This is the "Home" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry  

Last Updated: Mar 28, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/chemistry Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Chemistry

Chemistry

Collection Development Policy | Department of Chemistry Owen Science & Engineering Library

The Owen library contains many resources for students and faculty interested in chemistry. If you have any questions not answered on the WSU Libraries website or would like to request a book or journal on any subject related to chemistry, please contact Eileen Brady. For questions concerning the academic program, please visit the Chemistry home page.

Library Catalog

The GRIFFIN library catalog contains the holdings for all of the WSU Libraries across the state, including: books, e-books, e-journals and print journals, government documents, movies, and more.WSU Libraries are a members of Summit. Summit is a catalog of books, journals, and other items owned by 36 libraries in Oregon and Washington. Students and faculty at WSU can search for and borrow books for no charge.

 

Reference Books

The following is a list of reference books in the Owen Library related to chemical engineering. Reference books are located on the first floor of the Owen Science & Engineering Library.

Cover Art
Chem Sources USA
Call Number: Owen Ref TP12.C44

Cover Art
Comprehensive Composite Materials - Anthony Kelly, Carl Zweben
Call Number: Owen Ref TA418.9.C6 C6344 2000
ISBN: 0080429939

Cover Art
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Call Number: Owen Ref QD65.C4
ISBN: 9781439820773
Because this is such a popular title, the two most recent editions are on stands by the reference desk.

Cover Art
CRC Handbook Chemistry and Physics (Online!)
Clicking on this link should take you to the online CRC Handbook. You may be asked to enter your WSU Network ID and password to access the online version.


Cover Art
Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds
Call Number: Owen Ref QD148 D53x
ISBN: 0412301202

Cover Art
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
Call Number: Owen Ref QD246 D5
ISBN: 0412540908

Cover Art
ENGnetBASE
Call Number: TA145 .E54 (Electronic resource)
Over 450 electronic books (all are included in Griffin) in a wide variety of Engineering Fields, searchable in full text. Includes a small number of CRC Handbooks (does not include Chemistry and Physics).


Cover Art
Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds - David R. Lide, G.W.A. Milne
Call Number: Owen Ref QD257.7 H36
ISBN: 0849304458

Cover Art
Hazardous Chemicals Desk Reference - Richard J. Lewis, Sr.
Call Number: Owen Ref T55.3 H3 L49
ISBN: 0471441651

Cover Art
Merck Index
Call Number: Owen Ref RS356 .M524

Cover Art
Polymer Handbook - J. Brandrup, E.H. Immergut, and E.A. Grulke
Call Number: Owen Ref QD388 .P65 1999
ISBN: 0471166286

Cover Art
Polymeric Materials Encyclopedia - Joseph C. Salamone
Call Number: Owen Ref TP1110 P65
ISBN: 084932470X

Cover Art
Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers - Carl R. Branan
Call Number: Owen Ref TP151.R85
ISBN: 0750675675

Cover Art
SAX's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials - Richard J. Lewis, Sr.
Call Number: Owen Ref T55.3 H3 L494
ISBN: 0471476625

Cover Art
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry - Fritz Ullmann; Wolfgang Gerhartz; [et al.]
Call Number: TP9 U57 (Electronic Resource)
ISBN: 3527201017
Available in print and online.

Indexes, Abstracts and other databases

To find the full-text of the references found in the databases listed below use the FindIT button The FindIT service will provide you with a menu of options to retrieve articles, such as downloading article online and interlibrary loans

  • Dissertations & Theses
    (coverage varies): Database of more than two million dissertations and selected theses. More recent dissertations and theses (published from the 1980s to the present) include abstracts. A select few titles include free, twenty-four page previews. Complete dissertations and theses are not available, and must be purchased.
  • EI CompendexWeb
    EI CompendexWeb: is an interdisciplinary engineering database with 7.5 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1969 to the present
  • SciFinder Scholar (Web Version) for Registered Users
    For more information see the box below
  • United States Patent and Trademark Office Patent Database:
    Covers United States Utility, Design and Plant Patents. Contents include images for patents from 1790 to the present.
  • Web of Science
    (1980-present): The web version of the Science Citation Index, Web of Science covers journals in Science, Engineering, Agriculture and Medicine. Web of Sciences allows users to see how often an article was cited and view those citations, view the citations the author used, and search by citation. To review scientific literature published before 1980 consult the Science Citation Index located on the first floor of the Owen Library.
  • World Intellectual Property Office patent database:
    This site also provides access to other intellectual property data collections hosted by the World Intellectual Property Organization.
  • WorldCat:
    A catalog of library holdings of OCLC member libraries found worldwide.
 

Scifinder Scholar

  • Scifinder Scholar registration:The web version requires individual registration. Until the Spring of 2011 most public computers in the libraries have the legacy client version of Scifinder installed on them. If you have problems with the individual registration, please see the libraries' Scifinder Scholar troubleshooting guide.
  • SciFinder Scholar (Web Version) for Registered Users:

    Scifinder Scholar is the premier database for journal and patent literature covering chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science and biomedical sciences.

    Scfinder Scholar includes the following databases:
    • Chemical Abstracts (1907-present): Covers international journals, patents, technical reports, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations from all areas of chemistry and related sciences. This database also allows for citing and cited reference searches.
    • Chemical Abstracts Registry Database: A chemical dictionary and structure database that contains unique substance records produced as new substances and are identified by the Chemical Abstracts Service(CAS) Registry System.
    • CASREACT: A chemical reaction database with information derived from documents covered in the Organic Sections of Chemical Abstracts journals. The document-based file contains both single-step and multistep reactions, and CA Abstract Number is the Accession Number in the file.
    • Chemcats (Chemical Catalogs Online): A catalog file that contains listings of companies that sell chemicals worldwide.
    • Chemlist (Regulated Chemicals Listing) (1979-present): Contains chemical substances on national and transnational inventories.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip