Library News
Loading...
Country Research
Country Research
Librarian | Library Resources | Internet links
The Holland and Terrell Libraries contain many resources for students and faculty engaged in country research. If you have any questions not answered on the WSU Libraries website or would like to request a book or journal on any subject related to country research, please visit the Holland and Terrell Libraries Reference Desk or contact a librarian at (509) 335-8516 or holref@wsu.edu.
Library Resources
-
Library Catalog
GRIFFIN Library Catalog The library catalog includes holdings for all the WSU Library sites, in Pullman and across the state. Please note: Electronic journals and other 'virtual' publications are included in the catalog. GRIFFIN also provides access to CASCADE, a statewide system that allows users to borrow books owned by all publicly supported colleges and universities in Washington State.
-
Indexes, Abstracts and Other Databases
For a more comprehensive listing, select "Article Indexes/E-Journals" from the tabs at the top of this guide, or from the WSU Libraries home page. View the "Databases by Subject" pull-down menu, or browse the "Databases A to Z" menu, organized alphabetically by database name.- Lexis-Nexis Academic: This is an excellent source of information for country research. Contains a wide variety of information, including news articles from major international newspapers; also includes country profiles from several publishers, including the PRS Risk Guide.
- Country Reports: Available via Business Source Complete. Produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU), the Country Reports analyze current trends and provide a two-year forecast for the country that includes analysis of historical political, infrastructural and economic trends for approximately 76 countries (updated quarterly). The archive goes back to 1996 with a fully searchable database and the ability to download in pdf and html formats. There is also a Country Profile, updated annually, with an overview of each country. You should look at both the Profile and the Report for each country.
- International Monetary Fund International Financial Statistics: (In-library access only, CD-ROM, Holland and Terrell Reference Area). This database is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. Many of the time series are available from the 1940s forward.
- World Development Indicators: from the World Bank. This is a database of more than 500 timeseries indicators covering 1960 to the present. Also includes "Country-at-a-Glance" profiles and the World Bank Atlas.
-
Reference Books
- The Holland and Terrell Libraries' reference section is on the 1st floor behind the reference desk.
-
Overview
-
The World Factbook. Published by the Central Intelligence Agency. Organized alphabetically by country name. Also available free online at: http://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/: Holland and Terrell Reference Desk: PREX 3.15
-
Europa World Year Book. Organized alphabetically by country name (covers entire globe, not just Europe). Holland and Terrell Reference Desk: JN1 .E85
-
-
Specialized/Topical/Statistical
-
Craighead's International Business, Travel, and Relocation Guide to ... Countries: HF5549.5 .E45 D56
-
Demographic Yearbook. From the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs: Jackson Doc TU52 ST 11 D397
-
Exporters' Encyclopaedia: HF3011 .E96x
-
Industrial Development Global Report. From the United Nations Industrial Development Organization: HC59.69 I53
-
International Financial Statistics Yearbook. From the International Monetary Fund: Jackson Doc TM54 In8y
-
Keesing's Record of World Events: D410 .K4
-
National Accounts. From the OECD; covers major industrialized nations: Jackson Doc TO77 N213
-
National Accounts Statistics: Main Aggregates and Detailed Tables. From the United Nations: HC79.I5 U532X
-
The Political Risk Yearbook: D839 .W68x
-
Statistical Abstract of the World: HA154 .S83
-
Statistical Yearbook. From the United Nations: Jackson Doc TU52 ST 11 St29
-
World Investment Directory. Published by the United Nations: HG4538 .W67
-
Internet Links
- Country Background Notes: From the State Department. Country overviews, organized by topic, including political conditions.
- World Factbook: From the Central Intelligence Agency. Country overviews, organized by topic.
- Country Studies: Area Handbook Series: From the Library of Congress. Includes information about country history.
- Portals to the World: Links to electronic resources from around the world, selected and presented by the Library of Congress.
- International Standard Industrial Classification (ISIC Revision 3): Source of information about industrial classifications, similar to NAICS and SIC, for international purposes. From the United Nations.
- Governments on the WWW: Select "Worldwide Governments on the WWW" for a menu organized alphabetically by country name. Each country listing includes a variety of national institutions/agencies, as well as other links.
- Human Rights Watch
Business and Economics Librarian |
Reference Desk Hours: No scheduled hours during the summer. Please contact for an appointment. ![]() Contact Info Terrell Library 120E Office Phone: 509-335-8740 Fax: 509-335-6721 Skype Name mary.gilles47 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Lorena O'English |








Loading...
