Finding Articles and Research Papers
ASCE Journals are the premier source of technical information for the civil engineering profession and form the core collection in the field — 30 journals available in print and online. The online journal archive contains over 28,000 articles, more than 300,000 pages, published since 1990.
EiCompendex is the major index to the engineering literature providing references and abstracts to over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. 1884-present.
GreenFILE covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. It includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Inspec provides abstracts and citations to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing and production engineering from 1898to the present.
Includes Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation indexes. This multidisciplinary database has searchable author abstract covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities, sciences and social sciences. Updated weekly.
Full text access to: Chemical Abstracts since 1907, Chemical Abstracts Registry CASREACT: since 1974, Medline since 1985, Chemcats and and ChemList since 1979.
TRID combines the records from TRB's TRANSPORTATION Research Information Services (TRIS) and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD). TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
Using "FindIt @ WSU" when searching databases:
If you see the above icon next to an article you are searching for, click on it to see if there is an electronic version of the journal or magazine available in another database. You will be taken to Search It and shown the options for obtaining the article whether it be here at WSU or through ILL (Interlibrary Loan).
- Free online access to most WSU dissertations and theses.
- "Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637."
- In addition to citations and abstracts, the service provides free access to 24 page previews and the full text in PDF format, when available. In most cases, this will be graduate works published in 1997 forward.
Using Search It to find Dissertations and Theses
First go to advance search:
In the first search box type "thesis" both dissertations and theses will be searched.
If you want to limit to WSU, type "Washington State University"
Next to get dissertations and thesis by department type the different versions of the department or college name. For Civil Engineering it would be "Department of civil engineering" OR "Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering".
You can also search for theses and disserations by keyword just remember to include thesis in its own search box.
Finally, limit on the left hand side to books only.