This is the "Home" page of the "Economic Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Economic Sciences   Tags: agricultural economics, economics, resource economics  

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/economics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Internet Links

Data

Alfred: Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data. Retrieves vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history.

American Time Use Survey. Provides statistics and graphical data on the amount of time people in the U.S. spend on various activities.

Beige Book.  Federal Reserve Board of Governors.  A summary of commentary on economic conditions by Federal Reserve districts, published 8 times a year.

Bureau of Economic Analysis, United States Department of Commerce. National and international accounts statistics.

Bureau of Labor Statistics Databases & Tables. Provides access to data from the BLS including inflation and prices, employment, unemployment, pay and benefits, productivity, and more.

Business Dynamics Statistics (BDS): Includes measures of establishment openings and closings, firm startups, job creations and destruction by firm size, age, and industrial sector, and several other statistics on business dynamics; provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Business Employment Dynamics. Statistics generated from the Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages, or ES-202, program, these quarterly data series consist of gross job gains and gross job losses statistics from 1992 forward.

CASSIDI. St. Louis Federal Reserve.  Provides banking competitive analysis information for the United States; institution and market information and "what if" analysis.

Data & Statistics. USA.gov.  Provides links to federal government collected data, by topic.

DATA.gov. U.S. federal government datasets portal.  Provides access to datasets in a wide range of topics.

EconData.  A source of economic time series data from Inforum, at the University of Maryland.         

Economagic.com. Economic Time Series Page. A comprehensive site of free, easily available economic time series data useful for economic research, particularly economic forecasting.

Economic Data Freely Available Online.  The Economics Network.  Provides links to UK data sites, international data sites, market data, and portal sites.

Economic Indicators.  U.S. Census Bureau. Leading Economic Indicators. The Conference Board.

Employment Research Data Center. W.E. Upjohn Institute. Provides free, downloadable data from many research and evaluation projects sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Labor.

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. Provides data on specific banks and the banking industry.

Federal Reserve Board. Data Sources for Discontinued Statistical Supplement to the Federal Reserve Bulletin. Links to statistics provided by the Federal Reserve.

FedSpending.org. A project of OMB Watch, a nongovernmental agency, this site provides data on contracts, assistance, recovery, and other forms of U.S. government spending.  Information is available by state, congressional district, contracting agency, product/service, or other options.

Foreign Exchange Rates - H.10.  Federal Reserve. 1989 - present.

Foreign Exhange Rates. Treasury Reporting Rates of Exchange. 1956 - 2005.

FRASER: Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research. Provides links to scanned images of historical economic statistic publications.

FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data. A database of over 13.000 U.S. economic time series.

Gini Index.  CIA World Factbook.  Current information.  Gini Index.  World Bank.  Information back to 1980, when available. World Income Inequality Database. (WIID2).  United Nations University.  Reports Gini back to 1960.

Happiest Countries in the World.  2012

Human Development Index. United Nations Development Programme.

International Monetary Fund.  Data and Statistics.  Although much of the IMF data still requires a paid subscription, some of it is available free.

IPUMSusa. Integrated Public Microdata Series.  Census microdata for social and economic research; available free.

Macroeconomic Time Series Data Locator. This resource can help you identify specific sources of statistical information. Although it is customized for the resources at the University of Chicago, many of them are also in the collection at the WSU Libraries.

OANDA, The Currency Site. Real-time foreign exchange rates and conversion rates.

Penn World Table.  Provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 189 countries/territories for some or all of the years 1950-2010.

Resources for Economists on the Internet. An extensive directory, organized in general categories. Sponsored by the American Economic Association. "Data" icon provides links to a large number of data sources and data sets.

Social Science Data Search. Targets 800+ academic, government agency, non-profit, and other web sites that provide high quality, downloadable statistical information and data sets. Emphasis is on data pertaining to the social sciences, health, developing countries, energy, natural resources, and the environment.

Statistical Abstract of the United States: Earlier Editions.  The U.S. Census Bureau provides statistics back to 1789 on a wide range of topics.

Statistics Resources and Big Data on the Internet. Marcus P. Zillman has compiled a best practices bibliography of sites and reliable sources focused on the hot topic of statistics and big data. These sources are representative of multiple publishers, national and global - government, academia, NGOs, and industry, many of which leverage open source and collaborative applications.

UN Comtrade. Contains more than 1.75 billion trade records starting from 1962.

UNdata: A World of Information. Provides international statistics and data sets on a broad range of topics from more than 30 United Nations databases.

U.S. Economic Indicators.  Provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics from April 1995 - present.

U.S. Economy at a Glance. This site, from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, provides easy access to U.S. economic information.

U.S. National Agricultural Statistics Service.  Data and Statistics. Interactive, online database of U.S. agricultural statistics at the county, state and U.S. levels.  Covers crops and plants, livestock and animals, demographics, economics, and environmental aspects of U.S. agriculture.

University of California, Bekeley. Statistics & Numeric Data in Economics. Selected sources of economic statistics and numeric data that are licensed by the UC Berkeley libraries and available freely on the web.  Not all the sources are available to WSU students and faculty.

World Bank Data.  As a leader in transparency and accountability, the World Bank has made its data available free.  The World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, and other data by country and topic is available.

News

The Dismal Scientist. Includes news articles and economic releases.

Economist.com. Complements The Economist in print.

Research

AgEcon Search. University of Minnesota.  Containing over 60,00 papers, it is an open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics.

Economic Policy Institute. EPI disseminates research in five main areas: living standards/labor markets, government and the economy, globalization and trade, politics and public opinion, and sustainable economics.

Economics Research Network. Part of the Social Science Research Network. This database contains information about working papers and articles and some links to free full-text.

Fed in Print.  Comprehensive index to Federal Reserve research.

IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research. This resource links to free full-text of working papers.

NBER: National Bureau of Economic Research. Provides full text access to NBER research and publications.

Resources for Economists on the Internet. An extensive directory, organized in general categories. Sponsored by the American Economic Association.

WebEc. A gateway to free resources grouped into topical categories.

Other

DataFerrett. A data mining and extraction tool that allows the user to select variables and recode them as needed. Runs on an application icon the user installs on the desktop.

List of Free Statistical Software.

RePEc Genealogy. Documents, within the field of economics, who was a student of whom, when and where.

 

 

 

Databases, Indexes, Specialized Resources

EconLit Primary index in economics, it provides citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969.

Business Source Complete  Primary index in business, it provides citations, abstracts, and full-text articles to many journals in economics and related areas.

AGRICOLA  Includes over 3.5 million citations to journal articles, books, book chapters and other materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions.

CAB Direct Citations with abstracts to the world literature on all aspects of agriculture including forestry and nutrition.

AGRIS (FAO)  An international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology, AGRIS was created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) in 1974, to facilitate information exchange and to bring together world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture. 

Lexis Nexis Academic  Provides full text of legal sources, thousands of news sources, and company information.

Web of Science  Includes Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation Indexes.  This multidisciplinary index provides topic, author, and cited reference search functions.  Tracks the number of times a work has been cited since its publication.

Journal Citation Reports  Resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide.

PAIS International  Contains citations with summaries to all types of publications in the area of world public affairs from 1915 to the present.

USA Trade Online.  Assists in finding specific U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities world wide. It is the most current US Merchandise Trade data available.  Access is limited to a designated computer in Terrell Library Reference area and the Owen Science and Engineering Library Reference area.

IFS CD-ROM.  International Monetary Fund.  International Financeial Statistics on CD-ROM; access to this database is limited to a designated computer in Terrell Library Reference area; updated monthly.

 

Data Sets

The primary source for data sets for Washington State University faculty and students is the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. You can download directly from ICPSR to any computer on one of the WSU campuses. For more information about acquiring data files and what machine readable data files are held in the Holland and Terrell Libraries, see the Social Sciences Data: ICPSR and More.  Also, see Data entries under Internet Links on this LibGuide.

 

Print Reference Books

Cover Art
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics - Steven N. Durlauf; Lawrence E. Blume
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HB61 N49 2008
ISBN: 9780333786765
Publication Date: 2008
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics is established as the leading reference work in the field. The second edition retains many individual classic essays of enduring importance from its predecessor and includes one thousand new or heavily revised articles. Written by over 1,500 eminent contributors, the Dictionary contains 1,900 articles and 5.7million words. Published in eight print volumes.

Cover Art
The American Economy - Cynthia Clark Northrup
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HC102 .A66 2011
ISBN: 9781598844610
Publication Date: 2011
With more than 600 short entries, 31 longer essays, and 32 primary source documents, the encyclopedia spans American history from colonial times to the present. Researchers will discover detailed information on people, events, and government actions that have shaped our economy, with entries on such seminal issues as slavery, migration patterns, the welfare state, the rise of the city, and the development of financial institutions. Throughout, special attention is paid to the interdependence of economics with political, social, and cultural forces. Covering everything from the national debt to monetary policy, law, unemployment, inflation, and government/business relations, this work is the ideal go-to resource for quick answers, in-depth analysis, or direction for further research.

Cover Art
The Anti-Capitalist Dictionary - David E. Lowes
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HB61 .L66 2006
ISBN: 1842776827
Publication Date: 2006
Organized in an easily accessible alphabetical format, it provides self-contained entries that introduce and explain concepts and issues that are important to the anti-capitalist movement. It demonstrates how the meaning and relevance of some of these have changed over time and illustrates a linkage between past and present activity that might be unfamiliar to people who are involved or interested in the current movement.

The Chicago Tradition in Economics, 1892-1945 - Ross Emmett (Editor)
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HB98.3 .C485 2002
ISBN: 0415254221
Publication Date: 2001
The home of more Nobel Laureates than any other institution, the Chicago School has fostered the work of the most influential and controversial economists of the twentieth century, including Frank Knight, Milton Friedman and Gary Becker. This collection reprints key papers in the development of Chicago economics from the early part of the century through the end of the Second World War. Each volume focuses on an individual or group of individuals who made distinctive contributions, including: * Thorstein Veblen and the development of institutional economics * Wesley C. Mitchell and the Quantity Theory of Money * Margaret Reid and the emergence of Human Capital Theory * Henry Scholtuz and the development of quantitative methods * Frank H. Knight on price theory * and much more.

Cover Art
An Encyclopedia of Macroeconomics - Brian Snowdon (Editor); Howard R. Vane (Editor)
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HB172.5 .E55 2002
ISBN: 1840643870
Publication Date: 2003
A detailed guidebook to the macroeconomic landscape. Comprehensive in scope, it contains over 300 short entries and more than 100 specially commissioned main entries from an internationally renowned group of scholars.

Cover Art
Fifty Major Economists - Steven Pressman
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HB76 .P74 2006
ISBN: 0415366488
Publication Date: 2006
Building upon the huge success of the previous edition, this updated text provides a clear, comprehensive guide to the most influential individuals in the field of economics. Covers a wide range of thinkers across several centuries.

Cover Art
Guide to Economic Indicators - Norman Frumkin
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HC103 .F9 2006
ISBN: 0765616467
Publication Date: 2005
Now revised and expanded, this widely-used desk reference provides quick and easy access to current and reliable data on the major statistical measures of the U.S. economy. Equally useful for students, general readers, economists, analysts, journalists, and investors, the Guide provides concise, jargon-free explanations of the meaning, use, and availability of more than 70 macroeconomic indicators, including websites, recent trends, and current data.

Cover Art
A Guide to Everyday Economic Statistics - Bradley Schiller; Gary Clayton; Martin Gerhard Giesbrecht
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HB137 .C57 2010
ISBN: 9780073523194
Publication Date: 2009
A handy little guide that can be consulted for clarification whenever any of the statistical series dealt with are encountered. The authors examine how different series are constructed and how we may use them effectively. This guide puts statistics in context, so the reader can see how an individual statistic relates to the larger picture. Because of this, students won't have to read the book consecutively from beginning to end.

Cover Art
Historical Dictionary of Organized Labor - James C. Docherty
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HD4839 .D58 2004
ISBN: 0810849119
Publication Date: 2004
Thoroughly updated, this essential reference source introduces scholars to the study of organized labor on the international as well as national level. Contains 400 entries describing the labor movements in countries around the world, and the important people, organizations, ideas, and political parties involved in organized labor. Includes a summary list of past and present international labor leaders, lists of global union federations and the affiliated organizations of major national labor federations, and analytical lists of the membership of the International Confederation of Free Trade Unions.

Cover Art
Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor - Robert E. Weir (Editor); James P. Hanlan (Editor); James P. Hanlan
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HD8066 .H57 2004
ISBN: 0313318409
Publication Date: 2004
The history of the American labor movement is filled with advances, triumphs, setbacks, decline, and resurgence. This two-volume A-Z resource covers the history of organized labor in all of its complexity, from the dawn of the industrial revolution to the "post-industrial age."

Cover Art
Nobel Laureates in Economics - Howard R. Vane; Chris Mulhearn
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HB76 .V36 2005
ISBN: 1843766000
Publication Date: 2005
This volume provides a non-technical description of the main published works of every Nobel Memorial (Economics) winner from the first annual award in 1969 to 2004 . The short essays on each economist are readable and accurate; they provide a discussion of the subjects, major contributions and an introduction to the secondary literature, often with the outstanding reports on the laureates work provided to the Economic Prize Committee of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. The collection is introduced with a review of the prize and the common characteristics of the winners thus far, all neatly summarized in a table with each laureate's year and country of birth, university, year of first and higher degrees, affiliation at the time of the award, field of study, and a summary citation. This volume provides a very useful introduction to the development of economic ideas in the last three-quarters of the 20th century.

Cover Art
The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy - Kenneth A. Reinert (Editor); Amy Joycelyn Glass (Editor); Lewis S. Davis (Editor); Ramkishen S. Rajan (Editor)
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HF1373 .P75 2009
ISBN: 9780691128122
Publication Date: 2008
From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this two-volume encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals. Includes more than 300 up-to-date entries covering a wide range of topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development.

Cover Art
St. James Encyclopedia of Labor History Worldwide - Neil Schlager (Editor)
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HD4839 .S74 2004
ISBN: 1558625429
Publication Date: 2003
Provides in-depth analysis of more than 300 key events in labor history over the last 200 years, focusing on the relevance of these events to both the labor movement as a whole and to societal changes around the world. Each entry, written and signed by an expert in the field, includes a description of the event, information about the key players involved and discusses the event in historical context.

Cover Art
The Value of a Dollar 1860-2009 - Laura Mars-Proietti (Editor)
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HB235.U6 V35 2009
ISBN: 9781592374038
Publication Date: 2009
Records the actual prices of thousands of items that consumers purchased, from the Civil War to the present, along with facts about investment options and income opportunities. This third edition boasts a new section on Trends which looks at pricing trends for over 100 items, including fashion, coffee, and cars, over long periods of time, and graphs these changes.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Money - Larry Allen
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HG216 .A43 1999
ISBN: 1576070379
Publication Date: 1999
From the ancient barter system to cyber credit, this reference work is an investment in fiscal literacy.

Cover Art
The Federal Reserve System - R. W. Hafer
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HG2563 H235 2005
ISBN: 0313328390
Publication Date: 2005
Describes in detail the Federal Reserve System and the central bank of the United States, along with a historical overview of United States monetary policy.

Business and Economics Librarian

Profile Image
Mary Gilles
Fall Reference Desk Hours: Monday 1-3pm, Thursday 3-5pm, Friday 12-1pm. Fall Office Hours: Wednesday 3-5pm, Thursday 1-3pm. Available other times by appointment.
Logo - Skype
Contact Info
Terrell Library 120E
Office Phone: 509-335-8740
Fax: 509-335-6721
Skype Name mary.gilles47
Send Email
 

Library Catalog

WSU Libraries new shared library management service.  With Search IT patrons can now use a single search box to find journals, books, articles, and digitized collections. They can also access some 9 million titles and 26 million resources from 36 other higher education institutions.  Search IT replaces Griffin and WSU WorldCat.

 

What I Can Do for You

For students, I can:

  • Recommend the best business databases to search for your research topic
  • Answer your questions via email, phone or in-person
  • Meet with you individually or in groups to hash out your topic or discuss business research strategies
  • Tell you about library services

For faculty, I can:

  • Track down tricky citations
  • Introduce your students to research tools and strategies via a workshop
  • Create a webpage tailored to your class assignment
  • Discuss ways to best incorporate research skills and library materials into your class assignments
  • Meet with your students individually or in groups
  • Purchase books and other material needed for your research
  • Tell you about new library services
  • Communicate the department's concerns and information needs on to others in the Libraries
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip