This is the "Citation Generation & Databases" page of the "Do Databases Format Citations Correctly?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Do Databases Format Citations Correctly?  

Many library databases can now format citations in MLA, Chicago, APA, and other bibliographic styles. But should you trust them? This page looks at how accurate these citation generators are.
Last Updated: Jul 5, 2012 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/content.php?pid=320802 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Citation Generation & Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

From: "Database citation generators: generating what, exactly?"

Database citation generators: generating what, exactly?

"At present, databases such as EBSCO and ProQuest don't effectively discriminate between various documentation styles. They mix and match conventions, such as using MLA's hanging indent in an AMA example.

These databases use their own internal formatting rather than looking to the standard disciplinary norms.

(written in 2009)


Typically, the citations they provide to students reflect some of the characteristics of a citation style but not all, and they reflect no basic understanding of any style's underlying assumptions. Pagination--either continuous or by volume, spacing, capitalization, presentation of dates--and links are all issues that seem to be in dispute here."

knot

From: http://www.freepatentsonline.com/article/Writing-Lab-Newsletter/204036295.html


Bibliography: Citation Generators

 

To really screw up...

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip