This is the "Home" page of the "Communication Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Communication Studies   Tags: communication, media  

Last Updated: Jan 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/commstudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

New Resources/Services

  • No More Griffin/WSU WorldCat - Now it's Search It
    For more information, including instructions for how to get updated Search it links for books, articles, etc.:
    http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/socscisearchit Note: All Griffin/WSU WorldCat links on this page are now dead; I will update as soon as I can!
  • The Proxy Bookmarklet
    Proxy Bookmarklet
    Have you ever found something on the Web that you knew was available through the Libraries, but it was too much of a pain to log into the Libraries site and find it? Now we have a bookmarklet that you can add to your browser button bar so that you can log in via the Libraries and get immediate access (most of the timeā€¦) find out more about our new proxy bookmarklet. And it works with tablets too...
  • BrowZine ("brow-zeen")
    Do you have an iPad or Android tablet ((Google Nexus, Samsung Galaxy, or Kindle Fire HD running Ice Cream Sandwich)? You might be interested in the Libraries new tablet browsing/discovery service, BrowZine. It makes it easy to scan tables of content, and open articles in your preferred PDF reader (i.e. GoodReader, iAnnotate, or PDFExpert) for reading and mark-up. Articles and/or article information can also be automatically sent to other places (including DropBox) You can also create a bookshelf of journals you want to save for easy access, and save individual articles.
 

Online Access to the New York Times

The New York Times has announced that, as of March 28, it will begin charging for unlimited access to its online content. As of now, the New York Times doesn't offer institutional subscriptions to their web site. However, Washington State University users can continue to access online content through the following resources provided by the WSU Libraries:

To access these databases outside of the Libraries, you may need to enter your WSU Network ID and password.

 

Finding Books, Media, and More with the Library Catalog

  • Search It: WSU's online catalog. Searches the WSU Libraries’ holdings as well as holdings in WA, OR, and worldwide libraries. Includes articles as well as books and media.
 

Selected Reference Books

Cover Art
African Americans in the Media Today - Sam G. Riley (Editor)
Call Number: Ref P94.5.A372 U568 2007
ISBN: 0313336792
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
Marketing in the 21st Century - Bruce D. Keillor (Editor)
Call Number: Ref HF5415 .M2194 2007
ISBN: 0275992756
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
Gallup Pole (Annual)
Call Number: HN90.P8 G35
ISBN: 0195962X

Cover Art
Media Law Reporter
Call Number: KF2750 .A513
ISBN: 01481045
The WSU Libraries have the annual editions from 1976-2008.

Cover Art
The Law of Public Communication 2007 - Kent R. Middleton; William E. Lee; Bill F. Chamberlin
Call Number: Ref KF2750 .m53
ISBN: 0205343503
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
Media and American Courts - S. L. Alexander
Call Number: Ref KF9223.5 .A9154 2004
ISBN: 1576079791
Publication Date: 2004

Cover Art
Dictionary of Mass Communication and Media Research - David Demers
Call Number: Ref P87.5 .D449 2005
ISBN: 0922993254
Publication Date: 2005

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications - Donald H. Johnston (Editor)
Call Number: Ref P87.5 .E532 2003
ISBN: 0123876702
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of Communication
Call Number: P87.5 .I58 2008
ISBN: 1405131993

Cover Art
Women in Communication
Call Number: P94.5 .W667 1996
ISBN: 0313291640

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Media and Politics
Call Number: P95.82.U6 E47 2007
ISBN: 1568028350

Cover Art
Concise Encyclopedia of Ethics in Politics and the Media
Call Number: PN4756 .C66 2001
ISBN: 0121662551

Cover Art
Edward R. Murrow Papers, 1927-1965: a Guide
Call Number: PN4874.M89 E32x guide
ISBN: 0667006699

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of New Media - Steve Jones (Editor)
Call Number: QA76.575 .E5368 2003
ISBN: 0761923829
Publication Date: 2003

 

Important Announcement: New Catalog Coming in December

The WSU Libraries are preparing to implement a major change over the Winter Break with the implementation of a new online catalog, which will go by the name of Search It. Hopefully this message will provide you with information about how the change to Search It will affect you as library users, but if you have any questions at any point, I will be happy to respond via email, visit your office, provide group overview sessions, whichever is easiest for you. In addition, all of my library guides (http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/profile/ecnicol) will be updated to include information on searching and using Search It by the end of December.

Our current online catalogs, Griffin and WSU WorldCat, are both going away, and unfortunately there won’t be an overlap period where we have access to both the new Search It and these more familiar tools. There will be several changes to the look and feel of the catalog, but two of the most pertinent are the following:

  • You will notice when you access Search It that you will be prompted for your WSU Net ID – there is a guest option, but it provides limited access.
  • Search It integrates the old “Find it @WSU” options in a more streamlined way, so you will be able to easily access full text or make an interlibrary loan request for any item within your result list with less clicking and fewer pop-up windows.

Many features will stay the same. You will still be able to browse WSU Libraries-owned books by call number, author, title, or subject heading, and there will still be options to save records and create search/alert queries on your personal e-Shelf. You will also still be able to filter results by format, author, type of publication, etc.

Important: Griffin and WSU WorldCat hyperlinks will no longer work in Search It, so if you have any in your syllabi or other documents/webpages, you will need to change them once the new system is active (mid-December).  If you have a WSU WorldCat account you will still be able to see your saved items if you log in to Open WorldCat (www.worldcat.org), but saved lists and saved searches will not transfer to Search It. If you have saved your reading history in Griffin, you may want to export it so that you still have access to it once Griffin goes away. I am happy to help with any of this.

This is a big change for us, and is driven by some important long-term goals. In addition to the advantage of no longer paying for two catalog systems, soon all of the libraries in our Orbis-Cascade Consortium (Summit) will share the same catalog. Data will be shared and stored in ways that will increase back-end efficiency and provide more opportunities for collaborative projects that will make better use of our collections budgets and provide better services to our users. The beginning may be rocky (and once you try the new catalog, please let me know if you find parts of it annoying, confusing, missing, or clunky so I can make sure your feedback is heard and considered as we “tweak” Search It) but we hope that you will soon be seeing some solid benefits from the change.

 

More information:

FAQ http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/search_it

Overview article: http://libraries.wsu.edu/content/search-it-coming-end-december

Questions or book requests? Please ask me!

Profile Image
Erica Carlson Nicol
Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedInLogo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Terrell Library 120 K
Office Phone: 335-8614
Send Email
 
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip