Databases & Tutorials
Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice Tutorial Self-paced tutorial developed by Connie Schardt, AHIP, FMLA, Medical Center Library, Duke University, Durham, NC, and Jill Mayer, AHIP, Health Sciences Library, University of North Carolina–Chapel Hill.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Enter through "Find Articles and Magazines at WSU "
Cochrane Library Tutorial (5.5 minutes)
Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses : Brief explanation from the Cochrane Collaboration
National Guideline Clearinghouse from Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
National Guideline Clearinghouse Tutorial (3 minutes)
Patient Safety and Quality: An Evidence-Based Handbook for Nurses (Also from AHRQ)
PubMed Health from the National Library of Medicine Reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports. Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to the question "What works?" in medical and health care.
PubMed (National Library of Medicine) Enter through "Find Articles and Magazines at WSU "
PUBMED Tutorial (4 minutes)
In PubMed, systematic reviews cover a broad set of articles that build consensus on biomedical topics. Systematic Reviews is available on result sets as a filter under article types, as well as a selection on the Clinical Queries page.
- 1. Click Clinical Queries from the PubMed homepage or from the advanced search more resources menu.
- 2. Enter search terms in the search box, and then click Search.
CINAHL Nursing & Allied Health Database. Enter through "Find Articles and Magazines at WSU "
CINAHL includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets -- summaries on specific key topics. Each evidence-based care sheet incorporates the latest evidence, statistics, research and references on a given topic. The references are ranked, using a coding matrix, according to the type of literature they represent (systematic reviews, meta-analysis, etc). Browse the list of Evidence-based Care Sheets from the blue toolbar at the top of the page.
CINAHL also features the "Special Interest" limiter, "Evidence-Based Practice." When applied, the Evidence-Based Practice limiter searches the Special Interest field for the value "Evidence-Based Practice." Applying this limiter allows you to limit results to:
- Articles from evidence-based practice journals
- Articles about evidence-based practice
- Research articles (including systematic reviews, clinical trials, meta analyses, etc.)
- Commentaries on research studies applying practice to research
National Health Service Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (University of York, UK) The Centre has played a leading role in the development and promotion of evidence informed decision making in health policy and practice.
Bandolier UK site with good reviews, idiosyncratic index.
BMJ Clinical Evidence Subscription-based service, with some free information under EBM Resources
BMJ Clinical Evidence Tutorial for UW users (3 minutes)
Natural Standard: The Authority on Integrative Medicine Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. It contains various databases: Foods, herbs & supplements; Health & wellness; Comparative effectiveness; Medical conditions; Genomics & proteomics; Environment & global health; Brand names. For each therapy covered by Natural Standard, a research team gathers scientific data and expert opinions. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence. Information is incorporated into comprehensive monographs which are designed to facilitate clinical decision making. All monographs undergo blinded editorial and peer review prior to inclusion in Natural Standard databases.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Unbiased, scientific clinical information on complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies. Reviews herbal remedies, dietary supplements, vitamins, minerals, and other natural products. Each product monograph and its associated Safety Ratings, Effectiveness Ratings, and Interaction Ratings is supported by the best available scientific evidence.
Director of Nursing and Riverpoint Library Services |
Contact Info Riverpoint Campus Library, 2nd floor Spokane Academic Center. Mailing Address: WSU Spokane Library PO Box 1495 Spokane, WA 99210-1495 Phone: (509) 368-6973 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
