This is the "Home" page of the "Company Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Company Research   Tags: company research  

Last Updated: Oct 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/companyresearch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Internet Links

Company website.  Many companies have a website that provides useful, timely information about that company, sometimes including annual reports.  Search the company name in quotation marks in Google.

Annual Reports & Other SEC Filings

EDGAR.  Securities and Exchange Commission website, provides electronic access to filings back to 1997.

AnnualReports.com.  Online annual reports for many publicly traded companies.

Organization Charts

CogMap: The Org Chart Wiki. A Wiki that provides organization charts for companies and other organizations.

The Official Board offers charts for "the world's 20,000 largest corporations."

Company Rankings

Reuters.  Ranks companies by size, sales, value, price performance, growth history, etc.  Scroll down to the bottom of the landing page and select Site Index.  Scroll down to Sectors & Industries and select the desired industry.  On the next display select Company Rankings.

Other LibGuides

Rutgers University Library Research Guides: Business.  Choose "Company Research." You will find well-organized links to in-depth information as well as strategy suggestions.

 

Databases, Indexes, Specialized Resources

Lexis Nexis Academic.  Provides highly specialized information for company and industry research, including information on domestic and international public companies (for example: SEC filings, history, property, subsidiaries, officer and directors, dividends and stock split history, and annual stock price ranges.)  Also provides information  on private companiers.  Provides complete text of news stories from U.S. and international newspapers, newsletters, business publications, and wire services.

Business Source Complete.  Coverage of thousands of business periodicals and journals with full text articles for a majority of the citations.  Also includes industry profiles, company profiles, market research reports, and SWOT analyses for U.S. and foreign firms.

International Directory of Company Histories.  Provides in depth and up-to-date company history information for United States owned and international companies.

Passport GMID.  Provides key business intelligence on industries, countries, markets, companies, and consumers.  1) Industry data - multi-country relational database of market and category sizes, market shares, distribution patterns, sales forecasts and other measurements relevant to each sector. 2) Country reports - in-depth analysis reports on both developed and emerging national markets. Each report provides qualitative commentary on sales trends, new product and marketing developments, consumer preferences, national company and brand competition and market strategies, and the views and assumptions underlying national sales forecasts. 3) Global reports assessing the key issues affecting international market performance, with a focus on important developments by product sector and big picture competition strategy. 4) Company profiles - analytical profiles of the top international players in the industry, compiled in a standardised format for cross analysis. 5) Comment - articles and presentations on key themes and discussion topics around the dynamics of the category.  Also, provides extensive consumer lifestyle report for 82 countries.

IBISWorld.  Industry Market Research.  When doing company research, it helps to get a profile of the industry in which the company operates.  IBISWorld provides reports on over 700 industries, written at the 5-digit level of NAICS.  Each report includes key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions and performance, key competitors and factors, and outlook for U.S. industries.

Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys.  Holland and Terrell Reference HC 106.6 S74  A comprehensive source that provides a basic overview of 52 major U.S. industries and includes statistical tables, charts, current analysis, recent development, and company comparisons.

See also Industry Research for more resources for researching industries.

 

What I Can Do for You

For students, I can:

  • Recommend the best business databases to search for your research topic
  • Answer your questions via email, phone or in-person
  • Meet with you individually or in groups to hash out your topic or discuss business research strategies
  • Tell you about library services

For faculty, I can:

  • Track down tricky citations
  • Introduce your students to research tools and strategies via a workshop
  • Create a webpage tailored to your class assignment
  • Discuss ways to best incorporate research skills and library materials into your class assignments
  • Meet with your students individually or in groups
  • Purchase books and other material needed for your research
  • Tell you about new library services
  • Communicate the department's concerns and information needs on to others in the Libraries

Business and Economics Librarian

Profile Image
Mary Gilles
Fall Reference Desk Hours: Monday 1-3pm, Thursday 3-5pm, Friday 12-1pm. Fall Office Hours: Wednesday 3-5pm, Thursday 1-3pm. Available other times by appointment.
Logo - Skype
Contact Info
Terrell Library 120E
Office Phone: 509-335-8740
Fax: 509-335-6721
Skype Name mary.gilles47
Send Email
 

Library Catalog

WSU Libraries new shared library management service.  With Search IT patrons can now use a single search box to find journals, books, articles, and digitized collections. They can also access some 9 million titles and 26 million resources from 36 other higher education institutions.  Search IT replaces Griffin and WSU WorldCat.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip