Botany
The Owen library contains many resources for students and faculty interested in botany. If you have any questions not answered on the WSU Libraries website or would like to request a book or journal on any subject related to botany, please contact Betty Galbraith. For questions concerning the Botany program, please visit the School of Biological Sciences website.
Library Catalog
The GRIFFIN library catalog contains the holdings for all of the WSU Libraries across the state, including: books, e-books, e-journals and print journals, government documents, movies, and more.WSU Libraries are a members of Summit. Summit is a catalog of books, journals, and other items owned by 38 libraries in Oregon and Washington. Students and faculty at WSU can search for and borrow books for no charge.
Indexes, Abstracts and Other Databases.
- AGRICOLA (17th century-present): Covers publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including: animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture, economics, education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. AGRICOLA is produced by the National Agricultural Library. This database includes selected materials dating back to the 17th century but complete coverage starts in 1970.
- BIOSIS Previews (1969-present): Covers literature in all areas of biology and related disciplines. To review biological literature published before 1969 consult Biological Abstracts located on the first floor of Owen Library from 1927 to 1995.
- CAB Abstracts (1910-present): CAB provides citations with abstracts to agricultural literature including: agronomy, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental sciences, genetics, irrigation, recreation and tourism, microbiology, rural development, and veterinary medicine.
- Dissertations
& Theses (coverage varies): Database of more than two million
dissertations and selected theses. More recent dissertations and theses
(published from the 1980s to the present) include abstracts. A select
few titles include free, twenty-four page previews.
- Index to American Botanical Literature
- International Plant Names Index: A database of the names and bibliographical details of seed plants.
- PLANTS: A single source of standardized information about plants, including: names, identifiers, distribution, crop information, symbols, growth data, and other plant information. This database focuses on vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and territories.
- Web of Science (1980-present): The web version of the Science Citation Index, Web of Science covers journals in Science, Engineering, Agriculture and Medicine. Web of Sciences allows users to see how often an article was cited and view those citations, view the citations the author used, and search by citation. To review scientific literature published before 1980 consult the Science Citation Index located on the first floor of the Owen Library.
Internet Links
- Angiosperm Phylogeny Website
- Botany: A compilation of practical botanical information, from the National Biological Information Infrastructure, that contains numerous links organized by subject.
- Common Names of Plant Diseases: A list of plant pathogens and diseases.
- Early Classics in Biogeography, Distribution, and Diversity Studies: To 1950 A bibliography and full-text archive of classic resources, and primary sources for the study of geographical distribution and diversity of plants and animals published up to, and including, 1950.
- International Code of Botanical Nomenclature: Also known as the Tokyo Code.
- Internet Directory for Botany: An index to botanical information available online; includes an alphabetical directory and a categorical directory.
- National Library of the Environment
- New York Botanical Garden Vascular Plant Type Catalog: A catalog of approximately 75,000 vascular plant type specimens by family
- PlantFacts: A search engine for agricultural extension fact sheets and images from numerous universities and government research centers from across the United States and Canada.
- Red List: The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species provides taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on taxa that have been evaluated as at risk of extinction.
- TROPICOS Vascular plant nomenclature, bibliographic, and specimen database.
- USDA Fungal Databases
- Vascular Plant Image Library
- Virtual Library of Botany/Plant Biology
- Wieslander Vegetation Type Mapping Project
Science Librarian and Instruction Coordinator |
Contact Info Office: Owen Library 119 Phone: (509) 335-7930 Fax: (509) 335-2534 Mailing Address: Owen Library 119 Washington State University Pullman WA 99164-3200. Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
