this newly updated edition as they relate to banking, banking practices, laws, and regulations.

Capital Markets Handbook - John C. Burch; Bruce S. Foerster
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference KF1070 .C37 2003
ISBN: 0735530610
Publication Date: 2002
Covers the latest developments in securities legislation, and all aspects of documentation, underwriting, pricing, distribution, settlement, immediate aftermarket trading of new issues, information, a glossary, a bibliography, and appendices containing the full text of the primary statutes and regulations. New To The 4th Edition: The Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, which in part amends the '33 and '34 Acts. NASD Rule 2711 and NYSE Rule 472, limiting communications between analysts and investment bankers about new issue transactions.

The Appraisal of Real Estate - Appraisal Institute (U.S.) Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HD1387 .A663 2008
ISBN: 9780922154982
Publication Date: 2008

Business and Economics Librarian

Profile Image
Mary Gilles
Spring Reference Desk Hours: Monday, 10am-12pm; Tuesday, 3:00pm-5:00pm. Spring Office Hours: Tuesday, 1:00pm-3:00pm, Wednesday, 3:00pm-5:00pm, or by appointment.
Logo - Skype
Contact Info
Terrell Library 120E
Office Phone: 509-335-8740
Fax: 509-335-6721
Skype Name mary.gilles47
Send Email
 

Library Catalog

WSU Libraries new shared library management service.  With Search IT patrons can now use a single search box to find journals, books, articles, and digitized collections. They can also access some 9 million titles and 26 million resources from 36 other higher education institutions.  Search IT replaces Griffin and WSU WorldCat.

 

What I Can Do for You

For students, I can:

  • Recommend the best business databases to search for your research topic
  • Answer your questions via email, phone or in-person
  • Meet with you individually or in groups to hash out your topic or discuss business research strategies
  • Tell you about library services

For faculty, I can:

  • Track down tricky citations
  • Introduce your students to research tools and strategies via a workshop
  • Create a webpage tailored to your class assignment
  • Discuss ways to best incorporate research skills and library materials into your class assignments
  • Meet with your students individually or in groups
  • Purchase books and other material needed for your research
  • Tell you about new library services
  • Communicate the department's concerns and information needs on to others in the Libraries
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip