This is the "Home" page of the "Constitution Day" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Constitution Day  

Resources and events for the annual Constitution Day and Citizenship Day, September 17.
Last Updated: Feb 26, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/constitutionday Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Constitution Day 2013

Constitution Day 2013 is on Tuesday, Sept. 17, 2013.

On Sept. 17, 2013, the U.S. Government Printing Office (USGPO), working in conjunction with the Library of Congress and the Senate Committee on Rules and Administration, released an iOS app and web-based publication of an annotated version of the United States Constitution. Known as the 'Constitution Annotated,' it will now be updated with new constitutional law case analysis 3-4 times a year rather than once every 2 years with a 10-year gap between bound editions.  The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is charged with providing the update analysis.

The web publication is at http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/GPO-CONAN-2013/content-detail.html

 The app may be seen at iTunes via this link: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/u.s.-constitution-analysis/id692260032?mt=8

 

United States Constitution

Constitution of the United States (GPO Access)   Analysis and interpretation, Supreme Court cases, Bill of Rights, 2002 and 1992 editions and supplements.  Another official version on FDsys.

Constitucion de los Estados Unidos (National Archives)

Charters of Freedom: Constitution of the United States  (National Archives)     View images of the original document and read about the times in which the Constitution was signed. "Questions and Answers" provides details of the Constitutional Convention, writing and ratification, etc.

Interactive Constitution The National Constitution Center, a non-profit organization based in Philadelphia, provides this website that allows keyword searching of the Constitution with discussion of the text, exploration by topic with as "checks and balances," and "due process," and Supreme Court cases that have interpreted the Constitution.

 

The Establishment of Constitution Day

Constitution Day and Citizenship Day was established in Division J of Public Law 108-447, the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2005:
SEC. 111. (a) The head of each Federal agency or department shall-
(1) provide each new employee of the agency or department with educational and training materials concerning the United States Constitution as part of the orientation materials provided to the new employee; and
(2) provide educational and training materials concerning the United States Constitution to each employee of the agency or department on September 17 of each year.
(b) Each educational institution that receives Federal funds for a fiscal year shall hold an educational program on the United States Constitution on September 17 of such year for the students served by the educational institution.


The Education Department issued a "Notice of Implementation of Constitution Day and Citizenship Day on September 17 of Each Year," 70 Fed. Reg. 29727 (May 24, 2005), which applies to educational institutions receiving federal funding from the Department of Education.

For more about the creation of this commemorative day see the Law Library of Congress' page, "Constitution Day and Citizenship Day."

 

United States Constitution

 

U.S. Constitution--Resources

Books, videos, and other resources about the U.S. Constitution, Amendments, Bill of Rights, constitutional law, and related topics can be checked out from the WSU Libraries. Click on the 'Books and Videos' link above to  get some ideas, or search the WSU catalog, Search It.

Primary Documents in American History: the Constitution  (Library of Congress)    The American Memory History Collection includes the full-text of documents providing background on the framing and writing of the Constitution such as Elliot's Debates, Farrand's Records, and Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention, 1774-1789.

A more perfect union.  CNN, 1987.  Videos 1-8.  A video series on the U.S. Constitution.  WSU Media Materials & Reserves

The Founder's Constitution    (University of Chicago Press)    An anthology of writings  "of a wide array of people engaged in the problem of making popular government safe, steady, and accountable." This site makes accessible the 5-vol. work by broad themes, by article, section, and clause of the Constitution, and by keyword.

"Creating the United States Constitution"  An online exhibit by the Library of Congress

Primary Documents in American History--U.S. Constitution   Also from the Library of Congress

United States Constitution; Texts, Commentaries, Historical Texts and Judicial Decisions  Resources compiled by the Law Library of Congress

 

Teaching Materials for Constitution Day

Teaching with Documents: Observing Constitution Day    Curriculum ideas from the National Archives

Constitution Day  (U.S. Courts)

Constitution Day Resources   Thomas (Library of Congress)

Government Information Librarian

Profile Image
Marilyn Von Seggern
Contact Info
office: Terrell Library 120M
phone: 509 335-8859
email: m_vonseggern@wsu.edu
Send Email
 
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip