Students and faculty interested in the sciences can find many resources in the Owen Science & Engineering Library. If you have any questions not answered on the WSU Libraries website or would like to request a book or journal on any subject related to Science, please contact a science librarian.
Science Indexes, Abstracts, and other Databases
- Web of Science (1980-present): The web version of the Science Citation Index, Web of Science covers journals in Science, Engineering, Agriculture and Medicine. Web of Sciences allows users to see how often an article was cited and view those citations, view the citations the author used, and search by citation. To review scientific literature published before 1980 consult the Science Citation Index located on the first floor of the Owen Library.
- Academic Search Complete Provides access to scholarly journals, general interest magazines, and newspapers. Some articles are fulltext. This can be a good way to find news articles about recent scientific developments.
We have many other databases related to science and technology, including:
- AGRICOLA Covers publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including: animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture, economics, education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. AGRICOLA is produced by the National Agricultural Library. This database includes selected materials dating back to the 17th century but full coverage starts in 1970.
- ARIBIB (1899-present): Index to the astronomical literature corresponding to the print bibliographies Astronomy & Astrophysics Abstracts and Astronomischer Jahresbericht.
- arXiv: Electronic archive research papers in physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and computer science.
- BIOSIS Previews (1969-present): Covers literature in all areas of biology and related disciplines. To review biological literature published before 1969 consult Biological Abstracts located on the first floor of Owen Library, covering 1927 to 1995.
- GeoRef: GeoRef is a comprehensive geology database.
- Inspec (1968-present): World's largest bibliographic database in the field of physics, electrical engineering, electronics, computers and control engineering and information technology.
- Knovel: Knovel provides access to online handbooks containing data for scientists and engineers
- MathSciNet (1940-present) An index to research literature and review texts in mathematics.
- Scifinder Scholar registration: Individual registration is required.
- SciFinder Scholar (Web Version) for Registered Users:Scfinder Scholar is the premier database for journal and patent literature covering chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science and biomedical sciences.It includes the following databases:
- Chemical Abstracts (1907-present): Covers international journals, patents, technical reports, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations from all areas of chemistry and related sciences. This database also allows for citing and cited reference searches.
- Chemical Abstracts Registry Database: A chemical dictionary and structure database that contains unique substance records produced as new substances and are identified by the Chemical Abstracts Service(CAS) Registry System.
- CASREACT: A chemical reaction database with information derived from documents covered in the Organic Sections of Chemical Abstracts journals. The document-based file contains both single-step and multistep reactions, and CA Abstract Number is the Accession Number in the file.
- Chemcats (Chemical Catalogs Online): A catalog file that contains listings of companies that sell chemicals worldwide.
- Chemlist (Regulated Chemicals Listing) (1979-present): Contains chemical substances on national and transnational inventories.
- Springer Protocols is a database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Compiling protocols from Humana's successful book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals, Springer Protocols offers researchers access to nearly thirty years worth of time tested, easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab.
- United States Patent and Trademark Office Patent Database: Covers United States Utility, Design and Plant Patents. Contents include images for patents from 1790 to the present.
Science and Reference Librarian
Holland & Terrell Libraries
Terrell Library 120H
Phone: (509) 335-7601
agricultural sciences, crop & soil sciences, entomology, horticulture, mathematics, medical sciences, natural resource sciences, plant pathology, science (general)
virtual reference services, discovery tools, library leadership