This is the "Home" page of the "Marketing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Marketing   Tags: marketing  

Marketing is the process of determining the needs and wants of consumers and being able to deliver products that satisfy those needs and wants. This guide lists resources that support the study of marketing.
Last Updated: Feb 12, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/marketing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Internet Links

Demographics & Statistics

American FactFinder.  U.S. Census Bureau shortcut to population, housing, and demographic statistics for towns, cities, counties, states, and zip codes, includes statistics from the 2010 United States Census.

State & County QuickFacts. Quick access to facts about people, business, and geography from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Population Reference Bureau.  U.S. population issues, trends, and statistics, in graphics and text, are presented in an easy-to-use format.  Topics include marriage and family, population estimates and projections, education, race and ethnicity, income and poverty, migration, foreign-born population, children, older population, fertility, labor force and employment, and mortality.

STATSAmerica.  Provides demographic statistics for states, counties and metropolitan areas.

City-Data.com.  Provides profiles of U.S. cities with population, income, race, education, and housing statistics.

Consumer Expenditure Survey.  U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.  Provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. 

American Time Use Survey.  U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.  Measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.

Pew Social & Demographic Trends.  Studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key areas of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure.

CensusScope. An easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends from the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan.  Designed for generalists and specialists, it includes charts, maps, and ranking for national, state, metro, and county data from the 2010 census and earlier.

Marketing Resources

Online Marketing Resources.  Links to web marketing resources provided by the North Carolina Small Business and Technology Development Center (SBTDC).

KnowThis.Com. Provides free content on the basic principles of marketing and advertising in clear, concise tutorials. It also provides numerous Web resources for advertising, selling, promotion, research, and more in concise information areas for easy browsing.

Marketing Resources.  Provided by MarketingDegree.net.

 

Library Catalogs

WSU WorldCat.  Lists books and other resources owned by WSU and other libraries as well as journal articles.

Griffin Catalog.  Lists books and other resources owned by WSU as well as journal titles.  Does not provide access to journal articles by topic.

 

Databases, Indexes, Specialized Resources

Academic Search Complete.  A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Business Source Complete.  A definitive scholarly business database, providing an extensive collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts are provided for the most important scholarly business journals back to the early 20th Century.

Communication & Mass Media Complete.  Comprehensive journal index with full- terxt articles covering the communications and mass media fields.

Lexis Nexis Academic.  Provides access to full text information from newspapers, magazines, company annual reports, and more, as well as legal information.

Local Market Audience Analyst.  Must use Internet Explorer.  Provides market, lifestyle, and demographic information for counties and Designated Market Areas (DMA).

Passport GMID.  Provides research reports on a variety of consumer products and services.  Also, provides business intelligence on countries, companies, and markets.  Covers over 200 countries.  Tip: Mouse over Countries & Consumers at the top of the display and click Consumer Trends and Lifestyles.

PsycINFO.  Index with summaries of citations to articles in over 1,300 psychology research journals with coverage back to 1900.

Simmons OneView.  (formerly Choices 3).   Access limited to on campus; no remote access.  Provides access to consumer data about product and brand usage, demographics, media usage, and more.  Based on a survey of several thousand households, it can be used to create customized reports analyzing the demographic and psychographic characteristics or product users and the media behavior.  LibGuide to Simmons OneView developed by Erica Nicol, Communication Librarian, explains how to use the database.

Sociological Abstracts.  Citations with abstracts to articles on all aspects of sociology, social work, and other social sciences since 1963.

 

Print Reference Books

Key Concepts in Marketing - Jim Blythe
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HF5415 .B4852 2009
ISBN: 9781847874986
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
The Advanced Dictionary of Marketing - Scott Dacko
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HF5412 .D33 2008
ISBN: 9780199285990
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
Marketing in the 21st Century - Bruce D. Keillor (Editor)
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HF5415 .M2194 2007 v.1-4
ISBN: 9780275992750
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
Dic-Tion-Ary of Marketing Communications - Norman A. Govoni
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HF5412 .G68 2004
ISBN: 0761927700
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
The International Handbook of Market Research Techniques - Robin Birn
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HF5415.2 .H362 2000
ISBN: 0749426160
Publication Date: 2000

Cover Art
How to Write a Successful Marketing Plan - Roman G. Hiebing
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HF5415.13 .H52 1997
ISBN: 0844232025
Publication Date: 1996

Business and Economics Librarian

Profile Image
Mary Gilles
Reference Desk Hours: No scheduled hours during the summer. Please contact for an appointment.
Logo - Skype
Contact Info
Terrell Library 120E
Office Phone: 509-335-8740
Fax: 509-335-6721
Skype Name mary.gilles47
Send Email
 

What I Can Do for You

For students, I can:

  • Recommend the best business databases to search for your research topic
  • Answer your questions via email, phone or in-person
  • Meet with you individually or in groups to hash out your topic or discuss business research strategies
  • Tell you about library services

For faculty, I can:

  • Track down tricky citations
  • Introduce your students to research tools and strategies via a workshop
  • Create a webpage tailored to your class assignment
  • Discuss ways to best incorporate research skills and library materials into your class assignments
  • Meet with your students individually or in groups
  • Purchase books and other material needed for your research
  • Tell you about new library services
  • Communicate the department's concerns and information needs on to others in the Libraries
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip