Food Science Indexes, Abstracts and Other Databases
Indexes, Abstracts and Other Databases:
- AGRICOLA: Covers publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including: animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture, economics, education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. AGRICOLA is produced by the National Agricultural Library. This database includes selected materials dating back to the 17th century but full coverage starts in 1970.
- BIOSIS Previews (1969-present): Covers literature in all areas of biology and related disciplines. To review biological literature published before 1969 consult Biological Abstracts located on the first floor of Owen Library from 1927 to 1995.
- CAB Abstracts (1910-present): CAB provides citations with abstracts to agricultural literature including: agronomy, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental sciences, genetics, irrigation, recreation and tourism, microbiology, rural development, and veterinary medicine.
- Dissertations & Theses (coverage varies): Database of more than two million dissertations and selected theses. More recent dissertations and theses (published from the 1980s to the present) include abstracts. A select few titles include free, twenty-four page previews. Complete dissertations and theses are not available, and must be purchased.
- Food Science and Technology Abstracts (1969-present) FSTA covers all areas of food science, food technology, and human nutrition, including: basic food science, biotechnology, toxicology, packaging, and engineering.
- Web of Science (1980-present): The web version of the Science Citation Index, Web of Science covers journals in Science, Engineering, Agriculture and Medicine. Web of Sciences allows users to see how often an article was cited and view those citations, view the citations the author used, and search by citation. To review scientific literature published before 1980 consult the Science Citation Index located on the first floor of the Owen Library.
- Pubmed: is an index to the world's medical, medical research and molecular biology literature. This database includes links to the WSU Libraries holdings, including links to electronic journals.
- Also accessible via the Pubmeb website are the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) biological sequence databases, including:
- Nucleotides database: is a collection of sequences from several sources (including GenBank, RefSeq and PDB)
- Protein database: that have been compiled from a variety of sources, including SwissProt, PIR, PRF, PDB, and translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank and RefSeq. protein database is cross-linked to the Entrez taxonomy database. This allows you to find taxonomy information for the species from which a protein sequence was derived.
- Genomes database:The whole genomes of over 1000 viruses and over 100 microbes and includes macroscopic organisms. The genomes represent both completely sequenced organisms and those for which sequencing is in progress.
- Stucture or Molecular Modelling Database (MMDB): contains 3-D macromolecular structures, including proteins and polynucleotides. MMDB contains over 10,000 structures and is linked to the rest of the NCBI databases, including sequences, bibliographic citations, taxonomic classifications, and sequence and structure neighbors
- Taxonomy database: contains the names of all organisms that are represented in the genetic databases with at least one nucleotide or protein sequence
- OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man): This database is a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders authored and edited by Dr. Victor A. McKusick and his colleagues at Johns Hopkins and elsewhere, and developed for the World Wide Web by NCBI
Agriculture & Instruction Librarian
127 Owen Science & Engineering Library