This is the "Home" page of the "English and American Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English and American Literature   Tags: american_lit, english, english_lit, literature  

Last Updated: Sep 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/englishandamericanlit Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

English and American Literature - Home

English and American Literature


Library Resources

The Holland and Terrell Libraries contain many resources for students and faculty interested in English and American Literature. If you have any questions not answered on the WSU Libraries website or would like to request a book or journal on any subject related to English and American Literature, please contact Bob Matuozzi. For questions about the English and American Literature program, please see the Department of English.

  • Library Catalog

    Search It. The library catalog includes holdings for all the WSU Library sites, in Pullman and across the state. Please note: Electronic journals and other 'virtual' resources are included in this catalog.

 


     Library of Congress Classification
    Mapped to Holland & Terrell Library

    Click on any of the links below to see where these subjects are physically located in Holland & Terrell Library.  The reference books in these classifications are located in the reference area on the first floor of Holland & Terrell Library just off the Atrium.  (The first floor level is the main entrance to the library.)  

    A - General Works J - Political Science R - Medicine
    B - Philosophy, Psychology, Religion K - Law S - Agriculture
    C - Auxiliary Sciences of History L - Education T- Technology
    D - World History M - Music and Books on Music U - Military Science
    E - History of the Americas N - Fine Arts W - WSU
    G - Geography, Anthropology, Recreation P - Language and Literature Z - Bibliography
    H - Social Sciences Q - Science

    Holland and Terrell Stack Chart

    Stack Chart

     

    eResearch

    These research databases and eBooks are made available by subscription or purchase through the WSU Libraries.

    Research Databases

    • MLA International Bibliography (1926 - current)
      Comprehensive coverage of modern languages and literature, including folklore. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and book history. Search Tips
    • Literary Index
      Master index to the major literature reference products published by Gale Group, Inc. Cross references more than 135,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and 165,000 titles. Search Tips
    • Literature Criticism Online
      Provides complete full-text access to Contemporary Literary Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, and Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism. Also see eBooks below. Search Tips
    • World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
      Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1960 and current. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 120 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia. The more than 131,800 records in this version cite several hundred thousand additional reviews of books, productions, films, and audio recordings. Updated quarterly. Search Tips
    • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
      A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Search Tips
    • JSTOR
      JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary full-text content from over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. Search Tips
    • Project Muse
      Provides full-text access to several hundred titles from 60 university and society presses in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Topical areas include literature, history, politics and policy studies, economics, education, film, religion, and women’s studies as well as book reviews. Search Tips
    • Philosopher's Index (1940 - current)
      Bibliography of scholarly works in journals, books, anthologies, contributions to anthologies and book reviews (1960s- ). Indexes aesthetics, axiology, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphilosophy, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, philosophy of education, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, philosophy of religion, philosophy of science, political philosophy, and social philosophy. Search Tips
    • Historical Abstracts
      Contains citations and abstracts to publications covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Publications indexed were published from 1954 to the present. Search Tips
    • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I
      This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day. About ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Database Also provides access to full text of WSU authored dissertations. Some WSU full text may have an embargo period. Search Tips
    • America: History & Life
      Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Contains citations and abstracts to journal aritcles, books reviews and dissertations published from 1954-present. Search Tips
    • Humanities International Index
      Covers journals, books, and other important reference sources in the humanities, with indexing and abstracts for more than 2,300 journals encompassing millions of cumulative records. International in scope, contains citations to articles, essays and reviews, and original creative works including poetry, fiction, photographs, paintings, and illustrations. Search Tips
    • Oxford Reference Online Library Collection
      Provides access to dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works along with topical companions and a dictionary of quotations, offering full-spectrum subject coverage. The Oxford Reference Library combines over 2 million entries and some 300,000 pages (many of which are illustrated) into a single cross-searchable resource consisting of 180 core academic titles. Search Tips.
    • Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
      Provides access to scholarly journals and specialized magazines that treat a wide range of topics in the humanities and social sciences. Specific topical areas include art, classical studies, dance, film, folklore, literary & social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion & theology. Full-text content available. Indexes reviews. Search Tips
    • Gale Virtual Reference Library
      Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research, including research in the arts and humanities. Some full-text content available. Search Tips
    • Iter Bibliography (Medieval and Renaissance)
      Specialized bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Over 1.1 million citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
    • The Times Digital Archive, 1785 - 1985
      The Times of London has covered all major international events from the French Revolution to the Falklands War. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image, and advertisement. Includes coverage of theater, literature, music, art, and other cultural topics and events. Also has obituaries.
    • New York Times (Historical)
      1851 - three years previous. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Via ProQuest. Search Tips
    • Sociological Abstracts (1963 - current)
      Offers access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, with abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serial publications. Also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Updated 6 times a year. Search Tips
    • Web of Science
      Includes Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation indexes. This multidisciplinary database has searchable author abstract covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities, sciences and social sciences. Updated weekly. Search Tips
    • ArchiveGrid (OCLC)
      Provides detailed descriptions of numerous archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. With its online archival collection descriptions, ArchiveGrid helps you to locate collections of primary source material more quickly than ever before. Records include collection title, holding institution, brief description, and a link to an extended description. Search Tips
     

    eBooks

    Cover Art
    Literary Research Guide - James L. Harner
    Call Number: PR83 .H33x 2008 (Electronic resource)
    The Literary Research Guide is a selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics. Browse over 1,000 entries, which refer to nearly 1,600 additional books, articles, and electronic resources and cite over 700 reviews. The online version updated twice a year, with a special section indicating updates. Print version (5th edition) below in the Reference Books section of this guide.

    Cover Art
    Oxford English Dictionary - Oxford University Press.
    Call Number: PE1625 .O87 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0198611862
    Provides etymologies and examples of usage for English words. Especially useful for determining what possible meanings an author may have intended in a given work written at a given time. The online OED is updated on a quarterly basis. The OED is the premier historical dictionary of the English language.

    Cover Art
    Dictionary of American Regional English
    Call Number: (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0674205111
    Digital version of the multi-volume reference work that documents phrases, words, and pronunciations across the United States from the colonial period to the early twenty-first century. Source materials include novels and histories, newspapers, interviews, diaries, letters, governmenat documents, biographical works, and the Internet. Includes an atlas of 1002 language communities surveyed for DARE. University of Wisconsin-Madison website on DARE (Print version available in reference collection.)

    Cover Art
    The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics - Alex Preminger, T.V.F. Brogan et al, eds.
    Call Number: PN1021 .N39 1993 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0691032718
    A comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of its subject: history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology. Prepared by recognized authorities, its articles treat their topics in sufficient depth and with enough lucidity to satisfy the scholar and the general reader alike. Entries vary in length from relatively brief notices to substantial articles of about 20,000 words. Also see print version below.

    Cover Art
    The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms - Chris Baldick
    Call Number: PN41 .C67 2008 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0199208271
    Provides access to over 1,000 literary terms and a prononciation guide for over 200 troublesome phrases and terms.

    Cover Art
    The Oxford Dictionary of Reference and Allusion - Andrew Delahunty and Sheila Dignen
    Call Number: PN43 .D45 2010 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 019956745X
    Explores literature, mythology, and the Bible to give us a literary shorthand for describing people, places, and events. Over 1,900 entries on the most commonly-used allusions, with a short summary definition for the allusion or reference and at least one illustrative citation from a wide range of source materials.

    Cover Art
    Dictionary of Untranslatables: A Philosophical Lexicon (eBook) - Barbara Cassin, ed.
    This is an encyclopedic dictionary of close to 400 important philosophical, literary, and political terms and concepts that defy easy--or any--translation from one language and culture to another. Drawn from more than a dozen languages spanning the classical, medieval, early modern, modern, and contemporary periods, these are terms that influence thinking across the humanities. The entries, written by more than 150 distinguished scholars, describe the origins and meanings of each term, the history and context of its usage, its translations into other languages, and its use in notable texts.

    Cover Art
    Masterplots, 4th ed. - Laurence W. Mazzeno, ed.
    Call Number: PN44 .M33 2010 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 1587655683
    Provides plot synopses and critical evaluations of a comprehensive selection of English-language and world literature that has been translated into English. Essays are in alphabetical order by title, and each includes an annotated bibliography to aid readers in further study. The set features 2,220 essays, many new or newly edited from previous editions, ready reference data on the type of work, the author and the date of first publication and where applicable, first English translation. For all works of fiction, the opening section also provides information on the "Type of Plot," "Time of Plot," and "Locale." In addition, there is for most works of fiction a section titled "Principal Characters," which lists the work's main characters, along with brief descriptions. Set also features separate Chronological, Geographical, Title, Author, Genre, and Themes & Issues indexes. Also see print version in reference.

    Cover Art
    Critical Survey of Short Fiction, 4th ed. - Charles E. May, ed.
    Call Number: Hol Ref PN3321 .C7 2011 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 1587657899
    Covers 625 writers representing 44 countries and the history of short fiction from antiquity to the 21st century. Features 53 informative overviews with 24 overviews newly added to this edition, as well as all the literary movement essays from previous editions. Entries and indexing include bibliographies, dates and photos, awards, timelines, chronological and geographical indexes, a guide to online resources, and a subject index. Specific coverage consists of American Writers (4 vols.), British, Irish, and Commonwealth Writers (2 vols.), European Writers (1 vol.), World Writers (1 vol.), and Topical Essays (1 vol.). A Cumulative Indexes volume covers all five subsets. Print version in reference.

    Cover Art
    Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism - Gale-Cengage
    Call Number: Hol Ref PN761 .N5 (Electronic resource)
    Commentary on the careers and works of acclaimed poets, novelists, short story writers, dramatists and philosophers who died between 1800 and 1899. Each volume presents overviews of four to eight authors with chronologically arranged criticism representing the entire range of response to each author. Entries typically include an author portrait, an introduction to the author, a primary bibliography, annotated criticism and an annotated list of further reading sources. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Every fourth volume is a Topics volume covering major literary movements, trends and other topics related to nineteenth-century literature. Volumes include author, nationality, and topic and title indexes. A cumulative title index to the entire series is published separately. Print version in reference.

    Cover Art
    Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 - Gale-Cengage
    Call Number: Hol Ref PN86 .L56 (Electronic resource)
    International resource for complete critical coverage of the careers and works of the greatest writers and thinkers of the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance, and the Restoration eras. Detailed entries offer access to a variety of important interpretations of historical periods, literary trends and topics, and the achievements of noteworthy individuals. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Volumes include author, nationality, topic, and title indexes. A cumulative title index to the entire series is published separately. Also see print version below.

    Cover Art
    Contemporary Literary Criticism - Gale-Cengage
    Call Number: Hol Ref PN86 .C1 (Electronic resource)
    Contemporary Literary Criticism covers authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959. Each print volume in this long-standing series profiles approximately 6-8 novelists, poets, playwrights and other creative and nonfiction writers by providing full-text or excerpted criticism taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Each of the approximately 200 essays per volume is prefaced by a full citation and annotation and most entries in the print series include an author portrait. Thousands of authors fully indexed by name, titles, and nationality. Also see print version in reference.

    Cover Art
    Contemporary Authors - Gale Research Company
    Call Number: Z1224 .C632x (Electronic resource)
    Biographical information on more than 130,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and informative essays about their lives and work. Print version in reference.

    Cover Art
    Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online - Matthew J. Bruccoli, et al, eds. (Gale-Cengage)
    Call Number: Hol Ref PN 451.D52x (Electronic resource)
    Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods. The online edition includes combined and individual title access to to the Main, the Documentary, and the Yearbook series in DLB. Print version through volume 359 in reference.

    Cover Art
    The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature - Jay Parini, ed.
    Call Number: PS21 .E537 2004 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0195156536
    Covers American literary history from the 1600s to the present day, with essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes.

    Cover Art
    The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature - William L Andrews, Frances Smith Foster, and Trudier Harris, eds.
    Call Number: PS153.N5 C59 2001 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 019513883X
    Presents more than 400 biographies of authors, critics, literary characters, and historical figures, and 150 plot summaries of major works.

    Cover Art
    The Concise Oxford Companion to Irish Literature - Robert Welch, ed.
    Call Number: PR8706 .C66 2003 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0192800809
    This comprehensive guide spans sixteen centuries of the literature and literary culture of Ireland. There is a wealth of information on writers and their works, movements, genres, topics, folklore, and historical, religious, and cultural events.

    Cover Art
    The Literature of War - Thomas Riggs, ed.
    Call Number: PN56.W3 L55 2012 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 1558628428
    A three-volume full-color set dealing with a topic that goes beyond the literary perspective to provide the historical, cultural and social context of works that focus on armed conflict throughout the world and time. The set highlights the realities of war, its impact on society, and how it affects our understanding of it. Volumes include speeches, plays, poetry, and novels thematically arranged around genres, first-hand experiences, and aftermath.

    Cover Art
    Feminism in Literature: A Gale Critical Companion - Jessica Bomarito and Jeffrey W. Hunter, eds.
    Call Number: PN471 .F43 2005 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 1414405200
    Explores the history of women and feminism throughout literature, from classical antiquity to modern times. Topics covered include misogyny and women's social roles in ancient civilizations, 16th-century women's devotional literature, 17th- and 18th-century women's captivity narratives, the women's suffrage movement in 19th-century America, women writers of the "Lost Generation," lesbian literature, and much more.

    Cover Art
    The Oxford Guide to Literature in English Translation - Peter France, ed.
    Call Number: PR131 .O94 2005 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0198183593
    Highlights the place of translation in our culture, encouraging awareness of the process of translating and making the translator more visible. It covers translations out of many languages, from Greek to Korean, Swahili to Russian.

    Cover Art
    New Dictionary of the History of Ideas - Maryanne Cline Horowitz, editor in chief
    Call Number: CB9 .N49 2005 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0684314525
    A six-volume survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others.

    Cover Art
    Oxford Companion to English Literature - Margaret Drabble,ed.
    Call Number: PR19 .O94 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0198614535
    Over 1,000 new entries have been added, ranging from new writers ― Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Patrick Marber, David Mitchell, Arundhati Roy ― to increased coverage of writers and literary movements from around the world. Coverage of American literature has been substantially increased, with new entries on writers such as Cormac McCarthy and Amy Tan and on movements and publications. Contextual and historical coverage has also been expanded, with new entries on European history and culture, post-colonial literature, as well as writers and literary movements from around the world that have influenced English literature.

    Cover Art
    Oxford Companion to American Literature - James D. Hart, rev. Phillip W. Leininger
    Call Number: PS21 .H3 1995 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 9780195065480
    Over 2,000 biographical profiles of important American authors (with information regarding their style, subjects, and major works) and influential foreign writers as well as other figures who have been important in the nation's social and cultural history. There are more than 1,100 full summaries of important American novels, stories, essays, poems (with verse form noted), plays, biographies and autobiographies, tracts, narratives, and histories.

    Cover Art
    The Routledge Companion to Science Fiction - Mark Bould, Andrew M. Butler, Adam Roberts, and Sherryl Vint, eds.
    Call Number: Electronic monograph
    ISBN: 041545378X
    Comprehensive overview of the history and study of science fiction. Fifty-six entries outline major writers, movements, and texts in the genre, established critical approaches and areas for future study.

    Cover Art
    Brave New Words: The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction - Jeff Prucher, ed.
    Call Number: PN3433.4 .P78 2007 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0195305671
    The first historical dictionary devoted to science fiction showing the development of science-fiction words and their associated concepts over time, with full citations and bibliographic information. Citations are drawn from science-fiction books and magazines, fanzines, screenplays, newspapers, comics, folk songs, and the Internet.

    Cover Art
    A Companion to Crime Fiction - Charles J. Rzepka and Lee Horsley, eds.
    Call Number: PN3448.D4 C557 2010 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 1405167653
    A guide to this popular genre from its origins in the eighteenth century to the present day, including forty-seven original essays from some of the world's leading authorities. Print also available.

    Cover Art
    Oxford Companion to Crime and Mystery Writing - Rosemary Herbert, ed.
    Call Number: PN3448.D4 O94 2005 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0195072391
    Provides scholars and fans of the crime and mystery genre with an authoritative yet playful compendium of knowledge about a literature known for its highly entertaining treatment of deadly serious puzzles.

    Cover Art
    Critical Survey of Mystery and Detective Fiction, Rev. ed. - Carl Rollyson, ed.
    Call Number: PN3448.D4 C75 2008 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 1587653974
    This new edition updates or replaces all the original articles and adds entirely new articles on 118 more authors, raising the total to 368 articles. It also adds 38 entirely new overview essays and 4 new appendixes. Covered here are such well-known mystery writers as Raymond Chandler, Agatha Christie, Arthur Conan Doyle, Erle Stanley Gardner, Dashiell Hammett, Edgar Allan Poe, and Dorothy Sayers. New to this edition are such venerable writers as Louisa May Alcott, Edward Stratemeyer, and Margaret Truman. Popular contemporary writers, such as Mary Higgins Clark, Patricia Cornwell, John Dunning, John Grisham, Thomas Harris, Rolando Hinojosa, Scott Turow, J.K. Rowling, and Stuart Woods and also included.

    Cover Art
    Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Independents and Underground Classics - Bart H. Beaty and Stephen Weiner, eds.
    Call Number: Hol Ref PN6725 .C754 2012 (Electronic resource)
    Provides in-depth coverage for over 215 of the most popular and studied graphic novels. These short essays look beyond the "pop culture" aspects of the medium to show the wide range of literary themes and artistic styles that are used to convey beliefs and conflicts that are as old as the stories told in ancient civilization. Entries arranged alphabetically, and begin with full ready reference top matter, including the title or subtitle, the primary author or authors, the illustrators who contributed to the work, the first serial and book publication, the publisher, the number of pages, the ISBN, and the genre and/or subgenre. Print copy in reference.

    Cover Art
    World Literature and Its Times - Volume 3: British and Irish Literature and Its Times: Celtic Migrations to the Reform Bill (Beginnings-1830s) - Gale
    Call Number: Electronic resource
    ISBN: 0787637289
    Shows connections between political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. Each volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from a particular country and region, representing approximately fifty works. Essays feature an overview that discuss genre, time, place, and other important elements with a synopsis and introduction that places the work in the context of the authors' lives. Also includes historical events and timelines, maps, illustrations, and additional readings.

    Cover Art
    World Literature and Its Times - Volume 4: British and Irish Literature and Its Times: The Victorian Era to the Present (1837- ) - Gale
    Call Number: Electronic resource
    ISBN: 9781414435770
    Shows connections between political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. Each volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from a particular country and region, representing approximately fifty works. Essays feature an overview that discuss genre, time, place, and other important elements with a synopsis and introduction that places the work in the context of the authors' lives. Also includes historical events and timelines, maps, illustrations, and additional readings.

    Cover Art
    Oxford Companion to Australian Literature - William H. Wilde, Joy Hooton, and Barry Andrews
    Call Number: PR9600.2 .W55 2005 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 019553381X
    A comprehensive record of Australian writing from European settlement to the early 1990s. Written in clear, accessible language, the Companion contains entries on writers, plays, novels, poems, newspapers, journals, anthologies, literary prizes, movements, and professional organizations. It also includes useful plot summaries, detailed biographies, and a number of essay-length articles on key areas, such as Aboriginal writing and science fiction.

    Cover Art
    Oxford Companion to New Zealand Literature - Roger Robinson and Nelson Wattie, eds.
    Call Number: PR9620.2 .O94 2005 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0195583485
    A comprehensive record of New Zealand writing in easily accessible form. It contains more than 1,500 entries on writers, novels, plays, poetry, journals, periodicals, anthologies, literary movements, and professional organisations.

    Cover Art
    Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry in English - Ian Hamilton, ed.
    Call Number: PR601 .O9 1994 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0198661479
    Charts the development of poetry from 1900 to the present, across the whole of the English-speaking world, from the United States, Great Britain, and Ireland to New Zealand, Pakistan, Singapore, Trinidad and Zimbabwe--anywhere where poets write in English. Alphabetically arranged for ease of reference, it offers biographical entries on some 1,500 individual poets, as well as over one hundred entries covering important magazines, movements, literary terms and concepts.

    Cover Art
    The Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature - Margaret Drabble, Jenny Stringer, and Daniel Hahn, eds.
    Call Number: PR19 .D732 2007 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0199214921
    Includes character entries and plot summaries, literary movements, critics, and critical theories, literary societies, periodicals, libraries, copyright, censorship, coffee houses, actors and actresses, printers, publishers, booksellers, and private presses. Author biographies are provided covering novelists, dramatists, poets, historians, philosophers, scholars, critics, editors and journalists.

    Cover Art
    The Oxford Guide to Literature in English Translation - Peter France, ed.
    Call Number: PR131 .O94 2005 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0198183593
    Covers translations out of many languages, from Greek to Korean, Swahili to Russian, with entries on individual texts (such as the Thousand and One Nights), writers (Ibsen or Proust), genres (Chinese poetry), or national literature (for example, Hungarian) complemented by more substantial essays on theoretical questions, a pioneering outline of the history of translation into English, and discussions of the problems raised by specific types of text (for example, poetry or oral literature). See print version below.

    Cover Art
    Archetypes and Motifs in Folklore and Literature: A Handbook - Jane Garry and Hasan El-Shamy, eds.
    Call Number: GR72.56 .A73 2005 (Electronic resource)
    Essays on some of the most important motifs and archetypes found in folklore and literature around the world, keying them to the Index. Among the motifs are mythical animals, tabu, magic, the dead, marvels, ogres, tests, the wise and the foolish, deceptions, reversal of fortune, chance and fate, society, rewards and punishments, captives and fugitives, unnatural cruelty, sex, and the nature of life.

    Cover Art
    Oxford Classical Dictionary - Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth, eds.
    Call Number: DE5 .O9 2005 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0198606419
    In over 6,200 entries, provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world. Written by the very best of classical scholars from all over the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.

    Cover Art
    Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World - John Roberts, ed.
    Call Number: DE5 .O92 2007 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0192801465
    From the first Olympic Games in 776 BC to the death of Marcus Aurelius in AD 180, this accessible and wide-ranging reference work draws on the groundbreaking Oxford Classical Dictionary to present more than 2,500 entries on the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. The dictionary covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion, and contains comprehensive articles on central....

    Cover Art
    A Companion to Digital Literary Studies - Ray Siemens and Susan Schreibman, eds.
    Call Number: PN56.I65 C66 2007 (Electronic resource)
    Convenes scholars, theorists, and practitioners of humanities computing to report on contemporary "digital literary studies." Perhaps the best way to characterize their collective account is to say that it depicts a scene of encounter. A Companion to Digital Literary Studies is fundamentally a narrative of what may be called the scene of "new media encounter" — in this case, between the literary and the digital.

    Cover Art
    A Companion to Digital Humanities - Susan Schreibman, Ray Siemens, and John Unsworth, eds.
    Call Number: AZ105 .C588 2004 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 1405168064
    Offers a thorough, concise overview of the emerging field of humanities computing, with 37 original articles written by leaders in the field. Major sections focus on the experience of particular disciplines in applying computational methods to: research problems; the basic principles of humanities computing; specific applications and methods; and production, dissemination and archiving. Print copy also available.

    Cover Art
    American Decades, 1900-1999 (10 vols.) - Vincent Tompkins, et al, eds.
    Call Number: E169.12 .A419 1994 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0810357224
    Documents and analyzes periods of contemporary American social history. Print edition available in reference collection. See below for full annotation of this resource.

    Cover Art
    Arts and Humanities through the Eras - Edward Bleiberg, ed.
    Call Number: NX440 .A787 2005 (Electronic resource)
    Offers a multidimensional picture of primarily Western civilization, covering Ancient Egypt (2675-332 B.C.E.), Ancient Greece and Rome (1200 B.C.E.-476 C.E.), Medieval Europe (814-1450 C.E.), Renaissance Europe (1300-1600 C.E.), and The Age of the Baroque and Enlightenment (1600-1800 C.E.). Provides access to each historical period through the study of nine different arts and humanities topics: "Architecture and Design," "Dance," "Fashion," "Literature," "Music," "Philosophy," "Religion," "Theater," and "Visual Arts." Each topic area is treated in a different chapter, but the connections between topics are highlighted both in the text and through cross-referencing. The result is a broader and more inclusive picture of the culture of each period, emphasizing connections between, for example, religion, dance, and literature or between the visual arts and architecture. Chapters contain a chronology; an overview of the development of the field under scrutiny; a "Topics" section, which discusses various movements, schools of thought, and masterworks that characterize the discipline during that era; a handful of biographies of significant people; and a list of documentary sources.

    Cover Art
    American National Biography - General editors, John A. Garraty and Mark C. Carnes
    Call Number: CT213 .A68 1999 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0195206355
    Short Biographical sketches of over 18,300 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the United States. Contains thousands of illustrations, 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, and links to select web sites. Updated quarterly.

    Cover Art
    Oxford Dictionary of National Biography - H.C.G. Matthew and Brian Harrison, eds.
    Call Number: DA28 .O95 2004- (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 019861411X
    Biographies of noteworthy people, no longer living, who inhabited or were connected with the British Isles. Portraits included for more than 10,000 entries.

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia Britannica Online - Academic ed. - Encyclopædia Britannica
    Call Number: AE5 .E363 (Electronic resource)
    EBO provides access to over 75,000 articles from the Encyclopædia Britannica; headlines from the New York Times, the BBC, the SBS Australian News Service, and full-text articles from more than 700 magazines and periodicals provided by EBSCO and Proquest; World data; Gateway to the classics; 166,000 Web sites selected by Britannica editors; over 27,000 images and maps, plus 3,300 animations, videos, and audio files; and world atlas. Includes Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary and thesaurus.

    Cover Art
    Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) - H.W. Wilson Company
    Call Number: AI3 .R43 (Electronic resource)
    Comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, reflecting the history of 20th century America. Access to over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines; many of the articles are peer reviewed. Search Tips

    Cover Art
    Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 - H.W. Wilson Company
    Call Number: Z1219 .C965 (Electronic resource)
    Virtually every major idea that shaped the 20th century found expression in books. The reactions to those ideas are reflected in the reviews of those books, and this new database makes it easy to search this vast record of information. Reflecting nearly eight decades of H.W. Wilson’s Book Review Digest, this database provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Reviews of 300,000 books. Search Tips

    Cover Art
    Book Review Digest Plus (1983- ) - H.W. Wilson Company
    Call Number: Electronic resource
    Provides access to book reviews on a wide range of topics and from a variety of sources on academic works, fiction and non-fiction, the humanities and social sciences, foreign language reviews, and narrow and specialized subjects. Updated daily. Search Tips

    Cover Art
    Ulrich's Periodicals Directory - ProQuest / Serials Solutions
    Call Number: Z6941 .U51 (Electronic resource)
    Standard library directory and comprehensive information database on popular magazines, academic journals, and other serial publications like business and trade magazines. Includes ISSNs, title variants and other publishing information, formats, and whether titles are peer-reviewed or available on open access. Multiple access points, including title, subject, and ISSN searching. Continuously updated.

     

    Reference Books

    The Holland and Terrell Library print reference collection is located on the 1st floor of Terrell (main library entrance) behind the reference desk.

    Cover Art
    Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies - James L Harner
    Call Number: Hol Ref PR83 .H33x 2008
    ISBN: 0873528085
    Contains more than 1,000 annotated entries, which discuss an additional 1,555 books, articles, and electronic resources and cite 723 reviews.Includes electronic resources, particularly reliable sites sponsored by academic institutions and learned societies, to account for the proliferation of bibliographic databases, text archives, and other online resources. This edition also features a new section on cultural studies. Standard in the field. See eBook above.

    Cover Art
    A Reference Guide for English Studies - Michael J. Marcuse
    Call Number: Hol Ref PR56 .M37 1990
    ISBN: 0520079922
    Extensive reference bibliography to literature in English with 24 major sections featuring annotated listings to bibliographies, guides, reviews of research, encyclopedias, dictionaries, journals, and reference histories. Cross-indexed.

    Cover Art
    The Art of Literary Research, 4th ed. - Richard D. Altick and John J. Fenstermaker
    Call Number: Hol Ref PR56 .A68 1993
    ISBN: 0393962407
    Outlines the principles underlying the critical examination of evidence and describes in detail the chief branches of literary inquiry. Further chapters offer practical advice on bibliographical procedure and note-taking, particularly as these are made more efficient by electronic aids, and on the writing of scholarly papers.

    Cover Art
    The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics - Alex Preminger, T.V.F. Brogan et al, eds.
    Call Number: Hol Ref PN1021 .N39 1993
    ISBN: 0691032718
    A comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of its subject: history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology. Prepared by recognized authorities, its articles treat their topics in sufficient depth and with enough lucidity to satisfy the scholar and the general reader alike. Entries vary in length from relatively brief notices to substantial articles of about 20,000 words. See eBook above.

    Cover Art
    The Bedford Glossary of Critical and Literary Terms, 3rd ed. - Ross Murfin and Supryia M. Ray
    Call Number: Hol Ref PN44.5 .M86 2009
    ISBN: 0312461887
    Presents clear, succinct, and lively definitions of over 850 literary and critical terms.

    Cover Art
    Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism - Michael Groden, Martin Kreiswirth, & Imre Szeman, eds.
    Call Number: Hol Ref PN81 .J64x 2005
    ISBN: 0801880106
    An indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually. It includes almost 300 alphabetically arranged entries and subentries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical

    Cover Art
    Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (2000 - current) - Modern Humanities Research Association
    Call Number: Hol Ref Z2011 .M69 (1923 - 1999 in circulating collection)
    ABELL lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world; unpublished doctoral dissertations are covered for the period 1920–1999. Issued annually, with a number of items published between 1892 and 1919 indexed retrospectively. Subject covered include drama, poetry, fiction, biography, literary theory, film, bibliography, traditional culture, onomastics, lexicography, and dialectology.

    Cover Art
    MLA International Bibliography (1921 - 1955) - Modern Language Association
    Call Number: Hol Ref Z7006 .M64 (1956 - 2007 in circulating collection)
    Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Works on literature that is transmitted orally, in print, or in audiovisual media and on human language, including both natural languages and invented languages (e.g., Esperanto, computer-programming languages), are listed. Works on subjects such as aesthetics, human behavior, communication, and information processes are included only if they treat human language or literature.

    Cover Art
    Historical Thesaurus of the Oxford English Dictionary - Christian Kay, et al
    Call Number: Hol Ref PE1591 .H55 2009
    ISBN: 0199208999
    The Historical Thesaurus of the Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is unique - the largest thesaurus in the world and the first historical thesaurus to be created in any language. Based on the OED, it contains almost every word in English from Old English to the present. There are three major sections: I. The external world; II. The mental world; and III. The social world. Within these sections are 236,400 categories and subcategories containing some 797,600 meanings.

    Cover Art
    Green's Dictionary of Slang - Jonathon Green
    Call Number: Hol Ref PE3721 .G677 2010
    ISBN: 0550104402
    Previously known as Chamber's Slang Dictionary, this lexicon covers slang from the past five centuries right up to the present day, from all the different English-speaking countries and regions. Totaling 10.3 million words and over 53,000 entries, the collection provides the definitions of 100,000 words and over 413,000 citations. Every word and phrase is authenticated by genuine and fully-referenced citations of its use, giving the work a level of authority and scholarship unmatched by any other publication in this field.

    Cover Art
    Dictionary of American Regional English - Frederic G. Cassidy, chief editor and Joan Houston Hall, associate editor
    Call Number: Hol Ref PE2843 .D52 1985
    ISBN: 0674205111
    A multi-volume reference work that documents phrases, words, and pronunciations across the United States from the colonial period to the early twenty-first century. Source materials include novels and histories, newspapers, interviews, diaries, letters, government documents, biographical works, and the Internet. Includes an atlas of 1002 language communities surveyed for DARE. University of Wisconsin-Madison website on DARE

    Cover Art
    Dictionary of Literary Biography (Vols. 1 to 359) - Matthew J. Bruccoli, et al, eds.
    Call Number: Hol Ref PN 451.D52x
    ISBN: 0810311127
    Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods. Has cumulative indexes. Also see eBook version above for access to complete full-text DLB backfiles. Searching DLB via Literary Index

    Cover Art
    Contemporary Literary Criticism - Gale-Cengage
    Call Number: Hol Ref PN86 .C1
    Contemporary Literary Criticism covers authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959.
    Each print volume in this long-standing series profiles approximately 6-8 novelists, poets, playwrights and other creative and nonfiction writers by providing full-text or excerpted criticism taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Each of the approximately 200 essays per volume is prefaced by a full citation and annotation and most entries in the print series include an author portrait. Thousands of authors fully indexes by name, title and nationality. Also see e-version above. Searching Contemporary Literary Criticism via Literary Index

    Cover Art
    Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism - Gale-Cengage
    Call Number: Hol Ref PN761 .N5
    Commentary on the careers and works of acclaimed poets, novelists, short story writers, dramatists and philosophers who died between 1800 and 1899. Each volume presents overviews of four to eight authors with chronologically arranged criticism representing the entire range of response to each author. Entries typically include an author portrait, an introduction to the author, a primary bibliography, annotated criticism and an annotated list of further reading sources. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Every fourth volume is a Topics volume covering major literary movements, trends and other topics related to nineteenth-century literature. Volumes include author, nationality, and topic and title indexes. A cumulative title index to the entire series is published separately. Also see e-version above. Searching Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism via Literary Index

    Cover Art
    Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 - Gale-Cengage
    Call Number: Hol Ref PN86 .L56
    International resource for complete critical coverage of the careers and works of the greatest writers and thinkers of the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance, and the Restoration eras. Detailed entries offer access to a variety of important interpretations of historical periods, literary trends and topics, and the achievements of noteworthy individuals. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Volumes include author, nationality, topic, and title indexes. A cumulative title index to the entire series is published separately. Searching Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 via Literary Index

    Cover Art
    Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Independents and Underground Classics (3 Vols.) - Bart H. Beaty and Stephen Weiner, eds.
    Call Number: Hol Ref PN6725 .C754 2012
    Provides in-depth coverage for over 215 of the most popular and studied graphic novels. These short essays look beyond the "pop culture" aspects of the medium to show the wide range of literary themes and artistic styles that are used to convey beliefs and conflicts that are as old as the stories told in ancient civilization. Entries arranged alphabetically, and begin with full ready reference top matter, including the title or subtitle, the primary author or authors, the illustrators who contributed to the work, the first serial and book publication, the publisher, the number of pages, the ISBN, and the genre and/or subgenre. Also see eBook version above.

    Cover Art
    Masterplots, 4th ed. - Laurence W. Mazzeno, ed.
    Call Number: Hol Ref PN44 .M33 2011
    ISBN: 1587655683
    Provides plot synopses and critical evaluations of a comprehensive selection of English-language and world literature that has been translated into English. Essays are in alphabetical order by title, and each includes an annotated bibliography to aid readers in further study. The set features 2,220 essays, many new or newly edited from previous editions, ready reference data on the type of work, the author and the date of first publication and where applicable, first English translation. For all works of fiction, the opening section also provides information on the "Type of Plot," "Time of Plot," and "Locale." In addition, there is for most works of fiction a section titled "Principal Characters," which lists the work's main characters, along with brief descriptions. Set also features separate Chronological, Geographical, Title, Author, Genre, and Themes & Issues indexes. Also see eBook version above.

    Cover Art
    Critical Survey of Short Fiction, 4th ed. - Charles E. May, ed.
    Call Number: Hol Ref PN3321 .C7 2011
    ISBN: 1587657899
    Covers 625 writers representing 44 countries and the history of short fiction from antiquity to the 21st century. Features 53 informative overviews with 24 overviews newly added to this edition, as well as all the literary movement essays from previous editions. Entries and indexing include bibliographies, dates and photos, awards, timelines, chronological and geographical indexes, a guide to online resources, and a subject index. Specific coverage consists of American Writers (4 vols.), British, Irish, and Commonwealth Writers (2 vols.), European Writers (1 vol.), World Writers (1 vol.), and Topical Essays (1 vol.). A Cumulative Indexes volume covers all five subsets. Electronic version above.

    Cover Art
    The Encyclopedia of English Renaissance Literature (3 vols.) - Garrett A. Sullivan, Jr., Alan Stewart et al, eds.
    Call Number: Hol Ref PR411 .E53 2012
    ISBN: 1405194499
    Has over 400 entries with coverage of canonical authors and their works from early 16th century to the mid 17th century. Also includes a variety of previously under-considered areas, including women writers, broadside ballads, commonplace books, and other popular literary forms. Volumes fully indexed and cross-referenced.

    Cover Art
    American Decades Primary Sources: 1900-1999 (10 vols.) - Cynthia Rose, project editor
    Call Number: Hol Ref E169.1 .A471977 2004
    Series contains over two thousand primary sources on twentieth-century American history and culture, featuring seventy-five different types of sources, arranged chronologically in twelve categories, including the arts, education, government and politics, media, medicine and health, religion, and sports. Each volume has approximately 200 full or excerpted primary sources in 160-170 entries from the period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from the decade. Also includes photos and illustrations.

    Cover Art
    American History through Literature, 1820-1870 (3 vols.) - Janet Gabler-Hover and Robert Sattelmeyer, editors-in-chief
    Call Number: Hol Ref PS217.H57 A84 2006
    ISBN: 0684314606
    The analysis of a wide range of classics in American literature, viewed as cultural and historical documents, cultivates critical skills in reading texts from various perspectives, including aesthetic, biographical, social, historical, racial and gendered.

    Cover Art
    American History through Literature, 1870-1920 (3 vols.) - Tom Quirk and Gary Scharnhorst, editors-in-chief
    Call Number: Hol Ref PS217.H57 A843 2006
    ISBN: 0684314649
    The analysis of a wide range of classics in American literature, viewed as cultural and historical documents, cultivates critical skills in reading texts from various perspectives, including aesthetic, biographical, social, historical, racial and gendered.

    Cover Art
    Literature and Its Times - Joyce Moss and George Wilson
    Call Number: Hol Ref PN50 .L574 1997
    ISBN: 0787606065
    In five volumes, contains profiles of three hundred notable literary works written from ancient times through the end of the twentieth century, relating them to the historical context in which they were written and in which they are set; arranged alphabetically by title within five historical periods.

    Cover Art
    Contemporary Authors - Gale Research Company
    Call Number: WSU Hol Ref-Table-C (several volumes) Z1224 .C632x
    ISBN: 0787666394
    Biographical information on more than 130,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and informative essays about their lives and work. A softcover cumulative index is published twice per year. Also see electronic version above.

    Cover Art
    MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. - Joseph Gibaldi
    Call Number: Hol Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009
    ISBN: 1603290257
    Gives step-by-step advice on every aspect of writing research papers, from selecting a topic to submitting the completed paper. Also provides an authoritative update of MLA documentation style for use in student writing, including simplified guidelines for citing works published on the Web and new recommendations for citing several kinds of works, such as digital files and graphic narratives.

    Cover Art
    The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy: Themes, Works, and Wonders (multi-volume) - Gary Westfahl, ed.
    Call Number: Hol Ref PS374.S35 G74 2005
    ISBN: 0313329508
    Includes 150 expert contributors and 600 entries on pervasive themes in science fiction and fantasy, with detailed attention to selected novels, films, and television series. Each volume opens with an "Alphabetical List of Themes," an "Alphabetical List of Classic Works," and a "Guide to Related Topics," which sorts thematic entries under broad topics and works under media type ("Books," "Films," "Television Series").

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of Life Writing: Autobiographical and Biographical Forms (2 vols.) - Margaretta Jolly, ed.
    Call Number: Hol Ref CT21 .E53 2001
    ISBN: 157958232X
    This is the first substantial reference work in English on the various forms that constitute "life writing." As this term suggests, the Encyclopedia explores not only autobiography and biography proper, but also letters, diaries, memoirs, family histories, case histories, and other ways in which individual lives have been recorded and structured. It includes entries on genres and subgenres, national and regional traditions from around the world, and important autobiographical writers, as well as articles on related areas such as oral history, anthropology, testimonies, and the representation of life stories in non-verbal art forms.

    Cover Art
    The Oxford Guide to Literature in English Translation - Peter France, ed.
    Call Number: Hol Ref PR131 .O94 2000
    ISBN: 0198183593
    Covers translations out of many languages, from Greek to Korean, Swahili to Russian, with entries on individual texts (such as the Thousand and One Nights), writers (Ibsen or Proust), genres (Chinese poetry), or national literature (for example, Hungarian) complemented by more substantial essays on theoretical questions, a pioneering outline of the history of translation into English, and discussions of the problems raised by specific types of text (for example, poetry or oral literature). See eBook version above.

    Cover Art
    The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English - Dominic Head, ed.
    Call Number: Hol Ref PR85 .C29 2006
    ISBN: 0521831792
    Covers everything from Old English to contemporary writing from all over the English-speaking world. Has entries on writers from Britain, Ireland, USA, Canada, India, Africa, South Africa, New Zealand, the South Pacific, and Australia. Genres include poems, novels, literary journals, and plays.

    Cover Art
    Oxford Companion to English Literature - Margaret Drabble, ed.
    Call Number: Holl Ref PR19 .O94 2000
    ISBN: 0198662440
    Places English literature in its widest context, with extensive coverage of writers, works, literary theory, allusions, and characters, and sixteen featured entries on key topics including black British literature, fantasy fiction, and modernism

    Cover Art
    The Chronology of American Literature: America's Literary Achievements From the Colonial Era to Modern Times - Daniel S. Burt, ed.
    Call Number: Hol Ref PS94 .C48 2004
    ISBN: 9780618168217
    Includes more than 8, 400 literary works by more than 5, 000 writers. Sections for each year are grouped in five chapters by period, from 1582 to 1999. Within each year, entries are grouped by genre, such as diaries and other personal writings, fiction, essays, literary criticism and scholarship, nonfiction, poetry, and drama. Within each genre, authors are listed alphabetically. Each chapter has an Introduction that gives an overview of the major events of the period.

    Cover Art
    The Oxford Chronology of English Literature (2 Vols.) - Michael Cox, ed.
    Call Number: Hol Ref Z2011 .O98 2002
    ISBN: 9780198606390
    An extensive, carefully selected checklist of significant and representative works of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, and literary scholarship from 1475 to 2000 is represented. This unique 2-volume set contains a generous sampling of nearly 30,000 works from more than 4,000 authors.

    Cover Art
    The Cambridge History of Irish Literature - Margaret Kelleher and Philip O'Leary, eds.
    Call Number: Hol Ref PB1306 .C36 2006
    ISBN: 0521822246
    Comprehensive history of Irish literature in both its major languages. The twenty-eight chapters in this two-volume history provide an authoritative chronological survey of the Irish literary tradition, both in Irish and English. Spanning fifteen centuries of literary achievement, the two volumes range from the earliest medieval Latin texts to the late twentieth century.

    Cover Art
    Book Review Index (1965-2003) - Gale Cengage Learning
    Call Number: Hol Ref Z1035.A1 B6
    Provides quick access to reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic and professional interests. Coverage and citations for both newly published and older materials

    Cover Art
    Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1900/1904 - 2005) - H.W. Wilson Co.
    Call Number: Hol Ref AI3 .R48
    Standard reference index to popular publications from a variety of fields and disciplines.

    Cover Art
    Book Review Digest (1905 - 2004) - H.W. Wilson Co.
    Call Number: Hol Ref Z1219 .C96
    ISBN: 1247414973
    Cites and provides excerpts of reviews of current English-language fiction and nonfiction books for children and adults. An abstract of each book is also provided. Periodical coverage includes leading magazines from the United States, Canada, and Great Britain.

     

    Searching the Audiobooks Collection in the Libraries

     

    Go to the Advanced Search screen of Search It and select in subject from the drop-down menu. Type audiobooks in the search box.  Your search should look like the sample image above.

    Professional Associations

    Helpful Links

    • Printing in the Libraries
    • Classes on Demand
      Research Productivity & Social Tools Workshops
    • Citation Help
    • Why We Cite
      A brief tutorial on the role of citation in scholarly and academic writing. (Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
    • Annotated Bibliographies
      "This handout will explain why annotated bibliographies are useful for researchers, provide an explanation of what constitutes an annotation, describe various types of annotations and styles for writing them, and offer multiple examples of annotated bibliographies in the MLA, APA, and CBE/CSE styles of citation." (Writing Center: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
    • Literature Reviews
      "This handout will explain what a literature review is and offer insights into the form and construction of a literature review in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences." (Writing Center: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
    • Scholarly Journals vs. Magazines
      A chart which defines and contrasts scholarly journals and articles with other types of periodical literature. (Produced by the University of Central Florida Libraries)
    • Google Scholar Citations Help
      Google Scholar Citations provides a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles. You can check who is citing your publications, graph citations over time, and compute several citation metrics. You can also make your profile public, so that it may appear in Google Scholar results when people search for your name, e.g., richard feynman.
    • Registering for Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
    • WorldCat Genres
      "WorldCat Genres allows you to browse dozens of fiction genres for hundreds of titles, authors, subjects, characters, locations and more, ranked by popularity in the world's libraries." (from site)
    • Department of English
    • Ask A Librarian
    • Using the Proxy Bookmarklet | WSU Libraries
     

    Very Short Introductions

    Concise introductory monographs on a wide range of topics, including the arts and humanities.

    Research Services - Arts & Humanities

    Profile Image
    Bob Matuozzi
    Contact Info
    Holland and Terrell Libraries Terrell 120-J
    Office Phone: 509-335-7587

    Specialized and advanced research consultations by appointment.
    Send Email
    Library Liaison to:
    Department of English • Department of Fine Arts (including Photography) • Philosophy Department (including Religion) • School of Music
     

    Research Guides

    Cover Art
    The Oxford Guide to Library Research, 3rd ed. - Thomas Mann
    Call Number: Z710 .M23 2005
    ISBN: 0195189981

    Cover Art
    The Modern Researcher, 6th ed. - Jacques Barzun and Henry F. Graff
    Call Number: LB2369 .B28 2004
    ISBN: 9780495318705

    Cover Art
    The Craft of Research, 3rd ed. - Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams
    Call Number: Q180.55.M4 B66 2008 (Electronic resource)
    ISBN: 0226065669
    Print also available.

    Collection Development Policy

     

    Library News

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding
    WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip