Search WSU WorldCat
Useful Guides
- Last Updated Feb 22, 2013
This guide can help you cite information correctly in your paper. Learn about Legal citations, reference management tools, and citing government documents too.
1,900 views this year
- Last Updated Jun 7, 2012
Use this guide to explore complex and controversial issues. Find out all sides of the debate on hot issues.
531 views this year
- Last Updated Dec 19, 2012
This guide contains information literacy instructional materials based on the ACRL Information Literacy Standards.
8,195 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 6, 2013
Look here for basic information about the WSU Libraries. This site includes maps, the FAQ on Library Resources, information on interlibrary loan, and links to online tours.
1,368 views this year
- Last Updated May 7, 2013
A guide to basic information about finding, evaluating, and using government documents for assignments, reports, and your own information.
828 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 8, 2013
Learn about using WSU WorldCat and all of its features with this collection of information and tutorials!
2,558 views this year
What's Presearch?
Presearch comes before research! Exploring your topic and getting some background information at the start of a research project can help you identify useful information (i.e. a theme or subtopic to focus on, possible questions to be answered, timelines, etc.) and save you time. This is also a good way to refine your search - to take a broad topic (education, for example) and narrow it to something that you can cover in a meaningful way in your paper (do programs like Teach for America really work?).
General Online Reference Resources
(See the boxes below for tips on finding other, more specialized, reference and background information sources.)
- Oxford Reference Online
- Sage Knowledge
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- CQ Press Electronic Library(You will probably want to focus on the CQ Researcher and the Global Researcher)
- Wikipedia
- International Debates: A Pro and Con Monthly Each monthly issue is devoted to an international affairs topic. You can find relevant articles by typing your subject, i.e. family planning, into the "Search Within this Publication" link. Source is "an independent monthly featuring global controversies."
Points of View and More
You'll also want to look at the Controversies and Hot Topics guide linked in the left-hand content box.
- CQ ResearcherYou can search or browse (topic or date)
- CQ Global ResearcherCovers international issues
Finding Reference and Background Information
1. Select the Griffin catalog and then click on the Advanced Search button.
2. From advanced search select WSU Holland Reference in the Location drop-down menu
3. In the search box, type in a search such as: encyclopedia* topic - this will lead you to the areas in the Holland and Terrell Libraries reference collection that may be relevant for your work.(Why the *? Some encyclopedias may not have Encyclopedia in the title, but will be described as such in the subject classification. Library subjects for types of works (i.e. encyclopedias or dictionaries) are often plural instead of singular).
4. Look for encyclopedias, historical dictionaries, handbooks, statistical books, and other background resource material relevant to your topic.
5. Similar things are generally shelved together, and a call number that provides a spot-on item in the reference collection may lead you to relevant works in the regualr stacks where all the books that can be checked out are shelved. That's serendipity and synchronicity!







Loading...
