This is the "Home" page of the "Affordable Care Act - Legal Challenges" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Affordable Care Act - Legal Challenges   Tags: affordable_care_act, health care policy, u.s. health care  

Provides access to primary legal documents, explanation of issues, and databases to access additional resources.
Last Updated: Feb 14, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/affordable_care_act Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Primary Legal Documents

Statutes

Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act Consolidated Bill Text.  June 9, 2010.  Text of the health care reform law combining the original legislation and the amendments in the reconciliation bill.

Healthcare and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010.  Public Law 111-152. March 30, 2010.

Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act Public Law. 111-148.   March 23, 2010.

Court Decisions

Florida, et al., v United States Department of Health and Human Services.  11th Circuit Court's decision striking down the individual mandate.

Thomas More Law Center, et al., v Obama, et al. 6th Circuit Court's decision upholding the individual mandate.

Seven-Sky v Holder.  D.C. Circuit Court's decision upholding the individual mandate.

Virginia v Sebelius.  4th Circuit Court's decision that the suit is barred until 2015 under the Anti-Injunction Act.

Supreme Court Briefs

Justice Department Brief supporting Affordable Care Act.

26 State Attorneys General Brief attacking the Affordable Care Act.

Other amicus briefs are available via Lexis Nexis Academic.

Supreme Court Oral Arguments

March 26, 2012. Argument Audio.

March 27, 2012. Argument Audio.

March 28, 2012, Morning. Argument Audio. 

March 28, 2012, Afternoon.  Argument Audio.

Supreme Court Decision

National Federation of Independent Business et al. v Sebelius, Secretary of Health and Human Services, et al.

 

Online Citation help

 

Explanation of the Law, the Legal Issues & Other Resources

 

Databases and Indexes

Lexis-Nexis Academic.  Provides full-text access to federal and State court decisions, Supreme Court briefs, federal and state codes, law reviews and law news, and some foreign and international law sources.  Also, includes full-text access to thousands of news sources.                                                                    **To find decisions by a specific Supreme Court Justice - written by, concurred with, or dissented from - select US Legal from the left tool bar, then select Federal & State Cases.  At the next display select Edit in Power Search.  Open the Select a Segment pull-down and select OPINIONBY, CONCURBY, or DISSENTBY, depending on which you want.  Enter the last name of the justice in the search box below and click Add to Search.  If you want to find opinions on a specific legal topic written by the justice, open Select a Segment and select CORE-TERMS, enter the topic in the search box, click Add to Search and click SEARCH.  Not all words and phrases are used as core-terms so you may need to use synonyms in additional searches. 

Academic Search Complete.  Indexes and provides full-text access to journals in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences, including some law journals.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Provides citations and abstracts to the literature of political science, international relations, government and public policy.

 

United States Supreme Court Justices

Encyclopedias

Biographical encyclopedia of the Supreme Court: the lives and legal philosophies of the justices. Hol Reference KF 8744 B56 2006

Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States.

The justices of the United States Supreme Court: their lives and major opinions. Hol Reference KF 8744 F75 1995

The Supreme Court justices : illustrated biographies, 1789-1995. Hol Reference KF 8744 .S86 1995

Books

Griffin  Includes books and journals for all WSU Library sites, in Pullman and across the state.  Please note: Electronic journals and other "virtual" resources are included in this catalog.

WSU WorldCat  Includes WSU Libraries' books, journals, and media, as well as those of thousands of other libraries worldwide.  Includes journal articles as well as other resources.  Books listed at Summit Libraries may be requested online, will be available in about 5 business days, and can be checked out for 6 weeks.  There is no direct cost.

Example keyword search for either catalog: scalia jurisprudence

Business and Economics Librarian

Profile Image
Mary Gilles
Reference Desk Hours: No scheduled hours during the summer. Please contact for an appointment.
Logo - Skype
Contact Info
Terrell Library 120E
Office Phone: 509-335-8740
Fax: 509-335-6721
Skype Name mary.gilles47
Send Email
 
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip