This is the "Home" page of the "Biochemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biochemistry  

Last Updated: Feb 4, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/biochemistry Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Biochemistry

Biochemistry

Collection Development Policy | School of Molecular Biosciences | Owen Science & Engineering Library

The Owen library contains many resources for students and faculty interested in Biochemistry. If you have any questions not answered on the WSU Libraries website or would like to request a book or journal on any subject related to Biochemistry, please contact Eileen Brady. For questions concerning WSU's programs in Biochemistry, please visit the School of Molecular Biosciences.

Library Catalog

Search It contains the holdings for all of the WSU Libraries across the state, including: books, e-books, e-journals and print journals, government documents, movies, as well as resources from Summit. Summit is a catalog of books, journals, and other items owned by 36 additional academic libraries in Oregon, Washington and Idaho. Students and faculty at WSU can search for and borrow books for no charge.

 

Reference Books

The following is a list of reference books in the Owen Library related to biochemistry. Reference books are located on the first floor of the Owen Science & Engineering Library

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology - Thomas E. Creighton
Call Number: Owen Ref QH506 .C74
ISBN: 0471153028

Cover Art
Biochemical Pathways - Gerhard Michal
Call Number: Owen Ref QP171 .B685
ISBN: 0471331309

Cover Art
Current Protocols in Protein Science - John E. Coligan ... [et al.]
Call Number: Owen Ref QP551 .C86
ISBN: 0471111848

Cover Art
Current Protocols in Cell Biology - Juan S. Bonifacino ... [et al.].
Call Number: Owen Ref QH583.2 .C87
ISBN: 0471241083

Cover Art
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology - Frederick M. Ausubel ... [et al.]
Call Number: Owen Ref QH506 .C87 1999
ISBN: 047150338X

Cover Art
Enzyme Nomenclature
Call Number: Owen Ref QP601 .I54


Indexes, Abstracts and Other Databases

To find the full-text of the references found in the databases listed below use the FindIT button The FindIT service will provide you with a menu of options to retrieve articles, such as downloading article online and interlibrary loans

  • BIOSIS Previews
    (1969-present): Covers literature in all areas of biology and related disciplines. To review biological literature published before 1969 consult
  • Dissertations & Theses
    (coverage varies): Database of more than two million dissertations and selected theses. More recent dissertations and theses (published from the 1980s to the present) include abstracts. A select few titles include free, twenty-four page previews. Complete dissertations and theses are not available, and must be purchased.
  • The Molecular Biology Database Collection
    This is an online resource listing key molecular biology databases of value to biological research. This collection is intended to bring fellow scientists' attention to high-quality databases that are available throughout the world, rather than just be a lengthy listing of all available databases. The database is compiled by Andreas D. Baxevanis and published on the Nucleic Acids Research website.
  • Pubmed
    For more information see the box below.
  • Protocol Online
    Protocol Online is a database of research protocols in a variety of life science fields. It contains user submitted protocols as well as links to web protocols hosted by worldwide research labs, biotech companies, personal web sites.
  • SciFinder Scholar (Web Version) for Registered Users
    For more information see the box below
  • Web of Science
    (1980-present): The web version of the Science Citation Index, Web of Science covers journals in Science, Engineering, Agriculture and Medicine. Web of Sciences allows users to see how often an article was cited and view those citations, view the citations the author used, and search by citation. To review scientific literature published before 1980 consult the Science Citation Index located on the first floor of the Owen Library.
  • United States Patent and Trademark Office Patent Database:
    Covers United States Utility, Design and Plant Patents. Contents include images for patents from 1790 to the present.
  • WorldCat:
    A catalog of library holdings of OCLC member libraries found worldwide.
  • World Intellectual Property Office patent database:
    This site also provides access to other intellectual property data collections hosted by the World Intellectual Property Organization.
 

Pubmed

Pubmed: is an index to the world's medical, medical research and molecular biology literature. This database includes links to the WSU Libraries holdings, including links to electronic journals. 
Also accessible via the Pubmeb website are the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) biological sequence databases, including

  • Nucleotides database: is a collection of sequences from several sources (including GenBank, RefSeq and PDB)
  • Protein database: that have been compiled from a variety of sources, including SwissProt, PIR, PRF, PDB, and translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank and RefSeq. protein database is cross-linked to the Entrez taxonomy database. This allows you to find taxonomy information for the species from which a protein sequence was derived.
  • Genomes database:The whole genomes of over 1000 viruses and over 100 microbes and includes macroscopic organisms. The genomes represent both completely sequenced organisms and those for which sequencing is in progress.
  • Stucture or Molecular Modelling Database (MMDB): contains 3-D macromolecular structures, including proteins and polynucleotides. MMDB contains over 10,000 structures and is linked to the rest of the NCBI databases, including sequences, bibliographic citations, taxonomic classifications, and sequence and structure neighbors
  • Taxonomy database: contains the names of all organisms that are represented in the genetic databases with at least one nucleotide or protein sequence
  • OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man): This database is a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders authored and edited by Dr. Victor A. McKusick and his colleagues at Johns Hopkins and elsewhere, and developed for the World Wide Web by NCBI

 

Scifinder Scholar

  • Scifinder Scholar registration:The web version requires individual registration. Until the Spring of 2011 most public computers in the libraries have the legacy client version of Scifinder installed on them. If you have problems with the individual registration, please see the libraries' Scifinder Scholar troubleshooting guide.
  • SciFinder Scholar (Web Version) for Registered Users:

    Scifinder Scholar is the premier database for journal and patent literature covering chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science and biomedical sciences.

    Scfinder Scholar includes the following databases:
    • Chemical Abstracts (1907-present): Covers international journals, patents, technical reports, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations from all areas of chemistry and related sciences. This database also allows for citing and cited reference searches.
    • Chemical Abstracts Registry Database: A chemical dictionary and structure database that contains unique substance records produced as new substances and are identified by the Chemical Abstracts Service(CAS) Registry System.
    • CASREACT: A chemical reaction database with information derived from documents covered in the Organic Sections of Chemical Abstracts journals. The document-based file contains both single-step and multistep reactions, and CA Abstract Number is the Accession Number in the file.
    • Chemcats (Chemical Catalogs Online): A catalog file that contains listings of companies that sell chemicals worldwide.
    • Chemlist (Regulated Chemicals Listing) (1979-present): Contains chemical substances on national and transnational inventories.

Internet Links

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip