Electrical Engineering Journal Articles
IEEEXplore: Provides indexing and full text access to IEEE journal articles and conference proceedings. Includes the capability for setting up search alerts.
Compendex/Engineering Village: Most comprehensive index of articles on engineering topics published in peer reviewed and trade journals. Covers U.S. and international journals. Uses a sophisticated search engine that provides for searching by topic and other parameters at multiple levels. Provides the capability for setting up search alerts.
Web of Science: Offers multidisciplinary access back to 1900 to articles in the highest impact research journals. Also provides searching and analysis of citation patterns, plus the ability to set up search alerts.
Digital Dissertations and Theses: Provides indexing and full text access to dissertations and theses. Coverage focuses mainly on North America but includes other countries as well.
Other Useful Databases that are available at WSU.
Using "FindIt @ WSU" when searching databases:
If you see the above icon next to an article you are searching for, click on it to see if there is an electronic version of the journal or magazine available in another database. You will be taken to a screen which will show options for obtaining the article whether it be here at WSU or through ILL (Interlibrary Loan).
- Free online access to most WSU dissertations and theses.
- "Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637."
- In addition to citations and abstracts, the service provides free access to 24 page previews and the full text in PDF format, when available. In most cases, this will be graduate works published in 1997 forward.
Using Search It to find Dissertations and Theses
First go to advance search:
In the first search box type "thesis" both dissertations and theses will be searched.
If you want to limit to WSU, type "Washington State University"
Next to get dissertations and thesis by department type the different versions of the department or college name. For Civil Engineering it would be "Department of civil engineering" OR "Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering".
You can also search for theses and disserations by keyword just remember to include thesis in its own search box.
Finally, limit on the left hand side to books only.