Research databases and reviewed sources of journal articles, drug monographs, complementary medicine, and consumer health information.
Last Updated: Sep 3, 2014
For access to WSU databases, enter your Network ID when prompted.
- Tutorial on Connecting to WSU Databases (2 minutes)
- PubMed® [National Library of Medicine]
The National Library of Medicine's premier search system for health information. PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from journals published in the United States and worldwide. This link to PubMed has been customized for those affiliated with WSU; look for the "Find it @WSU" button within individual records.
- PubMed Tutorial from the NLM
A structured, in-depth tutorial. Complete as little or as much as you need.
- Searching Drugs or Chemicals in PubMed (NLM tutorial)
This tutorial provides a set of tips to help you effectively search PubMed for drugs, chemicals and other substances.
- CINAHL® (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) [EBSCO]
CINAHL is a comprehensive database for nursing and allied health, with full text articles from more than 1,300 journals and magazines, and indexing to over 5,400 journal titles, back to 1981. (A few titles are indexed back to 1937.) Also includes citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. ALLIED HEALTH includes OT, PT, communications disorders, dietetics, chiropractic, massage, et cetera.
- CINAHL Tutorial (5 minutes)
- Cochrane Library®
"Independent high-quality evidence for health care decision making" from The Cochrane Collaboration. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
- Cochrane Library Tutorial (5.5 minutes)
- Health Source - Consumer® [EBSCO]
This database provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. It provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
- Health Source - Nursing® [EBSCO]
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
- Natural Standard: The Authority on Integrative Medicine®
Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Contains various databases: Foods, herbs & supplements; Health & wellness; Comparative effectiveness; Medical conditions; Genomics & proteomics; Environment & global health; Brand names. For each therapy covered, a research team gathers scientific data and expert opinions. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence. Information is incorporated into comprehensive monographs which are designed to facilitate clinical decision making. All monographs undergo blinded editorial and peer review prior to inclusion in Natural Standard databases.
- Web of Science® [Thomson Reuters]
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Powerful tools include cited reference searching.
- Web of Science Video Tutorials from Thomson Reuters
Riverpoint Campus Library, 2nd floor Spokane Academic Center.
Mailing Address: WSU Spokane
PO Box 1495
Spokane, WA 99210-1495
Phone: (509) 368-6973Send Email