Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
This is the "Psychology Main Page" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology  

Last Updated: Nov 19, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/psychology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Psychology Main Page Print Page
  Search: 
 

Good Reads

Hoffer, T. A., & Shelton, J. L. E. (2013). Suicide among child sex offenders. New York, NY: Springer.

By providing empirical data and multidisciplinary considerations, the book increases awareness of child sex offender suicide among the various entities which come into contact with this population of offenders. This book attempts to bring awareness of this potentially high risk population to better inform the law enforcement, corrections, and mental health communities of the unique risk factors for suicide among CSOs and provide a more effective crisis response. The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Behavioral Analysis Unit III- Crimes Against Children reviewed and analyzed 106 male Child Sex Offenders (CSO) who committed suicide during the course of a child sex crime investigation.  Of the 106 CSOs, 79% were child pornography traders/collectors, 43% were child molesters, 21% were travelers, and 18% were child pornography producers.  Analyses also revealed that nearly all were Caucasian and the majority were married, employed, and died via self-inflicted gunshot wound.  Of particular interest was that in 26% of the cases, the offender killed himself within 48 hours of his awareness of the investigation; and in nearly half of the known cases, the offender had past/current military service and a criminal history.  In addition, 68% left a suicide note, which is substantially higher than the general suicide population. Analysis of the notes revealed common aspects and themes including cognitive distortions, burdensomeness, shame, and self-blame. The most frequently cited reason for the suicide in the note was the child sex crime investigation (from publisher's website).   

 

Libraries' Interfaces Are Changing

The WSU LIbraries is in the process of simplifying its webpages and changing its core software in preparation for a move to shared integrated library system (SILS) at the end of 2013.  Because recent LibQual+ results revealed that library users found the present Libraries' web interfaces difficult to use and wanted easier, more intuitive access tools, the new changes should resonate with many who are reading this.  Shared with the other  37-members of the ORBIS Cascade Alliance (our Summit partners), the new system promises to provide students and faculty with more resources easily, resulting in more efficient research and better results.  

Stay tuned for further details..... 

WSU WorldCat

WSU WorldCat, the discovery search engine for the WSU Libraries, allows users to search local, regional, and faraway collections for books, journals, and other media wherever they may be housed.  It includes items housed at the "Washington State University Libraries," the "Summit Libraries" (our regional consortium of Washington and Oregon libraries), and the "WorldCat Libraries."  Because users can search for these items all at one time, WSU WorldCat is truly one-stop shopping! Simply follow the record down the page and click on the appropriate buttons!

Because WSU WorldCat contains several article databases that may or may be useful in a particular search, WSU WorldCat may be used as an article-level discovery tool. However, a search of WSU WorldCat should never be viewed as a substitute for the psychology databases identified in this guide as key resources. When using WSU WorldCat, users should pay particular attention to the limiting options available down the left-hand sidebar each item records where search results may be limited by Databases or Format, or further Refined by Author, Year, Language, Content, Audience, or Topic.  These options help users explore the many types of items available through WorldCat.   

WSU WorldCat originates from a central generic search box on the Libraries' homepage. Please note however that there is a link below the search box labelled "Advanced Search" for patrons who want a more tailored version of the article indexes in the database.  

Here is a link to the WSU Libraries' homepage: 

GRIFFIN Catalog

The Libraries' library catalog, GRIFFIN, is still being updated and available for searching.  GRIFFIN offers users a few notable advantages including easy known-item searching (either we have something or we don't), keyword searching that may be limited to location (e.g., WSU Holland), course reserve searching including online course reserves, and an embedded stack chart for the Holland and Terrell Libraries.  

Here is a link directly to the GRIFFIN catalog:

 

Discover Online Access to PsycTests and APA Handbooks through PsycNet

Recently we switched our access to PsycTESTS, a database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales and other assessments, from EBSCO to the American Psychological Association's PsycNET.  WSU's PsycNet also provides access to some of the APA's latest handbooks, some books through PsycBOOKS, and review literature through PsycCRITIQUES.  However PsycInfo, the American Psychological Association's major database is still provided through ProQuest.  

New APA Handbooks online over APA's PsycNET include:

                

Cooper, H. M., & American Psychological Association. (2012). APA handbook of research methods in psychology:  volumes. Washington, D.C: American Psychological Association. (eBook)

Volume 1, Foundations, planning, measures, and psychometrics

Volume 2, Research designs: quantitative, qualitative, neuropsychological, and biological

Volume 3, Data analysis and research publication

 APA Handbook of Tests and Measures in Psychology

Geisinger, K. F., & American Psychological Association. (2013). APA handbook of testing and assessment in psychology: 3 volumes. Washington, D.C: American Psychological Association. (eBook)

Volume 1, Test theory and testing and assessment in industrial and organizational psychology

Volume 2, Testing and assessment in clinical and counseling psychology

Volume 3, Testing and assessment in school psychology and education

 

Online Reference Works in Psychology

Weiner, I. B. & Craighead, W. E. (2010). The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology, 4th edition.  Hoboken, NJ:  John Wiley.

 

Western State Hospital

View of the entrance to the Western State Hospital, largest psychiatric hospital in the Pacific Northwest.

Courtesy of kuow.org. 

 

Welcome!

I hope everyone finds these resources to be valuable in the exploration of this topic.  I am available for classes and private research consultations. My contact information is below. Feel free to contact me for further assistance. 

Online DSM-5 Through Psychiatry Online

 This last summer, an online version of DSM-5 was added to the Psychiatry Online database. 

Subject Profile

Profile Image
Christy Zlatos
Contact Info
Terrell Library, Room 120L
Pullman, WA 99164-5610

Office Phone: (509) 335-4536
Send Email
 

Librarian Song

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip