This is the "Home" page of the "Astronomy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Astronomy  

Last Updated: Jan 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/astronomy Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library News

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Astronomical Societies

Some major sources of electronic journals for Astronomy are: Astronomical Societies

 

Astronomy

Astronomy

Collection Development PolicyProgram in Astronomy | Owen Science & Engineering Library

The Owen library contains many resources for students and faculty interested in Astronomy. If you have any questions not answered on the WSU Libraries website or would like to request a book or journal on any subject related to Astronomy, please contact Eileen Brady. For questions about the Astronomy program, please see the Program in Astronomy. In addition to this web page, the library has created a subject guide to Astronomy.

Library Catalog

The library catalog contains the holdings for all of the WSU Libraries across the state, including: books, e-books, e-journals and print journals, government documents, movies, and more.WSU Libraries are a members of Summit. Summit is a catalog of books, journals, and other items owned by 36 libraries in Oregon and Washington. Students and faculty at WSU can search for and borrow books for no charge.

 

Reference Books

The following is a list of reference books in the Owen Library related to astronomy. Reference books are located on the first floor of the Owen Science & Engineering Library.

Cover Art
The Astronomical Almanac for the Year...
Call Number: Owen Ref QB8 .U7
ISBN: 0737-6421

Cover Art
The Astronomy Encyclopedia
Call Number: Owen Ref QB14 .A875 2002
ISBN: 0195218337

Cover Art
Astrophysical Formulae - Kenneth R. Lang
Call Number: Owen Ref QB461 .L36
ISBN: 0387066055

Cover Art
Dictionary of Minor Planet Names - Lutz D. Schmade
Call Number: Owen Ref QB 651.S35 1992
ISBN: 0387543848

Cover Art
Dictionary of Astronomy - Ian Ridpath
Call Number: QB14 .D52 2007 (Electronic resource)
ISBN: 9780199214938


Cover Art
The Planetary Scientist's Companion - Katharina Lodders, Bruce Fegley
Call Number: Owen Ref QB601 .L84 1998
ISBN: 0195116941

Indexes, Abstracts and other databases.

  • ARIBIB (1899-2000)
    Index to the astronomical literature corresponding to the print bibliographies Astronomy & Astrophysics Abstracts and Astronomischer Jahresbericht.
  • Dissertations & Theses
    (coverage varies): Database of more than two million dissertations and selected theses. More recent dissertations and theses (published from the 1980s to the present) include abstracts. A select few titles include free, twenty-four page previews. Complete dissertations and theses are not available, and must be purchased.
  • Inspec
    (1968-present): World's largest bibliographic database in the field of physics, electrical engineering, electronics, computers and control engineering and information technology.
  • SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System
    The ADS maintains three databases of scholarly literature in the fields of physics and astronomy. Many of the articles are full text and users can access the abstract, citations, references, and similar articles.
  • Web of Science
    The web version of the Science Citation Index, Web of Science covers journals in Science, Engineering, Agriculture and Medicine. Web of Sciences allows users to see how often an article was cited and view those citations, view the citations the author used, and search by citation. To review scientific literature published before 1980 consult the Science Citation Index located on the first floor of the Owen Library.

Internet Resources

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip