US Census Info
This is the "Home" page of the "Advertising" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Advertising   Tags: advertising  

Last Updated: Jan 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/advertising Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Simmons OneVies

Looking for help with Simmons OneView (formerly Choices 3, formerly Simmons Study of Media & Markets)?

Click here for the Simmons OneView LibGuide.

 

Important Announcement: New Catalog Coming in December

The WSU Libraries are preparing to implement a major change over the Winter Break with the implementation of a new online catalog, which will go by the name of Search It. Hopefully this message will provide you with information about how the change to Search It will affect you as library users, but if you have any questions at any point, I will be happy to respond via email, visit your office, provide group overview sessions, whichever is easiest for you. In addition, all of my library guides (http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/profile/ecnicol) will be updated to include information on searching and using Search It by the end of December.

Our current online catalogs, Griffin and WSU WorldCat, are both going away, and unfortunately there won’t be an overlap period where we have access to both the new Search It and these more familiar tools. There will be several changes to the look and feel of the catalog, but two of the most pertinent are the following:

  • You will notice when you access Search It that you will be prompted for your WSU Net ID – there is a guest option, but it provides limited access.
  • Search It integrates the old “Find it @WSU” options in a more streamlined way, so you will be able to easily access full text or make an interlibrary loan request for any item within your result list with less clicking and fewer pop-up windows.

Many features will stay the same. You will still be able to browse WSU Libraries-owned books by call number, author, title, or subject heading, and there will still be options to save records and create search/alert queries on your personal e-Shelf. You will also still be able to filter results by format, author, type of publication, etc.

Important: Griffin and WSU WorldCat hyperlinks will no longer work in Search It, so if you have any in your syllabi or other documents/webpages, you will need to change them once the new system is active (mid-December).  If you have a WSU WorldCat account you will still be able to see your saved items if you log in to Open WorldCat (www.worldcat.org), but saved lists and saved searches will not transfer to Search It. If you have saved your reading history in Griffin, you may want to export it so that you still have access to it once Griffin goes away. I am happy to help with any of this.

This is a big change for us, and is driven by some important long-term goals. In addition to the advantage of no longer paying for two catalog systems, soon all of the libraries in our Orbis-Cascade Consortium (Summit) will share the same catalog. Data will be shared and stored in ways that will increase back-end efficiency and provide more opportunities for collaborative projects that will make better use of our collections budgets and provide better services to our users. The beginning may be rocky (and once you try the new catalog, please let me know if you find parts of it annoying, confusing, missing, or clunky so I can make sure your feedback is heard and considered as we “tweak” Search It) but we hope that you will soon be seeing some solid benefits from the change.

 

More information:

FAQ http://libguides.wsulibs.wsu.edu/search_it

Overview article: http://libraries.wsu.edu/content/search-it-coming-end-december

 

Basics

Collection Development Policy

Library Catalog

  • Search It: Searches the WSU Libraries’ holdingsas well as holdings in WA, OR, and worldwide libraries. Includes articles as well as books and media.
 

Selected Reference Books

The Holland and Terrell Libraries' reference section is on the 1st floor behind the reference desk.

Ad $ Summary (LNA)
Call Number: Terrell Reserve Desk or HF5801 .A21x
ISBN: 01907166

Cover Art
Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
Call Number: HF5803 .A38 2003
ISBN: 1579581722

Advertising Red Books. Advertiser, Indexes
Call Number: HF5805 .S714
ISBN: 1549-8786

Brandweek Directory
Call Number: HF6182 .U5 A39
ISBN: 1530-616X
Terrell Reserve Desk

Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook
Call Number: HF6146 .R3 B722x
ISBN: 0000-1511

Consumer Magazine & Agri-Media Source (SRDS)
Call Number: HF5905 .S725
ISBN: 1071-4537

Demographics USA
Call Number: HF5415.1 .D46
Reference Desk

Cover Art
Dictionary of Marketing and Advertising
Call Number: HF5415 .R577 1995
ISBN: 0471025038

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands
Call Number: F5415.3 .E527 1994
ISBN: 1558623353
(3 vols)

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
Call Number: P87.5 .E532 2003
ISBN: 0123876702
(4 v.)

Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
Call Number: Z6951 .A97
Terrell Reference Desk

Cover Art
History of the Mass Media in the United States
Call Number: P92.U5 .H55 1998
ISBN: 1579580122

LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations
Call Number: HG4057 .A219
(8 v.)

Lifestyle Market Analyst
Call Number: HF5415.33 .U6 L54
ISBN: 1067-182X
Holland & Terrell Reserve Desk

Market Share Reporter
Call Number: HF4510 .M35
ISBN: 1052-9578

Media Law Reporter
Call Number: KF2750 .A513
(annual editions)

Media Market Guide
Call Number: HF5826.5 .M43
Holland & Terrell Reserve Desk

Newspaper Advertising Source (SRDS)
Call Number: HF5905 .S73
ISBN: 1529-6482

Radio Advertising Source (SRDS)
Call Number: HF5905 .S74
ISBN: 1071-4707

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Call Number: HC106.6 .S74
ISBN: 0196-4666

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Call Number: C 3.134:
Ref Desk (latest ed.)

Survey of Buying Power and Media Markets
Call Number: HF5438 .S21x
ISBN: 0361-1329

TV and Cable Source (SRDS)
Call Number: HF5905 .S745
ISBN: 1076-3988

Ward's Business Directory of Private and Public Companies
Call Number: HG4057 .A575
ISBN: 1048-8707

Questions or book requests? Please ask me!

Profile Image
Erica Carlson Nicol
Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedInLogo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Terrell Library 120 K
Office Phone: 335-8614
Send Email
Library Liaison to:
Anthropology and Archaeology, Communication, Women's Studies
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip